We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunnichen Stone

39
All photos (39)

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
The Dunnichen Stone is located on the edge of the market town of Forfar in Angus. The Dunnichen Stone is a new Rotisserie pub restaurant built to enjoy the local surrounding and cater for locals, business and tourists alike, whatever the weather and time of day. The Dunnichen Stone is the perfect place to relax with family and friends, feel free to pop in for a drink. Choose from our great range of cask ales, wines and soft drinks. While you're here ensure you explore your way through our excellent food menu where we have something for every appetite everyday of the week, from rustic hearty sandwiches to traditional pub classics, not forgetting our speciality freshly prepared rotisserie chicken or our hand carved Sunday lunches with all the trimmings. Whatever you choose you can be assured of a warm welcome from Bruce and his team. A bit of history!: The Meffan Museum is in the heart of the town Forfar where a rare pictish stone can be found called the Dunnichen Stone to which the pub is named after. It was found in the early 19th century when a farmer from the East Mains of Dunnichen was ploughing. After the Meffan Institute had renovated the stone, it was brought to Forfar on a long term loan from the Dundee museum where it is displayed to this day. The stone is of rough sandstone, It is incised on one face with three symbols: a pictish flower, a double disc and z-rod and a mirror and comb. While the double disc and Z-rod and mirror and comb motifs are fairly common and exist together elsewhere, the Flower is relatively rare.
PRICE RANGE
US$8-US$19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Brew Pub
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
177
122
96
72
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
177
122
96
72
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza mixed grill buy one get one free specials board table service family meal lovely meal karen wee
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Meal took ages to arrive! A meal that should have taken 30/40 minutes took two hours and with two little ones that was far too long. Staff seemed nice but kitchen was so slow and got some of my mums order wrong, and staff didn’t...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Natalie Y
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 12.50pm, seated and ordered quickly. 35 minutes later had to ask where our food was, bizarrely it came as soon as I asked. I had scamp, chips and peas, partner pizza. Mine was lukewarm, chips looked like they had been sitting for a...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank RedLichtie65
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived here and was greeted by a guy who I assume was the manager. He was very friendly and chatted with us while taking our drinks order. We then placed our food order, which was delivered by an equally friendly waitress. The food was cooked...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank richie1303
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Poor service. From being seated it took almost an hour to order our food and have it served. They had run out of poppadoms to go with the curry and forgot a side order of chips which then took an age to arrive, and only...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 173porterc
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

We used to come to this place quite regularly as the food was acceptable and there was usually a 2 for 1 offer for mains so it was reasonably priced. However we will not come back again after an incident with one of the waitresses....More

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Alex M
Dunnichen, Manager at Dunnichen Stone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alex M Im sorry to hear this I hope the weather got a little less chilli for you

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Well, how do i summarise our spoiled Saturday night in The Dunnichen Stone......VERY poor! We really should have known when we arrived during what should be any restaurants busiest time of the week, early evening Saturday, to find the place less than a third full...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Gauldie2015
Dunnichen, Manager at Dunnichen Stone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gauldie2015 Thank you for your feedback, I will relay this back to my head chef to work on your concerns

Reviewed 18 October 2018

Returning from a recent trip to Aberdeen we were looking for a pitstop and chanced upon Dunnichen Stone. We parked up, entered, and were greeted by a friendly member of staff who sat us down immediately. There was a menu and a packed specials board,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ReviewChimp
Dunnichen, Manager at Dunnichen Stone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi ReviewChimp, Thank you for your recent feedback, The peperoni hot is one of our new pizzas and proved a big hit i'm sorry you felt disappointed with the size this is something I will bring up with the head chef.

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Stopped off here for a quick bit of tea as we’ve been here before & know it’s good value. Restaurant was very quiet, apart from a table of poker players we were the only guests. The waitress appeared to be very new. We were pointed...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ged1967
Dunnichen, Manager at Dunnichen Stone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi ged1967, Thank you for your recent feedback, I have taken all your comments on board and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

After a long day in the garden instead of cooking we decided to eat out on past experience we opted to visit dunnichen stone unfortunately the food was not quite up to the standards of our previous visit and the staff tried far too hard...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank John F
Dunnichen, Manager at Dunnichen Stone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John F, Thank you for your recent feedback. I take on board all you have said and will relay to my staff not to try too hard in the future.

Reviewed 3 October 2018

My wife and I stopped off for a break on our recent journey North at this establishment. We only had a drink but the staff were most welcoming and friendly. The place was spotless and ready for the lunchtime rush. The menu look good and...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank john_selkirk
Dunnichen, Manager at Dunnichen Stone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you John_selkirk for the lovely review we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
babe2purple
17 March 2018|
Answer
Response from I893HCstuarts |
Hi there we apologise for this sincerely and will change our times on our website. Apologies again
0
Votes
Invereil
30 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Diane G | Reviewed this property |
Dunnichenstone.forfar Yes they have an email & website, but it won't allow me to send on here. Look up their Facebook page
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing