We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travellers Rest

Claimed
Reserve a Table
Sat, 2/23
20:00
2

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
125
159
148
163
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
125
159
148
163
169
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were a group of eight people “trying” to have a meal out and a very long over due catch up at The Travellers Rest restaurant and bar... what a huge disappointment for us all! Firstly we had to wait whilst the head waitress delivered...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Arrish2015
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I went here tonight with my girlfriend, my first night off work in a long time. The staff were extremely ignorant and rude and didn’t care for our service at all - day around in their phones and following each other around the pub. I...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank NOGFATALL
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Please could you let us know which evening this was so we can investigate with the team working. Thanks

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Waited 50 minutes for food. Politely asked why the delay. Food arrived quickly after. Pool of jye on my plate had been there so long there was a tide mark around plate. Pork not crispy, skimey and fatty. Couldn't eat mist of it. Family also...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank karolukwales
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited The Travellers Rest with friends and thoroughly enjoyed. Good food with a warm welcome and highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank BarclayBluebird
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had to send food back as over cooked. Bar area woefully neglected. Fire had gone out. No effort made.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Quest427485
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Quest427485, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At a loose end on a Thursday evening, we drove up here for a drink and food. Charming building with lots of quirky little rooms, found a table and I got some drinks. There was only one lad running the bar (this was the case...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Marjorie_Biscuits
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Traveller's Rest.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with husband and son for Sunday lunch. My husband and I had the roast beef, it was excellent. Although it was very busy, the waiter was friendly and attentive. Great children’s menu. Lovely, cosy restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank sarahjeaks
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sarahjeaks, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Traveller's Rest!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked in to the pub and the lady looking after front of house was rude and unhelplful. We hadn't been to this pub before so we didn't know whether we needed to just go and sit down or be shown to our table. The...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank ShannonCecilia
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Shannoncecilia, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as a family of 12 adults and 1 child. We usually come to this place for the amazing food and service, but unfortunately the last couple of occasions we have came has been really disappointing. Numerous plates had missing items such as...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Lewis J
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lewis J, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one.

Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

A group of us went for for Sunday lunch. It was 4.30 and they were out of beef and turkey for the roast dinners. We ordered our food and 45 minutes later when we still hadn’t been given any communication as to where the food...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank kimwilleyeams
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kimwilleyeams, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 nearby hotels
New House Country Hotel
940 reviews
.17 miles away
Manor Parc Country Hotel
187 reviews
.67 miles away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
344 reviews
1.87 miles away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
450 reviews
1.95 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,471 nearby restaurants
The Black Cock Inn
600 reviews
.93 miles away
Caerphilly Mountain Snack Bar
110 reviews
.57 miles away
Travellers Rest
39 reviews
.02 miles away
Manor Parc Restaurant
124 reviews
.68 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 414 nearby attractions
4x4 Driving School
9 reviews
1.95 miles away
Castell Coch
1,562 reviews
1.96 miles away
Mountain View Ranch
391 reviews
1.01 miles away
Caerphilly Castle
1,692 reviews
1.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tracy O
23 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bethan P | Reviewed this property |
yes it is it has dog bowl and dog treats at the bar
0
Votes
Joypaws
12 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jeffaber | Reviewed this property |
Yes they will take reservations.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing