We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House of Zen

££ - £££Chinese, Asian,
3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9027 8688
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“honey pepper” (6 reviews)
“fried rice” (19 reviews)
“duck” (35 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Four of us on a saturday pm (we had pre reserved). Seated and greeted politely. Food enjoyable but smallish portions. Service very good. would certainly return.

Thank hnatrev
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went here with 2 business colleagues and lucky to be fitted in at short notice. Great Chinese inspired decor with dim lighting. Service was efficient and fast and mostly friendly. Had duck salad and beef rib eye rolls with asparagus, sizzling aubergine, all excellent dishes...More

Thank markT4404SB
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went for lunch on a Saturday afternoon, 2 courses for £10.95 is excellent value. Food was lovely and a decent portion size, service however wasn’t great, very blunt and not at all friendly. Also cutlery not changed for main courses. Cocktails were nice and definitely...More

Thank 29jan15
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited Zen on a recommendation There was 9 of us politely greeted by staff and shown to our table. Menu is vast.. we called a collection of 11 starters which were amazing .. wine is my forte so ordered a bottle of Sancerre which after...More

Thank sanang
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recently was recommended this restaurant when we were in belfast.back street location but the place is central city wise and very busy.seemed to be authentic and the food was tasty with lots of flavour .The food was so nice we had 4 courses.swift service and...More

Thank Kevin K
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, amazing food and great cocktails. Run brilliantly by Irene, atmosphere is always great. Restaurant always clean and food was fab. No complaints.

Thank Hannah Q
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my husband and I went here last Saturday for lunch. We had a great overall experience...the staff were amazing, very very friendly and helpful. The food was lovely, great value and good sized helpings. Thank you especially to Jojo for her good humour and kind...More

Thank JackieMJo
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately leave food and the service fell short of our expectations. In particular, the lovely decor and setting and artistic plate-ing of the food would lead one to believe it tastes better than it does. Our server, did not seem to know the menu well,...More

Thank Jwieder
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

The food was good but nothing special! Ordered the Dim Sum at nearly 10 pound which was meant for 2 people and was delicious. We ordered 2 main dishes, the chicken supreme and the House of Zen special. Both were good but nothing out of...More

Thank Amyyy251
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Visted here for the lunch menu an what a selection an price. The food was 5 star quality best Chinese I've had in Belfast. The duck is a must try. If you fancy Chinese here is the place to be.

Thank irishrambler0188
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 hotels in Belfast
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
1,876 reviews
.06 miles away
Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel
2,678 reviews
.16 miles away
Merchant Hotel
2,807 reviews
.17 miles away
Dream Apartments Belfast
87 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Established Coffee
290 reviews
.03 miles away
Coppi
1,254 reviews
.02 miles away
Salt Bistro
443 reviews
.00 miles away
The Grill
130 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cathedral Quarter
765 reviews
.09 miles away
MAC
240 reviews
.02 miles away
St. Anne's Cathedral
455 reviews
.08 miles away
Northern Ireland War Memorial
49 reviews
.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hayley J
29 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Declan C | Reviewed this property |
You can just walk in which is what I have done on the last two occasions. But, this is a popular restaurant so it's best to make a reservation to avoid disappointment.
0
Votes
Sarah L
25 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dawnecallender | Reviewed this property |
Im sure if you ask they would be willing to accommodate. The staff were very friendly and accommodating
2
Votes
Sarah L
25 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rosslyn S | Reviewed this property |
Can't see this being a problem but just to be sure give the restaurant a ring .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
13:30 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
13:00 - 12:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9027 8688
  • E-mail
Description
Cocooned in the Heart of the Cathedral Quarter is the newest addition to the Zen Restaurant Group, the Cool and Elegant House of Zen. The House of Zen blends a little bit of The Orient into the Traditional cobbled streets and cosy bars of the Cathedral Quarter in Belfast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing