We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Prince Of Wales

81-83 Heol Eglwys | South Glamorgan CF10 1FA,, Cardiff CF5 5PA, Wales
+44 29 2064 4449
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good35%
  • Average21%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
81-83 Heol Eglwys | South Glamorgan CF10 1FA,, Cardiff CF5 5PA, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 447 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Despite recent refurbishment this Wetherspoons is still very disappointing. Firstly, on my visit it was as cold and windy on the inside as it was on the outside no heating and no effort to make it comfortable. Only one guest ale on tap and staff...More

Thank Stephen C M
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Popped in here for a drink (or two) whilst visiting Cardiff. Couldn’t find a clean table anywhere despite the pub being huge and not overly busy. To be fair I didn’t go upstairs to look. Eventually move some glasses from a table in a booth,...More

Thank m0ssy2016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to meet here as it was a convenient meeting point . This place really does look grand when you walk into here. It was a busy place , but we were served quickly, and we managed to get a seating area out of...More

Thank Sirah2013
Andy G, General Manager at The Prince Of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi. Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I’ll review your comments with the team to ensure we can improve in the future Kind regards Andy

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve never had any issues with this pub. However, today was absolutely laughable. Firstly I asked for a Hugo Spritz to which people behind the bar asked, “what’s that?” After bringing a menu over and showing them what they serve, they came back to say...More

Thank Stacey M
Andy G, General Manager at The Prince Of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Stacey Apologies for your esperience during your last visit. Unfortunately on the day in question we did have to temporarily close one of the toilets for maintenance. Thankfully our customers are understanding and for the short period of time used the second set of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Cardiff on business, and this Witherspoon was the perfect location for a good value breakfast, opening at 7am, and combining a great choice with swift service. The setting is a bit surreal as this pub is an old theatre, and rather than...More

Thank paul h
Andy G, General Manager at The Prince Of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We’re very proud of our buildings history, I’m glad you found it such a positive aspect of your visit Kind regards Andy

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Not the bouncers fault... however have been asked to leave an empty bar prior to 9pm on a Sunday night because we are having dinner with a child. I do get it on busy nights but tonight...... seriously????More

Thank Debbie19741
Andy G, General Manager at The Prince Of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Debbie. Unfortunately the children’s license is enforced by the local licensing authority and is irrespective of the level of day or day im afraid. Many city centre venues have the same condition. Apologies if it had a negative impact on your experience Kind regards...More

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Set in a wonderful old theatre this is a surprisingly good setting for a city centre Weatherspoons. With Weatherspoons it is what it is. But this is a good one. Food was well prepared and came quickly. I have a skinny chicken burger. Cooked well....More

Thank Simon W
Andy G, General Manager at The Prince Of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Simon, Thank you for the review, the skinny chicken burger comes without dressing to provide a low calorie option, should you wish to add some in the future please let your server know and they would be happy to help Kind regards Andy

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The building is really grand and is what made us decide to eat here during our day trip to Cardiff. When we walked in the first thing we noticed was how many tables there were, and most were full which gave a good atmosphere. We...More

1  Thank Rachael N
Andy G, General Manager at The Prince Of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Rachael, Thank you for leaving us a review. I will ensure that during times of peak trade all servers are providing accurate wait times for customers Kind regards Andy

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely food at affordable prices. A Wetherspoon pub with a great atmosphere catering for all. Ideal for a lunch date or to watch a rugby match, a nice all rounder.

Thank AlannaLew
Andy G, General Manager at The Prince Of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Alanna, Thank you for such a great review, we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Andy

Reviewed 12 December 2017

We'd just exited the rugby stadium and were straight into here. Although it was 3 deep at the bar the service was good and we didn't wait long for our drinks.

Thank DavePen49
Andy G, General Manager at The Prince Of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Dave, A fellow rugby fan... thanks for visiting us, the atmosphere on the match day is one of my favourite times of the year. Thanks for the review Kind regards Andy

PreviousNext
12345645
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 74 hotels in Cardiff
The Royal Hotel
1,319 reviews
.02 miles away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
737 reviews
.06 miles away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
914 reviews
.10 miles away
Sandringham Hotel
964 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Meating Place
776 reviews
.03 miles away
Mia Porto Due
480 reviews
.06 miles away
Uncommon Ground Coffee Roastery
143 reviews
.06 miles away
We Love Italy
127 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cardiff Central Library
81 reviews
.12 miles away
Royal Arcade
55 reviews
.08 miles away
Wyndham Arcade
6 reviews
.06 miles away
Breakout Cardiff
606 reviews
.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
martyn a
3 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David M | Reviewed this property |
Yes it's being refurbished as I understand it.
1
Vote
Deborah D
12 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Deborah D | Reviewed this property |
I suggest you look at your chairs , covered in dust & food !!the bottom area near the lift !! Also why is your food always Luke warm ?? Hate having to complain , so it's easier to go else where now
3
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 00:00
Monday
07:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 00:00
Thursday
07:00 - 01:00
Friday
07:00 - 01:00
Saturday
07:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 81-83 Heol Eglwys | South Glamorgan CF10 1FA,, Cardiff CF5 5PA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2064 4449
Description
Pub
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing