We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery

#1,153 of 1,884 Restaurants in Edinburgh}
££ - £££, British,
18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
+44 131 337 1844
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“steak pie” (8 reviews)
“haggis” (10 reviews)
“soup” (8 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We were here a few days ago, I thought my sister and friend who were visiting our new place, would like the menu. If I had read some of the negative reviews I might have reconsidered. However, how glad I am that I didn't as...More

Thank RoseAnna H
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Lovely place to eat. We had a nice table by the window. The service was good and the food was great. I had the steak pie and it was very good and there was lots of it (I couldn't finish my portion). I would definitely...More

Thank LouisaScottish
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We were in a hurry but also very hungry. It didnt seem to have many choices nearby, and we decided to pop in when we saw the Bothy. We were welcomed in, and as we mentioned our situation, the gentleman there decided we could have...More

Thank VincentiaJoyce
64manager, Manager at The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Vicentia, Thank you for your feedback. I believe you dealt with Andy, our breakfast champion, he is great and very helpful and takes good care from all our guests. I will pass your feedback to him. Looking forward to see you again at the...More

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We booked here with ease, when we arrived we were shown to the table quickly. We would have been as well sitting in the laps of the customers to our right side as the table was so close, no privacy at all. Drinks order...a pint...More

Thank Ldouglas85
64manager, Manager at The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Ldouglas85, Thank you very much for your review online and taking your time to let us know your point of view from your last visit. I would pass your feedback to the kitchen team regarding your food experience (the good and the bad) and...More

Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were warned by two groups of friends that the food was awful. Unfortunately, and mistakenly, I thought that it couldn't be that bad - I was wrong. In the case of the burger I had ordered, I had always thought that burgers were made...More

Thank richard k
64manager, Manager at The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Hello Richard, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review from your past experience. I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your last visit to the Murrayfield Hotel and with regards to the burger I can assure you that our patties are home...More

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Sorry to say had a terrible lunch here. We had to send both plates back - the feta salad had errr no feta and my Spanish omelette had goats cheese in it. Fine if it had been advertised as such as I would not have...More

Thank Vixen2208
64manager, Manager at The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Vixen, First of all, thank you for your review online and my apologies about your experience on your last visit. I will pass the feedback to the rest of the team and address it accordingly. If you wish to discuss further or make an...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Came here for our date night while on holiday. Really enjoyed it. The food was amazing. We even joined in with the pub quiz (we didn't win) Was a bit disappointed we wasn't allowed in to see the Bagpipes, was told its for American and...More

Thank Michelle K
64manager, Manager at The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Michelle, Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate the feedback. The reason about not seeing the bagpipes is because the show was part of a private function and was hired exclusively for them, I'm sorry about that. We are looking...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016

One of the poorest meals I have eaten this year. As I have coeliac disease I require gluten free food and they were informed on booking. The choices were minimal. The chips were coated in flour so offered a steak with mashed potato. Had bland...More

Thank Rosemary M
64manager, General Manager at The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Rosemary, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent dining experience with us; we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. Here at The Bothy we aim to provide quality food in a comfortable and friendly environment; I...More

Reviewed 4 August 2016

Service more enthusiastic than skilful. V good food at reasonable prices. Some nice touches (e.g. baby haggis!).More

Thank billturn
64manager, Director of Sales at The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Hello Billturn, Thank you very much for your review. It helps the team to know in what areas we are working well and which ones we need to improve. We do appreciate your custom and looking forward to welcome you back at the Murrayfield Hotel....More

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Went for dinner with my partner as hadn't been for a while and to say we were disappointed is an understatement the service was poor and the food equally as bad. The beer choice was abysmal nothing in stock and the waiter didn't have a...More

Thank ScubasueEdinburgh
64manager, Director of Sales at The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Hello ScubasueEdinburgh, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies about your last experience with us. Could I please ask you for a review to be more in detail? So with that we can try to address the problem properly and make the pertinent...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Skerries Restaurant
174 reviews
.56 miles away
Hampton hotel
83 reviews
.03 miles away
roseburn cafe
32 reviews
.38 miles away
Cafe Presko
10 reviews
.64 miles away
Nearby Attractions
BT Murrayfield Stadium
616 reviews
.26 miles away
Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art Two (Dean Gallery)
478 reviews
.87 miles away
Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One
329 reviews
.72 miles away
Tynecastle Stadium
170 reviews
.67 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bothy Restaurant and Drinkery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 337 1844
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Murrayfield Hotel and House
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing