We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jam House

#1,341 of 1,935 Restaurants in Edinburgh
££ - £££British
5 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JE, Scotland
+44 131 220 2321
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good16%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible17%
8 Jul 2018
“Drinks”
8 Dec 2017
“Dance the night away”
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JE, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Can’t say enough, was the most entertainment & great dinner, you could ask for, Scottish dancing, singing, music. Made our first night in Scotland really special

1  Thank Addie1960
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

i would definently recommend the jam house if u love music and like to let us hair down and dance.been here a few times when visiting edinburgh and always had a great time

3  Thank jamali_11
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

I have been in here before for dinner as well. It was very good. Live band playing who where very good. Bar staff pleasant. Drink a bit pricey Bacardi and coke £4.95. It started to get busy around 11 pm . First time I have...More

2  Thank rmden64
Reviewed 1 May 2018

I really can not recommend Jam house. Why? You need to pay a deposit on your order. If you are in a group of more than 10 people you are obliged to pay a service fee but that should be demonstrated by them when order...More

1  Thank Solara56
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi there, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here with us. We have passed your comments on to our staff members for betterment. We wish you would have asked to speak to someone from the management team on the...More

Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We got a voucher for Christmas which was a set menu with a glass of wine. We were seated near the dancefloor which was very dark and grubby looking,menu had a good choice but food was bland. Cuterly was dirty looking and the service was...More

3  Thank NicolaJLM10
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the service you have received was poor and that you did not enjoy our food. Your comments will be taken on board for this years festive period. We would like to invite...More

Reviewed 4 January 2018

A party of four. We went here on New Year's Eve. We paid £65/head which you would expect to pay on this particular evening. I have some dietary requirements so I phoned ahead and spoke to the chef who assured me he would make some...More

2  Thank Lesley K
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback and comments. It upsets us to hear that you experience for new year wasn't great. The reason the staff were setting up a table nearby is because there had been previous diners at it and we had to...More

Reviewed 8 December 2017

If you want to dance and listen to live l music this is the place to go. Food is also avaiable but haven't eaten here so can't comment

3  Thank 797carolp
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi there, Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us. Hopefully see you again some time in the future! Kind regards,

Reviewed 19 November 2017

Hated every minute in this overpriced hovel. Just don't go there. Unfriendly and dirty establishment.

1  Thank hamishisbrilliant
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi there, Thank you for your comment. Please email your complaint to edinburgh@thejamhouse.com and we will take the matter further. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Visited this place a couple of nights ago for the first time. We went to see Wishbone Ash who were brilliant. We booked a table on the balcony so we could have a meal before the main act started, unfortunately the service was horrendous. We...More

5  Thank jillybbl
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Fantastic night... Booked here to specifically see the real thing. Got a great table on the balcony overlooking the stage and floor. Service and food was very good. Our server was Adam. Great bubbly personality. A real credit to your venue. I found the whole...More

8  Thank stene_12
TheJamHouseEdinburgh, Manager at The Jam House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Stene, Thank you very much for your kind words! We take pride in having approachable and helpful staff members so I'm very glad this has come across. We have passed on your compliments to Adam also. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable...More

Nearby
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town,
until after dark when strappy dresses come out to
play. This is the city’s central business district
with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many
of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest
clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street
helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned
Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 151 hotels in Edinburgh
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
1,874 reviews
.08 miles away
The Royal Scots Club
1,143 reviews
.09 miles away
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
1,834 reviews
.10 miles away
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
919 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Tani Modi
269 reviews
.07 miles away
The Pakora Bar
303 reviews
.08 miles away
Papii
833 reviews
.07 miles away
Bramble Bar & Lounge
400 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Scottish National Portrait Gallery
2,422 reviews
.11 miles away
Melville Monument
27 reviews
.15 miles away
The Royal Palace
12 reviews
.10 miles away
Open Eye Gallery
7 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Steven M
8 August 2018|
Answer
Response from TheJamHouseEdinburgh | Property representative |
Hi there, no we don't have any non alcoholic beers. We can make mocktails however and have a vast range of soft drinks to chose from.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$52
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Friday
18:00 - 03:00
Saturday
18:00 - 03:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > New Town
  • Neighbourhood: New Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 220 2321
  • E-mail
Description
The Jam House is your one stop destination for food, drink, and live music.Dusky purple lights cast romantic shadows on the walls of this funky, jazz-centric venue. Guests dine on the balcony above the main stage where soulful musicians entertain throughout the evening. This is one venue where you can eat, drink and dance to your heart's content!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing