We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Fuji

) #317 of 891 Restaurants in Cardiff ££ - £££, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
St David's 2 Food Hall, Cardiff, Wales
+44 29 2034 0333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Details
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“bento box” (38 reviews)
“tempura” (17 reviews)
“sushi” (40 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
DETAILS
St David's 2 Food Hall, Cardiff, Wales
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went to Cardiff last year just for fun as we had nothing to do, saw this place and decided to eat. Great food, very crispy chicken with teriyaki sauce. 5/5!

Thank Otoshihuh
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My husband had been before. Just one course , quality was superb and taste GREAT. Giant prawns in panko breadcrumbs and gyoza in ramen noodles, absolutely delicious

Thank Den51_12
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a meal with a friend. Very attentive service from very knowledgeable staff, reasonable prices (albeit a bit pricey for mall food) and good quality Japanese food. Overall a very good experience.

Thank Kiwifoody
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I always have lovely food here, and there is something to suit every one. Whether you like sushi, katsu curry, teriyaki or miso soup, you'll find something to alleviate your appetite. I don't understand why it is never too busy because the food is always...More

Thank ktmitch89l
Mount-Fuji-StDavids, Owner at Mount Fuji, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments ! It is strange we are not as busy as we would like, our Birmingham Bullring restaurant is packed and on Saturday it's manic . To be honest no restaurant apart from Nando's is that busy in Cardiff, most other...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From afar the restaurant looks modern and inviting. Once in, you ask yourself why. Why is it so cold. Why are the staff not trained. Why is it empty. Food was lovely considering I have never eaten Japanese. So much potential for the place. Very...More

Thank jaykay2017
Mount-Fuji-StDavids, Owner at Mount Fuji, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments, we know it is not that warm but we have a problem with the center in that they have no heating and will not do anything about the cold enterance doors. This is on going but there are things...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've eaten here a number of times and reviewed it once before giving it a 4 rating. This time I was very disappointed. I ordered a tofu bento box - the agadashi tofu was gooey, gelatinous and not at all crispy, no veggie gyoza -...More

3  Thank emmaslippers
Mount-Fuji-StDavids, Owner at Mount Fuji, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry to hear your review but you have got the tofu wrong. What you had was akadashi tofu and that is how it is in Japan. To make it you coat pieces of tofu with potato starch and deep fry it. This...More

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

This place has had a few bad reviews but I can say I liked it a lot. The Kyushu tonkotsu 🍜was lush, spicy to eat but no lingering burn, the chicken teriyaki bento 🍱was lovely the chicken itself was super, sticky sweet and lots of...More

Thank Kingpence
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I came here for a pre theatre meal. We were greeted straight away and given a table however it was not the table we picked and were told to sit elsewhere. The seating area is located near the entrance doors of St David's centre which...More

Thank pam s
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Thisplace is terrible. The food was unappealing, cold and tasteless. It was such a disappointment as it is in a great location. Do not be fooled, trully terrible.

Thank paulJ2520JZ
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Went on a weekday afternoon around 2pm with my partner carrying two big bags. The restaurant was about 1/3 filled, but we weren't given the choice to sit at the booth although there were three empty booths. Instead we were made to sit by the...More

1  Thank cortexxxiphan
Mount-Fuji-StDavids, Owner at Mount Fuji, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear this, can you tell what day and time you were there as I will look into it. In regards to the corn, it is served cold that is normal. Once I have details back I can investigate. Best regards Andrew...More

Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Toni M
Does anyone have a list/knowledge of what kind of options their sushi menu includes? I've understood that their menu is of daily sort which effectively means it varies from day to day, but I would appreciate a general picture of what toppings and fillings is used in their sushi. I am visiting Cardiff in about a week and would love to know what their sushi variety is like :)
16 February 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
09:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:30 - 22:00
Thursday
09:30 - 22:00
Friday
09:30 - 22:00
Saturday
09:30 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St David's 2 Food Hall, Cardiff, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2034 0333
  • E-mail