We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Tavern

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
83
63
9
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
83
63
9
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pavlova burger scampi pie soup traditional pub fountain street city centre bar daily specials great guinness nice meal extensive menu upstairs restaurant craic veg booth
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 30 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Went there for lunch during our day trip to Belfast. I am not complaining about the old decor or the old style furniture, but the food and service was not good at all. We didn’t expect much from this place but we def didn’t expect...More

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank nonstoptraveller2017
FountainTavern, Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

We are sorry that on this occasion our normally high standards of food and service fell short of your expectations. We have spoken to the chefs and staff concerned and hope to rectify the problems you experienced in the near future with various operational and...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018

My second visit to belfast and a new visit to the fountain tavern and as expected the staff were great the food was perfect and the cost was good what more can I say than every trip to belfast and I will be eating at...More

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank PaulP5020
FountainTavern, Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you Paul, we look forward to seeing back at the Fountain really soon.

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Great city centre bar packed with locals. The Guinness is worth trying here. Bar staff are efficient and very friendly. Conveniently located close to shops and City Hall this is a nice place to escape the shopping.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 86frankiet
FountainTavern, Owner at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review both the management and staff appreciate your comments.

Reviewed 7 April 2018

We visited the Fountain Tavern on a late saturday afternoon after looking around the various cafes/restaurants and landed here to try something new. On arrival, the old decor created a seemingly old-fashioned charm with its carpeted stairs and vinyl seats which we took as a...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank CERC404
FountainTavern, General Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Our sincerest of apologies for your far from ideal recent experience at the Fountain Tavern. As I am sure you will see from other reviews most of our customers are highly satisfied with the product that we offer. We do, however, take all our reviews...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is the best bar in belfast. My grandma is playing the acordion and everyone is singing! I have to say more but I don't know what to say. My gramma is gonna be dead jealous when I show her the picture.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank adimapamida
FountainTavern, Owner at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Our thanks to you and your Grandma for your review and her fantastic musical skills!!

Reviewed 14 March 2018

I have been here several times and am always pleased with the 'welcome' and friendly service. Staff are always willing to please the customer. Furthermore, great value at affordable prices for a City Centre Restaurant/Pub.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Irene B
FountainTavern, Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review Irene B we appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 11 March 2018

from the pleasant staff to the food and there was a good cross the board selection and it was both hot and tasty and to be honest I could not suggest anything to improve the restaurant it's well worth a visit and the cost was...More

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank PaulP5020
FountainTavern, Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review paul, we hope to see you back in Belfast and the Fountain again soon.

Reviewed 7 March 2018

Stopped for lunch in the restaurant above the pub great atmosphere,food menu plus specials was excellent well worth the cost which was not expensive.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank bigglesStrathaven
FountainTavern, Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate it greatly.

Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Good craic, good prices and a good night out. Can't go wrong here and you won't get ripped off for a city centre bar.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Enz067
FountainTavern, Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate it.

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

After a busy couple of hours shopping in a rainy Belfast my wife and l decided to go for a drink and perhaps something to eat and to dry out. We picked the fountain as it was near to our last shop and looked nice....More

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank Billyboy158
FountainTavern, Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Our sincere apologies regarding your recent trip to the Fountain Tavern. Unfortunately late the night before your arrival the electrics were tripped by something that turned out to be the kettle you spoke of. The staff were advised not to use the kettle in the...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 nearby hotels
Ibis Belfast City Centre
1,946 reviews
.14 miles away
Ten Square
1,607 reviews
.18 miles away
The Flint
135 reviews
.20 miles away
Jurys Inn Belfast
1,133 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,259 nearby restaurants
Jumon
95 reviews
.01 miles away
West Gourmet Sandwich Bar
222 reviews
.03 miles away
The Beringer
93 reviews
.02 miles away
Sawers Belfast Ltd
145 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 564 nearby attractions
Visit Belfast Welcome Centre
656 reviews
.09 miles away
Linen Hall Library
236 reviews
.06 miles away
St Mary's Roman Catholic Church
15 reviews
.10 miles away
Wild Atlantic Cycling Tours
22 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lolaelliott
9 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sara T | Reviewed this property |
I think it might be around 6 but I'm not totally sure
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing