We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon

#1,513 of 1,874 Restaurants in Edinburgh}
££ - £££, British,
Edinburgh Airport | Unit C170 Airside, Edinburgh EH12 9DN, Scotland
+44 131 344 3030
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good26%
  • Average32%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (6 reviews)
“haggis” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Edinburgh Airport | Unit C170 Airside, Edinburgh EH12 9DN, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

After sitting at a table for at least 10 minutes I asked two 'waiters' who were standing chatting to each other if that was their job (chatting) or if they would take my order. They promptly looked at me as if I was an alien...More

Thank Keith W
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, we are not a table service restaurant. However, we do train our staff to deliver the best customer service possible and obviously this hasn't happened, so thank you for bringing it to our attention. We now have an app...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

This branch of Wetherspoons needs a visit from head office. My experience was as follows. I walked in and asked a staff member if I should sit at any table for food. I sat down and staff ignored me for a while until I waved...More

Thank Howard M
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. J D Wetherspoons is a self-service restaurant and whilst we understand that individual travellers can't leave luggage unattended, we do try to assist where we can. J D Wetherspoons now do a mobile ordering app which is available to download...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We come in here before a flight. I must say very disappointed. We got bacon roll and sausage roll. Bacon fine my sausage roll had a large hair in it. I took it back said sorry I got another one. I will think twice about...More

Thank Rhonda D
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We have passed your feedback with regards to your food to the kitchen team so that this looked into and ensure that it doesn't happen again for you or any customer. Thanks...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Was flying back from Edinburgh and had an hour to kill. Pub was ok and busy but the table I got was dirty. Food and bar service were quick but prices high.More

Thank St_matty
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your food and that the service was quick. We do use a fair pricing policy which is reviewed regularly. This allows us to be one of the more fairer price outlets in...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Staff were appalling and rude. Food expensive and cold. Tables and chairs forced close together and no room to move in between. I waited stood at our table and asked the table next to us if there food was ok. Rude and shocking! Would not...More

Thank ArishaIsabella
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear about your experience, but please be assured that this feedback has been passed back to both the bar and kitchen team. Apologies again for this and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Got some drinks and ordered food, within 10 mins had what we ordered and was delicious. Really busy and some people are quite rude to staff, I found them very helpful.More

Thank JWood50
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear that you got your food and drinks fast and that you enjoyed them. We do unfortunately on occasion get the rude customer, but it keeps things interesting for us and we train our staff...More

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Knowing what you get with a Weatherspoon bar, which can usually depend on your location but normally involves a hearty and reasonably inexpensive meal, we decided to eat here before our flight. However, straight away upon ordering we were told that there were no more...More

Thank Greg W
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience and the quality of the food you received. Please be assured that we have passed this feedback to our kitchen team to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you again for letting...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We visited for breakfast before an early flight yesterday. £3.85 for a scrambled egg roll, which barely had any scrambled egg on it. Shocking. The large breakfast is about £9.50 which is double the high street price. So greedy. Be sure to take your credit...More

Thank Abi S
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks for your comments. We are happy to hear that we met your expectations with regards to the speed of service. We do have a fair pricing policy which is reviewed regularly. This allows us to be one of the more fairer priced outlets in...More

Reviewed 1 October 2017

We had an early trans-Atlantic departure, so got to the airport very early. Had a very nice breakfast at this pub-like restaurant. The full breakfast was quite good as was the yoghurt-ganola combination. The regular coffee was extremely weak. But the caffè latte was fine....More

Thank fred_cameron
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback whether it's good and/or bad. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts and your latte. We will look into your feedback with regards to the standard coffee. If you are using us or...More

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Nice place... Good food came quickly, was hot and tasted good! Service was fast and friendly Would recommend

Thank Springer16
SirWalterScott, Manager at The Sir Walter Scott - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that we met your expectations and for recommending us. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
All Bar One
102 reviews
.11 miles away
Costa Coffee
83 reviews
.04 miles away
Caffe Nero
10 reviews
.10 miles away
The Space
18 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Xtreme Karting and Combat Edinburgh
344 reviews
1.85 miles away
Dundas Castle
22 reviews
2.68 miles away
Edinburgh Trams
529 reviews
.13 miles away
Aspire Lounge
217 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michael M
6 July 2017|
Answer
Response from MWBee | Reviewed this property |
Sorry...I don't know if they do. They seem to have most things.
0
Votes
ritchie02
27 November 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Gypsylola1
8 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Lesleyjoh |
About £8 for traditional
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
04:00 - 21:00
Monday
04:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
04:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
04:00 - 21:00
Thursday
04:00 - 21:00
Friday
04:00 - 21:00
Saturday
04:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Edinburgh Airport | Unit C170 Airside, Edinburgh EH12 9DN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 344 3030
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Turnhouse Airport (after security)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing