We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rustom Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Indian, Asian, Healthy, Pakistani, Vegetarian Friendly

Location and contact

West End
0.7 miles from Edinburgh Castle
Improve this listing
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 06/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rustom Restaurant
Updated 06/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Healthy, Pakistani
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, BYOB
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
493
54
30
19
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
493
54
30
19
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb karahi poppadoms mixed grill rice curries prawns bread pakistani food best indian business lunch amazing food fantastic restaurant quality of food lovely meal visiting edinburgh spicy haymarket
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

yesterday I visited here with my friend and owner of this restaurant properly assist me. we ordered very delicious chicken curry. if I get the chance then again I will visit there.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

The owner was really lovely to chat. I asked for chai and he specially get it made. The service was great and the food was really good too. Would visit again.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went for early evening meal which we booked a table. Food so/so, lager in dirty glasses & flat. No napkins. Service pleasant with some staff, but not attentive. Requested bill twice to our waiter, waited 19 minutes & eventually just went to till area to...pay. Value for money 4.5/10; food 6/10, Service 3/10. Wouldn’t rush back.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant General Manager, Owner at Rustom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Stefand, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations this time, we assure you that will notify our staff about the customers' rights. We sincerely hope you consider returning...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Appalling !! and somewhat racist attitude from Yassar on the phone and in person . In fact it seemed that selling starters for takeaway is beyond this restaurant. which by it attitude and attire seems to hark back to the days of the British Raj....Really impatient. from the beginning and unfriendly , Ordered a starter and a nan which came to over £8.00 quad alone. When I asked whether they did Yogurt and note I didn't ask for free yogurt , he went off on a tangent. I asked whether the masala fish came with a small bit of salad again he thought I was asking for free stuff , it was beyond him to realise , I was asking so I would know whether to prepare my own or need to consider ordering an extra. When I got to the restaurant to collect the order , they immediately assumed I was a delivery driver and the first greeting wasn't "Good evening.( Apparently POC can't have times where they are off duty or be seen as equal customers ) It was order number. !! Then Yassar came over and almost squared up to me and ordered me to "sit down " !!! as I were his servant . When I challenged him he barked back "Customer coming !!!!! . I see so I wasn't a customer then and paying over £9 for a service is not a form of custom. I was standing by the open door way blocking no one and actually doing the Covid safe thing. When I got the food home it was disappointing. to say the least , Masala Fish like something out of Wetherspoons and there was only a garnish of spoilt herbs and a couple of stale onion rings that look like they were cut by a miser. I've eaten the same down South for a fraction of the price and far better quality and this was no Masala Fish. However I would stay away in the main to avoid the racial discrimination. if your a POC. As they only want to attract affluent WP and mugs at that. Think tourist trap.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Restaurant General Manager, Owner at Rustom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Veras, thanks for the taking time to write us a review. Coming up with concepts such as racial discrimination is something that we take extra care to avoid. Even if you read our reviews on Google or Tripadvisor, you would see that it is...More

Reviewed 15 April 2022 via mobile

A group of 5 of us came out for dinner last night Nice atmosphere, we didn’t have a table but one got set up quickly for us. Food was very nice and we were all impressedMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Restaurant General Manager, Owner at Rustom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Connorm, Thank you for taking the time to put us in a review. We are happy to hear that we could meet your expectation about the quality of food & service at Rustom Restaurant. We are looking forward to having you in our establishment...More

Reviewed 5 April 2022 via mobile

This place was such a find , food was delicious , very friendly and efficient service . Loved the ambience of the place and the BYOB option was fantastic .

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Restaurant General Manager, Owner at Rustom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Explore, Thank you for taking the time and recommending us. We appreciate your kind consideration, Hope to see you in our establishment very soon

Reviewed 23 March 2022

I was in edinburgh for three night .on my last night I visited Ruston restaurant .what a wonderful night I had .Best food ever tasted. Thanks Rustom ,obrigado

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant General Manager, Owner at Rustom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Qazii, Thanks for taking the time and putting us such valuable feedback! We cannot wait to have you in our establishment on your next visit to Edinburgh

Reviewed 22 March 2022

I would highly recommend Rustom this was our first time eating here last night, the restaurant was spotless, the staff could not do enough for us very attentive and the food was amazing, can't wait to go back, highly recommend the lamb Karachi

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant General Manager, Owner at Rustom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Janebilly, Thank you for taking the time and recommending us. We appreciate your kind consideration, Hope to see you in our establishment very soon

Reviewed 21 March 2022 via mobile

Highly recommended to book as the place was packed on Tuesday evening. Ambiance to the decor to the food to the service, top notch and food to compliment the service. It's always a plus point when you get recommended authentic dishes instead of standard indian...dishes. Had lamb brains (bheja fry) and rogani naan and afgani pilao.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant General Manager, Owner at Rustom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Mukesh, Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad to make your dining experience a pleasant one, looking forward to having you in our restaurant.

Reviewed 20 March 2022

My friend and I came here on Friday just passed for what was the first, and now will also be the last, time! Firstly, the service was grim. I tried to explain to the waitor on entering we had a booking, expecting him to ask...the name, but he cut me off mid-sentence to ask how many of us there were & then just pointed at a random table. If this is what you do, why even bother taking reservations? I wonder. Having sat down we were given an alcohol-only drinks menu which was somewhat miffing as i am extremely obviously quite pregnant. Despite this unhidden fact, the waitor came across rather irritated we didn't want any booze - presumably because soft drinks are cheaper. Strike one! After ordering the same waitor as earlier told me i wasn't ordering enough, and proceeded to try & tell me what to have instead. Advice to all, this is never a good idea. Once he finished i explained i was well aware that what i had picked was small, and that was the very reason i wanted it. He just stared at me, so I felt compelled to explain at the moment my stomach is a bit squashed - being 7 months pregnant and all - and i feel sick eating large portions atm. Frankly, it was nobodys business what i wanted to order or why and i was extremely hacked off at being put in a poisiton of trying to justify myself! Said fellow, now onto an offence-causing roll, went on to tell my friend she probably wouldn't like chicken on the bone and to order a similiar dish that came bone-less. Was this because he thinks women can't handle the reminder that meat was once a living creacher? Was he protecting her from the horrors of cutting around something solid on her plate? Did he know something about the bone chicken we didn't?? Who knew. She wasn't pleased, though. We were still eating our starter - popadoms and pickle tray - when the main arrived. Dubious waitor moved the pickle out of my reach to replace with my friends side salad as a central point. We thought this was a bit weird, since the sharing item was now by her elbow, but not nearly as odd as deciding to dump naan and a chapati on top of the (burnt) popadoms! As a result they become soggy. Nobody likes soggy popadoms. Curries were both quite bland, and when we (unsurprisingly) did not want dessert they handed us the bill before we could even ask, or my friend could even finish her drink. To top if all off she was up all night with stomach pains, and I spent 2 hours in the bathroom extremely ill between 3-5am. I can only conclude, as the single common denominator of our days, that this restaurant was the culprit. So, to conclude: underwhelming food. Poor service. Got very sick after eating... Would not recommend. There are so many great Indian restaurants in Edinburgh - but this is not one of them. Do yoursef a favour and avoid / save your money (and your toilet...)More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant General Manager, Owner at Rustom Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, At this time, we are really sorry to fail to meet your expectations. Since you are waiting for a baby, your body may be sensitive and we are really sorry to hear that...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in
industrial Britain had their most desirable
neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes.
Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest
citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind
grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel
crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and
sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Eliza House
476 reviews
.05 miles away
Haymarket Hub Hotel
652 reviews
.06 miles away
Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel
3,541 reviews
.06 miles away
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
92 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Khukuri Restaurant
965 reviews
.04 miles away
Pomo Pizzeria
183 reviews
.08 miles away
Chizuru Tei
358 reviews
.02 miles away
Los Amigos
434 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Mary's Cathedral
342 reviews
.14 miles away
Gladstone Memorial
11 reviews
.24 miles away
Edinburgh Scotland
6 reviews
.10 miles away
Wee Vault Edinburgh
5 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Happiness58862808255
16 December 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from restaurantGmanager | Property representative |
Hello thanks for your question, it is halal, and proper halal!
0
Votes
Trip44225164089
21 May 2021|
Answer
Response from AliBScotland | Reviewed this property |
Dont think so, we had to climb some steps from the pavement to enter the restaurant.
0
Votes
Henna A
12 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from AbsoluteImagey | Reviewed this property |
I only saw street parking. We walked there from our hotel.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rustom Restaurant

Yes, Rustom Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, Rustom Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Rustom Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5