We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saffron

££ - £££Indian, Asian,
2 Clarendon Street, Derry BT48 7ES, Northern Ireland
+44 28 7126 0532
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good18%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (26 reviews)
“onion bhaji” (6 reviews)
“king prawns” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Clarendon Street, Derry BT48 7ES, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I came here and had a very good meal. The spicing was good. I had chicken makhana with Nan and dahl. Service was a little slow but very happy with the meal

Thank jmaclennan
Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice relaxing place to eat, excellent food and drink. Staff very welcoming and very reasonably priced. Will defiantly be back.

1  Thank harrym0rr0w
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the most delicious Indian meal ever at saffron. Both my husband and i had starters and main course which were all delicious. The staff were so pleasant and helpful and the service was excellent. I don’t like too spicy and my husband likes extremely...More

1  Thank dstewartd73
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked table for 6pm ......got main courses at 7:35. Despite the time afforded ...meals came out wrong and one of the meals ( a bog standard lamb bhuna ) was inedible. Staff response " if you don't like it....you don't like it it". The point...More

Thank Magintz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My search for Indian food is Derry landed me here. Tried the Chicken Tikka Masala and Garlic Naan here and didn't like it at all. The gravy was sweet and Naan was extremely thick. The service and ambiance is nice but the food is overpriced...More

Thank Komal M
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer thank you for your comments both positive and negative. We have been in the restaurant business for over 30 years and pride ourselves on our authentic Indian dishes. Our dishes are all made to order and can be altered to suit the individual...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rang my order in for collection and was over priced for what I got,, mixed kebab on naan, £7.00 for little dried chicken and chicken madras chips and rice. I called to let the server no that it was not a mixed kebab and they...More

Thank Darryl M
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer thank you for taking the time out to write your review. I can only apologise for the miscommunication between yourself and my staff, when you phoned the restaurant to make your complaint. The member of staff in question said the phone lost signal...More

Reviewed 15 May 2018

A good crowd of us including two English, one Irish and two Sikhs! South Indian influences mainly). We all enjoyed the food. Service a bit slow, but who cares! Couls hardly be bettered

Thank _richardrawlins2
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear reviewer thank you for your review and for taking time out to write your review. We appreciate your custom and look forward to your return.

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here yesterday. On arrival we were told a table would be around 15mins so we sat at the bar, 3 drinks and an hour later we got a table. Service was extremely poor. The owner was very rude also and the food...More

6  Thank Laura N
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer, we appreciate your comments and can only apologise for you having to wait longer than expected on a busy night. It is very unfortunate that you thought anyone was rude to you, however, I can only say that was definitely not my intention....More

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Service was good, although needed to make eye contact a few times to get the table cleared. Food did not really live up to expectations, very different tastes to what we are used to. Ordered Jalfrezi and it was so bland. We did tell the...More

2  Thank Siobhan350
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer thank you for your comments both positive and negative. I'm glad you appreciated the service, however, we do pride ourselves on the quality of the food. Our dishes are made to order and can be altered to suit the individual customer, on request....More

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Was in for dinner on Saturday night, I got a gin fizz to start with , it was sooo good, then I ordered the lite option it was delicious as always. The garlic man is to die for. The service was very good ,the waiting...More

2  Thank vickey24
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer thank you for your 5 star review. Our cocktails are proving very popular with customers, as is the lite menu - as it is still very high in flavour, but very low in calories. I'm glad you enjoyed the whole Saffron experience.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Derry
Travelodge Derry
535 reviews
.09 miles away
City Hotel
2,227 reviews
.16 miles away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1,319 reviews
.33 miles away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
289 reviews
.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mama Masala
482 reviews
.10 miles away
Browns in Town
734 reviews
.12 miles away
The Coffee Tree
50 reviews
.03 miles away
Guapo
154 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Guildhall
761 reviews
.25 miles away
Peace bridge
1,054 reviews
.18 miles away
Tower Museum
404 reviews
.26 miles away
St. Eugene's Cathedral
75 reviews
.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Saffron staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
16:30 - 23:00
Monday
16:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
16:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:30 - 23:00
Thursday
16:30 - 23:00
Friday
16:30 - 23:30
Saturday
16:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Clarendon Street, Derry BT48 7ES, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Londonderry  >  Derry
  • Phone Number: +44 28 7126 0532
Description
At Saffron we serve authentic Indian food, with a small European Selection available. We have been in the business for over 3 decades and are coeliac friendly and also offer a large Vegetarian selection. We are family friendly and offer a wide range of Mullins ice cream and homemade desserts. We have Live Music at the weekends and are well known for our Cocktails.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing