We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mary Dillwyn

££ - £££, British,
Ffordd Cynore | Fforestfach, Swansea SA5 4BE, Wales
+44 1792 578974
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“chicken burger” (10 reviews)
“food was lovely” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Street Food, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ffordd Cynore | Fforestfach, Swansea SA5 4BE, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 665 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited today and what a mistake. Food order was wrong, waited for order to come out then was still wrong and cold! Service terrible. A shame really as had good experiences in the past. Won’t be visiting again in a hurry.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank redgirl211
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Spur of the moment visit at lunchtime on 8/12/18. We were greeted by a friendly face and it was explained that one part was waiter service and the other side, order at the bar. We were immediately seen to by Katie, who took our drinks...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank NiaWP
Reviewed 6 days ago

Went with 8 friends as a reunion,the waitress was friendly and the service was good but the food was so disappointing.most of us had turkey dinner it looked lovely when it came but the Yorkshire pudding was like a soggy sponge,the roast potatoes were soft...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank spikesswansea
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this restaurant which is very local to us with my wife and son for lunch. On the advise of one of the servers I went for the Lasagna which was excellent. Also took this ladies recommendation for a chocolate melt in mouth sweet -...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank glover63
387lukef, General Manager at Mary Dillwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi glover63, Thanks very much for leaving such a great review, it’s always refreshing to hear that the hard work we are putting in is paying off, and I will pass your feedback onto the team. When you do visit again, please make yourself known...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have always enjoyed eating here, but on this visit we found that table service had been removed in favour of pay at the bar. In fact the staff were invisible and rude, and the food was average. Such a shame.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Keithskeggs
387lukef, General Manager at Mary Dillwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Keithskeggs, I'm really sorry your visit didn't reach the high standards we strive to achieve. We do still operate full table service in the restaurant side, the bar area has been extended and it is order at the bar in these areas, I'm sorry...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a half price main meal offer. Very impressed with the choice on the menu. They were out of a few options but still plenty of choice.The waitress was very polite and the meals came quickly. Food was delicious. We all enjoyed and are...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SwanseaBach
387lukef, General Manager at Mary Dillwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi SwanseaBach, We always love to hear when our valued guests have a great time after visiting us, so thank you for leaving your feedback! We are addressing product availability constantly, but sometimes they are out of stock from our suppliers, so I do apologise...More

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal, the food was excellent. The service was a little slow and my order had a slight mistake which was rectified quickly. Staff were friendly, helpful and quick to clean tables. We will be back.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 196helenf
387lukef, General Manager at Mary Dillwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Helen F, Thank you so much for your review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your visit. It just goes to show that we are all human, and sometimes mistakes do happen, but it's great to hear that we rectified it quickly for you! Next...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The wife and I went for a meal last night and I have to say, the food and service was second to none as always! We both had the rump steak and chips with the ice cream brownie sundae to follow. We didn’t have to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank timharris
387lukef, General Manager at Mary Dillwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi timhG3363NG, Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review, it's always refreshing to hear that the hard work we put in is paying off. Katie will be delighted to read your comments, and I will pass your feedback onto the kitchen team!...More

Reviewed 5 November 2018

Food awful, greasy cold plate, tasteless risotto, every table complaining about long wait, even though it was not busy. Waitress though very helpful and pleasant.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 10Woodlands
387lukef, General Manager at Mary Dillwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Valerie A, I'm awfully sorry you did not have a good experience with us, it's a real blow when we fail to achieve the high standards we work to maintain. I will pass your comments onto the kitchen team, to minimise the risk of...More

Reviewed 5 November 2018

Very strange setup, where you have to get the menus, sauces, cutteries yourself (basically everything except going into the kitchen to get your own food). While the service is ok, I can't really say the same about the food. I won't rush back.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank CK242
387lukef, General Manager at Mary Dillwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi CK242, Thank you for your review, we operate a system where half the pub is more of a "bar area" where you help yourself to menus and order at the bar, and the other half is more of a restaurant, where we provide full...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 hotels in Swansea
Travelodge Swansea M4
284 reviews
1.87 miles away
Hurst Dene Hotel
69 reviews
2.50 miles away
The Alexander
243 reviews
2.54 miles away
The White House
197 reviews
2.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lezzet Cafe
15 reviews
.45 miles away
Poppies
11 reviews
.15 miles away
The Marquis Arms
279 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dylan Thomas Birth Place
220 reviews
2.45 miles away
Penllergare Valley Woods
357 reviews
1.56 miles away
Singleton Park
253 reviews
2.73 miles away
Cwmdonkin Park
140 reviews
2.25 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
stevevaradero
24 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 387lukef | Property representative |
Hi stevevaradero, No aircon I’m afraid, the all the doors and windows were wide open so it’s not too bad in there!
0
Votes
ithopkins8
28 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mary D | Property representative |
Hi April 2014
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ffordd Cynore | Fforestfach, Swansea SA5 4BE, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Swansea
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 578974
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing