We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Greyfriars Rd, Cardiff, Wales
+44 29 2037 5600
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Headed here for a quick bite to eat with the family last Thursday, as it was right next to the car park we had left the car in and was pleasantly surprised. It was such great value, we had 2 curries, 2 burgers, 4 drinks and a couple of sides all for under £30! The food arrived hot and tasty,... More 

Helpful?
Thank RachaelSimms
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nobody should come to a Wetherspoons expecting gourmet food. It is what it is - dependable, economical food in generous portions, served quickly. That said, I've visited a couple of times in the past few weeks, largely for a quick pre-theatre bite, and I've left both times feeling full up but somehow unsatisfied. The first visit, I ordered the mixed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Calavera C
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

lovely place to have a meal nice size meal and a drink comes with the meal good value very quick service

Helpful?
Thank Diane P D
General M, Manager at The Crockerton, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive comments, its always nice to know when we are doing something right. More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Gr8 nite. Bombing tunes. 10/10. Cnt comment enuf. Staff hav gr8 uniforms and look top notch. A++++++

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
General M, Manager at The Crockerton, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback. We always try our best and whilst sometimes we do make mistakes its nice to know we are getting it right more than wrong! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Called in for lunch over the weekend and it was so good to see the nick back, really puts the effort in with his service and attitude a real credit to the weatherspoons company.

Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
General M, Manager at The Crockerton, responded to this review

Yea, as difficult as it is for me to admit it we missed Nick too! Glad to see he has not lost his touch for customer service, I will pass on your kind words. Thank you. More 

Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Called in for a quick bite and drink before going to the New Theatre opposite. Great value, promptly served, but when we went for a second drink the bar was 4 deep! Luckily one of our party was facing the TV screen advertising the Wetherspoon Order & Pay App. Downloaded, placed order and drinks to table in 3 minutes ......... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marshey2004
General M, Manager at The Crockerton, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I'm sorry you had to wait at the bar the second time you wanted a drink, unfortunately it can get quite busy when everyone from the theatre seems to show up! Your right about the order and pay app, it is amazing and I try and tell as many customers as I can to... More 

UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We visited this pub again while on a few days away in Cardiff with the family! On our last visit it was not so good but we thought we'd give it the benefit of the doubt! Nothing had improved , it had got worse if anything! Staff are rude and if they don't enjoy their job find somewhere else where... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank panda3073
General M, Manager at The Crockerton, responded to this review

You have clearly had a bad experience visiting us here at the Crockerton and I can only apologise. We do try hard to provide good service and standards although we do sometimes make mistakes and have let you down on this occasion. Obviously I have several concerns and I would be grateful if you could contact me to discuss the... More 

Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were very rude and unprofessional when taking my order and the cleanliness of the place left a lot to be desired and I will not return as there's better places in Cardiff who want customers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
General M, Manager at The Crockerton, responded to this review

I am sorry that you have had a poor experience on your visit to the Crockerton. We do try hard to maintain good service and standards and sometimes we do make mistakes. However that is no excuse for rude staff and for that I can only apologise. Thank you for taking the time to comment. More 

Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Family dinner at this Wetherspoons location. Expected usual cheap and cheerful but was such a bad experience. 1 waitress didn't know the menu and drinks deal, consequently we were over charged by £11. After much negotiation I was given partial compensation. 2 waitress messed up drinks order and poured wrong drink. I was refused a refund. 3 husband's medium steak... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J_Leics
General M, Manager at The Crockerton, responded to this review

Obviously all of these points you have raised are not acceptable and I can only apologise for the disappointing experience you had on your visit. Thank you for taking the time to comment. More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Well..the whole chain wetherspoons in Cardiff as hit an all time low ..what on earth is the ceo doing. We were here on sat 17th Dec. .walked in and nearly walked out but we managed to get served so stayed. Omg...tables overflowing with dirty dishes..dozens glasses piled up everywhere...we actually was walking thru food on the floor. .people were moving... More 

Helpful?
Thank jon s
General M, Manager at The Crockerton, responded to this review

I am sorry for the disappointing experience you had when visiting us. We do try hard to provide good service and standards although we do sometimes make mistakes. I am sorry that we have let you down on this occasion. Obviously that was the last full shopping day before Christmas and we were extremely busy, however that is not an... More 

Travellers who viewed The Crockerton also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Crockerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Greyfriars Rd, Cardiff, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2037 5600

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crockerton and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Crockerton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?