We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ffynnon Wen

££ - £££, British,
Thornhill Road | Llanishen, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales
+44 29 2052 2535
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good22%
  • Average13%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible23%
Travellers talk about
“specials board” (12 reviews)
“the pub” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Thornhill Road | Llanishen, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place needs a refurbishment badly it is truly worn out But also tables were sticky not wiped down after other customers had used them I had a mayo bottle the top covered in dry tomato sauce very sloppy Not an enjoyable experience

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank robert6969429
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Service was good , but sadly the fish was the worst fish I have ever had both mine and my partner , the batter was very crisp but there was such a small piece of fish about a quarter of the size of the batter...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Explore50537714415
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Coming in at 845pm to have a meal, to be told we had to order straight away as the kitchen was closing momentarily..as we were being seated we had to listen to the poor barman having to argue with the chef about taking our order!!!...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank cptcharisma
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Service was good but a little slow, place quite nice but food wasn't great. Won't be going back in a hurryMore

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 00Wanderlust
David S, General Manager at Ffynnon Wen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

thanks for your review Tony. Please accept our apologies if you felt that we did not meet your expectations. Sundays are generally a busy day and can occasionally impact on service. This is purely down to our popularity and amazing offers that we have available....More

Reviewed 16 October 2018

My husband and I called in for lunch while our dog was being groomed not far away in Rhiwbina. We had a limited time to enjoy our lunch and explained to the waiter hat this was the case. Our food was delivered very quickly, it...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank _nigelburnell
David S, General Manager at Ffynnon Wen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thanks for taking the time and trouble to leave us a review nigelburnell. We are pleased to hear that you had a very pleasant experience with us and that you found both our service and food quality to be excellent. That said we hope to...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018

Visited last night to be advised that there was a 45 minute wait, which was fine. No sooner had we sat down with our drinks, our table was checked and wiped down. Never mind waiting 45 mins, our meal arrived in 20 and was piping...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ford10732016
David S, General Manager at Ffynnon Wen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time and trouble to leave us such a great review ford10732016. We are really pleased that not only did you not have to wait as long as stated but that you also loved the Ribeyes. Don't forget that you can take...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

We decided to visit as we were going on holiday the next day and didn't really want to cook before we left. Glad we did, the young man who showed us to the table took the drinks order and returned with our drinks shortly after....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ARTHURDENNO
David S, General Manager at Ffynnon Wen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Well thank you very much for such a positive review ARTHURDENNO. It is pleasing to get such great feedback and I am sure the Team as am I will be overjoyed. It is great that you chose to start your holiday break with a perfect...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018

Had a delicious Sunday lunch, with fresh vegetables. Generous portions which reflected "value of money". A well managed pub/restaurant, with efficient and friendly staff. Given that I have eaten lunch in other local pubs, I think I can safely comment that I believe the Ffynnon...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Taffy C
David S, General Manager at Ffynnon Wen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time and effort in leaving us a review Taffy C. We are truly made up by your comments and even more pleasing and rewarding that the Teams hardwork and efforts get noticed. We do believe we are the Best Value...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

It was my mother’s funeral.....she was 94 and had never bothered with neighbours much, most of her friends had gone, so we did not have a clue how many to cater for. The food was excellent. Fresh and well,presented. Chips were like chip shop and...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Anne h
David S, General Manager at Ffynnon Wen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time and trouble in feeding back your comments Anne h. Whilst given the circumstances of your visit it is indeed very kind for you to post the above on what is I am sure testing times. That said I am really...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018

We have eaten in this restaurant before, and have always been very pleased. We decided to book and come for a late lunch on Wednesday. We were six in party and booked for 2.00pm, Very extensive menu, with lots of choice. Variously we had chicken...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Yvonnedate
David S, General Manager at Ffynnon Wen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to leave us a fantastic review Yvonnedate. The team work extremely hard to ensure that whilst with us our Guests fully enjoy themselves and leave more than satisfied and I am pleased that this was the case...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 hotels in Cardiff
Manor Parc Country Hotel
186 reviews
.48 miles away
New House Country Hotel
900 reviews
.98 miles away
Masons Arms
37 reviews
1.34 miles away
Travelodge Cardiff Whitchurch
283 reviews
1.39 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Selah Cafe & Tea Rooms
256 reviews
.88 miles away
Manor Parc Restaurant
116 reviews
.47 miles away
Miller & Carter
666 reviews
.71 miles away
The Butchers Arms
191 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Thornhill Farm Shop
134 reviews
.79 miles away
Llanishen Leisure Centre
33 reviews
.86 miles away
South Wales Personal Day Tours
69 reviews
.26 miles away
Church Inn Llanishen
25 reviews
.85 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Peter H
29 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David S | Property representative |
Yes we do. We have 3 packages Gold, Silver and Bronze priced at £5.95-£11.95 per head.
0
Votes
hayleyb500
21 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Patricia R | Reviewed this property |
it was a private residence belonging to a couple they got the liquor licence then sold it on
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Thornhill Road | Llanishen, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2052 2535
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing