We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Canny Man

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
Known for years as The Paraffin Lamp, this popular pub and restaurant has been extensively refurbished and relaunched as The Canny Man. Situated in Lugton, near Kilmarnock in Ayreshire, it is fast becoming a local favourite thanks to the welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff. The interior is a seamless blend of old and new, complete with traditional stone walls, wooden furniture, and modern patterned wallpaper. Head Chef Scott Neilson has put together a classic British menu, with some continental influences, and this is complemented by daily specials. With tasty steaks, oven-baked pizzas and some excellent fish dishes on offer, you'll be spoilt for choice. For lazy lunches,coffee and cakes
PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$23
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
200
116
40
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
200
116
40
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie potatoes cullen skink meringue black pudding soup cake pizza salmon ice cream the early bird menu sunday lunch family meal waiting staff staff were attentive lovely meal paraffin
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here in December for a quick lunch but although the food was good the same cannot be said for the service. Passing again yesterday we thought let’s give it a second chance. Unfortunately this time was worse, on arrival we asked for a table...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank gordon b
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The interior is fine but could probably do with a bit of updating. It was busy when we were there for a light lunch. We were once regulars but gave up on it a number of years ago because the service was so hit and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Kill0ch
manager c, Managing Director at The Canny Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kill0ch Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. My apologies your visit was not up to our usual standard. As you stated "it was busy" and therefor it took a little longer then it would usually take to make your sandwiches. Yours...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to have a short business Meeting, especially if you get the big leather sofa! Thanks to the staff for their courteous and attentative service.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank lindae259
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

I've been going to this restaurant for many years now. It's always hit the spot. The food is always spot on and it would be hard to fault it. However, unfortunately, the service has slipped drastically.. slow staff, waiting 20 to 30 minutes on courses...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank AxelEats
manager c, Managing Director at The Canny Man, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear AxelEats, Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor, I am sorry about the confusion with the soup during your recent visit, It was explained to you by the manageress, who also took your order that the lentil soup had run out and had...More

Reviewed 6 January 2019

We were led to believe that the establishment was to close, but on a recent visit we were assured that it was just a change of ownership. That indeed is good news, because in my opinion the venue is always fine. Friendly service and a...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank cliff3232016
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

We were staying in the area for Hogmanay and this place was recommended by our host. I booked a table a few weeks in advance for their new years day menu. The place is very welcoming and the food was delicious. Perfect end to our...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 474cerih
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

We were asked to sit in the middle section, which was fine. Food was lovely as were the staff. However there was a draft that hit your legs... This made the experience not as good as it could have been. We did mention it to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank lindae259
Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

Been a few times but found the food a bit lack luster as thou perhaps its not freshly made. decor quite tired and only one staff member to be seen so service wasnt the best

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank cbrownx1952x
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Have used this establishment many times and it never lets you down. We booked a lunch for four one in an electric wheel chair. It's ok for the chair but always book a table down stairs. We arrived but the staff had forgotten our booking....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Hampton1958
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Went with work colleagues for our christmas lunch lovely meal thoroughly enjoyed our lunch would recommend

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank june586
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Uplawmoor Hotel
278 reviews
2.07 miles away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
403 reviews
2.38 miles away
Bowfield Hotel & Country Club
1,110 reviews
3.89 miles away
Lynnhurst Hotel
1,007 reviews
5.97 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 120 nearby restaurants
Merito Dunlop
34 reviews
2.27 miles away
Burnhouse Manor Restaurant
64 reviews
2.38 miles away
The Loch House
629 reviews
4.25 miles away
The Mill House
413 reviews
4.31 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 37 nearby attractions
Caldwell Golf Club
12 reviews
1.58 miles away
Spier's School Grounds
16 reviews
2.53 miles away
Aura Health Spa
13 reviews
3.91 miles away
The Smugglers Inn
8 reviews
4.41 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mojom20
10 October 2015|
Answer
Response from 540AllanC540 |
Yes. It is surrounded by fields.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing