We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

the merlin

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
+44 131 447 4329
Website
Today
10:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Was not the cleanest of places but worse was to come I ordered a Chicken Cesar Salad when it arrived the soup plate looked liked it was meant for a lily pond with little gem lettuce leaves. The chicken was in cubes the same size as the croutons very few and the cesar sauce tasted like vinegar with a hint... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeggyCumming
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

I visited the Merlin twice over the festive period. Both dining experiences were ok. On both visits the tables were dirty and needing cleared. When placing our order at the bar, I mentioned that my table needed cleared. This was taken personally by the server and excuses on how busy they had been etc this made me feel slightly uncomfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank caggieking
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Came here with a few friends to watch the football a night midweek. Decent prices for drinks and a good atmosphere. Had food once before and it was adequately priced and of good quality. Will be back

Helpful?
Thank DGeezyFam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Went here for a bit of lunch, with colleagues from work. Service was good, but the food was very poor. Baked potato with Cajun chicken, a couple of bits of chicken, very poor. Would not recommend this place for food. Staff are nice, but the food.........???.

Helpful?
Thank gus m
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

Popped in for lunch , served immediately by pleasant smiling female bar staff. Fish & chips , nachos to share arrived about 15 minutes afterwards. Food was absolutely fine no complaints whatsoever, would return if back in area.

Helpful?
Thank jay87
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback .I will be sure to pass this positive feedback on to the staff at the next meeting . More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

We booked a table to enjoy a family meal, my 10 year old ordered the over 8 meatballs. Smallest portion in the world?! My chips were cold but ate them anyway as didn't want to make a fuss. The waitress cleared the table and dropped stuff off the plates onto the floor, she wasn't going to pick it up so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith L
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Hello , Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback although disappointing it is that you had such a poor experience. I believe I know who served you and who was on duty as I was told about it the next day by a member of staff. I can only apologies for the experience you had and... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

My wife and I have eaten here many times over the years, and not had a bad meal yet. They used to have chips that went hard as they cooled down, but they improved them. But I am sorry to say that they seem to be getting these chips back again. My wife was slower than me eating her meal,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob186525
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback and it's great to her that you've always had a enjoyable meal . I will be sure to pass on the feedback to the appropriate people in regards to the chips. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Nice big place with plenty of seating and parking round the back which is unusual in Morningside. Good menu and well stocked bar. Good service. Great for a shopping break.

Helpful?
Thank llilaclinds111
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your feedback and positive words to say about The Merlin . I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Went here for lunch on a cold Saturday afternoon. We were pretty hungry by the time we got there. The menu was pretty good and gave plenty of options. I really needed carbs so went for the lasagna and my other half had the chicken burger which was a chicken breast. The lasagna came with salad and garlic bread and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Breezyp393
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience at The Merlin. It's disappointing that you didn't find the meal to your liking . We pride ourselves on providing a good value menu with tasty meals . We have obviously not reached the standards we strive to achieve here and I will follow this... More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Found myself eating here on a Sunday afternoon, decent and friendly servers but the food is below average! I had the nachos with fajita chicken and it was dry and tasteless. Not worth visiting

Helpful?
Thank Firpark
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Hi, Firstly thank you for your feedback on your food experience.I apologies that you didn't enjoy your Nacho's, It's disappointing you found your nachos Dry and tasteless . It is one of our most popular dishes so I will be sure to take this on board and pass on this feedback to my Head Chef More 

Travellers who viewed the merlin also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to the merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 447 4329
Description
We are a pub that service good quality pub grub cooked from Fresh . We have ample seating and show sports regularly on our 5 screens.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the merlin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?