We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bar Roma - CLOSED

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$30 - US$50
CUISINES
Italian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours

Location and contact

Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
66
40
16
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
66
40
16
14
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2015

good food lovely staff polite/pleasant excellent value beatiful decor waiters like a laugh i ordered steak diane and it was the best ive tasted my husband had carabanara he commented it was lovely too. we both had a few vodkas, then finished our night with...More

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank sal132015
Reviewed 9 May 2014

nice bar area to wait on with nice chilled wine , didn't try the food but next time for sure ,staff very polite and happy to help with the menu

Date of visit: April 2014
Thank ANDREW C
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been using Bar Roma since the late 1980's for business and pleasure. I was just booking up the hotels for our next trip up and planning a table for 7 for after the rugby! Where else can you get fresh home made pasta,...More

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank davidfp1961
Reviewed 12 December 2013

It has closed down...the loss of an Edinburgh institution that my family and I used for nearly thirty years

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank Mrgrumpy_12
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have been eating (pizzas mainly) at the Bar Roma in Edinburgh for many, many years so it was a huge disappointment on my last visit to learn that it was closing. I don't live in Scotland anymore but whenever I visit, I try to...More

Date of visit: August 2013
2  Thank Kirkcaldy67
BebeCugini, Owner at Bar Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your very kind review, and let me say, probably the last one for Bar Roma! Yes, it's the end of an era! We are honoured that you chose our Restaurant to visit on your trips to Edinburgh, and thank you for your...More

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We don't live in Edinburgh but eat at Bar Roma whenever we're in Edinburgh. The food has always been reliably good, the staff helpful and friendly and the buzz on a Friday or Saturday evening tremendous. We will miss it.

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank cancerdoc
BebeCugini, Owner at Bar Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your review. Sorry we won't be here on your next visit unless it's real soon! Thank you for your loyal custom over the years and best regards from all the staff and management at Bar Roma - Arrivederci!!

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We come to Edinburgh every year and always stop at Bat Roma for a meal. We are never disappointed and the same went for this year. The staff are friendly and attentive, despite being very busy. Our food as usual was fresh and tasty. Shame...More

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank ebrington
BebeCugini, Owner at Bar Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for your very nice review. Very much appreciated! Thank you also for your custom over the years - we will miss so many of our regulars who have visited over the years! Arrivederci from all the Staff and Management of Bar Roma.

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Nothing special, mediocre food, snooty service, Calzone pizza dough was terrible! Salad basic and lack lustre. This place is suitable for hunger emergencies only.

Date of visit: August 2013
1  Thank Ellibelly1
BebeCugini, Owner at Bar Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Are you for real?!!! I doubt it!

Reviewed 14 August 2013

£10 for 2 course lunch, good value. Nice bruschetta & melon & Parma ham but the pizzas had that cheap mozzarella on top. Would pay more to have a top quality pizza. Nothing like the pizzas in Napoli! Used to frequent here years ago but...More

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank McAnnie1
BebeCugini, Owner at Bar Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

It's unfortunate some people don't appreciate good quality when they see it, because our mozzarella cheese on our pizzas is of the highest quality, and our regular customers praise them highly I can assure you!

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I've been to Bar Roma many times over the years, especially during the 1980's. My recent visit fell short of what I remember. I judge a restaurant on how satisfied I feel after three courses and unfortunately...I left feeling hungry. The food was great &...More

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank Grizzlepuss
BebeCugini, Owner at Bar Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Sorry you didn't feel full after your three course meal. Haven't had that complaint before. Glad though that you enjoyed what you had to eat, and thank you for recommending us to others in your review. Best regards.

View more reviews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing