We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oystercatcher

Terra Nova Way | Penarth, Cardiff CF64 1SB, Wales
+44 29 2070 9836
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good15%
  • Average12%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible26%
Travellers talk about
“family meal” (11 reviews)
“nice food” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Terra Nova Way | Penarth, Cardiff CF64 1SB, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Came here with my partner for lunch for my birthday after shopping in Cardiff was lush and def coming back!!

Thank gillianmarie2018
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Gillian, Thank you for your feed back, all my staff and myself really appreciate it. Please remember we have offer's on every day so please sign up to our web site to get the best offers Daily. Hope to see you soon. Andrew.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is lovely, however food is very hit and miss, on my last visit the food was bland and the chips were cold.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank simonerI62DB
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Simone, Thank you for your feed back, all my staff and myself really appreciate it. Please remember we have offer's on every day so please sign up to our web site to get the best offers Daily. Hope to see you soon. Andrew.

Reviewed 1 week ago

kids loved the play area the food was lovely and staff was friendly. we will def be using oyster catcher in the near future.

Thank Simon L
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Simon, Thank you for your feed back, all my staff and myself really appreciate it. Please remember we have offer's on every day so please sign up to our web site to get the best offers Daily. Hope to see you soon. Andrew.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a sunny day and sat outside. Friendly staff and typical pub menu on offer. Service was quick and food hot. Nice to sit outside and enjoy the weather and the view. However it is unusual for a pub with outside seating area not...More

Thank JAC446
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jac, Thank you for your feed back, all my staff and myself really appreciate it. Please remember we have offer's on every day so please sign up to our web site to get the best offers Daily. Hope to see you soon. Andrew.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this venue on Friday just gone. It was with the family for a quick bite after our day out. Majority of tables were dirty and just left, we had to ask for them to clean it. Our food came within good time but...More

Thank Handyman213
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, I'm am sorry to here you didn't receive the high standards or the quality of food that our guests expect at The Oystercatcher. We have staff who's only job role is to clear the outside to maintain a high standard even when it is...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All four of the bakes family rocked up to the oyster catcher. Got a seat, picked our food. All burgers (we love a burger) food was quick, fresh and all round nice time. Thankyou

Thank Leebakes
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lee, Thank you for your feed back, all my staff and myself really appreciate it. Please remember we have offer's on every day so please sign up to our web site to get the best offers Daily. Hope to see you soon. Andrew.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic Loved the place. Very warm staff and so friendly and helpful. We were served by Bethany Thank you for making our day really special

Thank waynealexander2017
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Wayne, , Thank you for your feed back, all my staff and myself really appreciate it. Please remember we have offer's on every day so please sign up to our web site to get the best offers Daily. Hope to see you soon. Andrew.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great visit as always. Matt Smith always looks after me well. Very friendly. Good food and drink, fast service.More

Thank chris7642018
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Chris, Thank you for your feed back, all my staff and myself really appreciate it. Please remember we have offer's on every day so please sign up to our web site to get the best offers Daily. Fathers Day is on Sunday 17/06/18, if...More

Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Possibly one of the worst steaks I have ever had. It was under cooked. Rare, not medium rare as ordered. A quarter of the steak was inedible and uncutable. I was not offered or given condiments and had to find them for myself. This place...More

Thank kurti47
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Kurk, I'm am sorry to here you didn't receive the high standards or the quality of food that our guests expect at The Oystercatcher Please feel free to contact me on this matter as I would like to know what time you arrived here...More

Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Turned up tonight and asked for a table of 5. We were met by a young girl who had a quick look (whilst standing on the spot) and said ‘I’ll have to say no. Unless you want to sit outside’. And off she went! It...More

Thank EmmaCoburn83
Oyster C, General Manager at Oystercatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi Emma, My apologise if you miss understood what Bethany my host said to you but she did offer you a table when one became free as we were already full when you arrived as we are very popular with families. Bethany did offer you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 hotels in Cardiff
Glendale Hotel
117 reviews
.87 miles away
Cefn Mably Hotel
15 reviews
.99 miles away
The Manor House Hotel
179 reviews
1.08 miles away
The St. David's Hotel
4,186 reviews
1.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Busy Teapot
211 reviews
.59 miles away
The Pilot
430 reviews
.56 miles away
Pier 64
956 reviews
.48 miles away
The Windsor
205 reviews
.52 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Glass By Design
34 reviews
.87 miles away
The Golden Lion
41 reviews
.54 miles away
Challenge Wales
12 reviews
.60 miles away
Railway Hotel Penarth
56 reviews
.85 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Oystercatcher staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Terra Nova Way | Penarth, Cardiff CF64 1SB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2070 9836
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing