We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
ting-thai CARAVAN restaurant for all ages, tasty Thai food and drinks in a funky space with lively atmosphere and all for an affordable price. Best to get there early to avoid disappointment as it fills quickly, a popular day and nightspot.
PRICE RANGE
£5 - £10
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Thai
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Takeout, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Non-smoking restaurants
Reviews (1,246)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
620
307
104
52
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
620
307
104
52
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food coconut rice roti prawns duck sea bass salad small boxes worth the wait sweet potato yam fringe scotland
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very tasty food for very little money - and the only time on the whole holiday that we were not disappointed. Save the Scottish "gourmet" restaurants and spend the money on beer instead.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are in Edinburgh going for low-budget meals. We found a gem! Food was great, service was great. If you want to have a low budget meal with great portions, please try. Super close to royal mile too.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered crispy tofu. Served rancid tasting greasy bits on a bed of wet salad with cheap chilli sauce. Really disgusting.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai, Owner at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, sorry your experience with our tofu was an unpleasant one. Its an old trusty when it comes to our small boxes. I will certainly pass this feedback on though, always looking to improve! Thanks

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in at lunch time, menu choices were ok, Husband asked for extra spicy and it wasn't but it was still very nice (think he had a panang). I had a prawn starter and simple noodles as I wasn't hungry but they were very nice....You would think noodles just taste the same but these were different and fresh tasting. Was very impressed we have it penciled in as our go-to place next time we visit. Tables were kept clean, toilet could have done with a tidy up and liked the addition of self service water. Price was a good price for us a we are on a budget, didn't feel ripped off like most places round here. We will come back.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2024 via mobile

Rude waiter. Asked 3 times in the space of 5 minutes what we wanted to order. Extremely sharp and arrogant tone. Won’t be coming back.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai, Owner at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2024

Hello there Keith, Andy the GM here. Thanks for letting us know how your experience was, and I do apologise it wasn't a good one. I hope the rude waiting staff was the only problem with your meal. This date aligns pretty much perfect with...More

Reviewed 18 March 2024

We had an extremely disappointing experience today. Myself and my friend ordered the same meal, one being vegan for me and beef for my friend. Upon inspection I realised that my tofu looked extremely like beef, after my friend trying them both she concluded that...mine was in fact beef. I politely told the waitress that she swapped the meals over and she apologised and told me she will take it off the bill. I was more than happy with that response, mistakes happen. However, when the bill came over I asked if my meal was taken off the bill and he said no. After this I am guessing the manger came over and asked us what the problem and I explained the situation and that the original waitress told us she would take it off the bill. The manger said that that can’t happen as I didn’t actually eat the beef and that the chefs made it and she can offer us a half refund. This took us all aback as not only is she going back on their word but she attempted to excuse their actions by saying that they were not at fault as I didn’t eat it, She gave us the full refund however we were told it would happen “just this once” and cut my friend off mid sentence and walked away when she was trying to thank her.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai, Owner at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Hi there Olivia, Andy the GM here, we never like to see one star reviews, so I will certainly look into this for you. From what has been explained it perhaps seems that you got your friends meal and your friend got yours. A quick...More

Reviewed 8 March 2024

Student vibes. Great food for really good prices and good portion sizes! Great fast service and I love that they have water jugs with a refil tap by the tables.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic value lunch. Food was delicious. Ordered the Panang curry, pad Thai and mixed starter. All very tasty and more than generous portion sizes. Staff friendly, would definitely return. Strongly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

Can't give enough compliments. Everything was amazing. I had prawn starter and seabass main and it was incredible. Great value for money and great service.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai Caravan, General Manager at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

What a lovely review. Thank you so much, Kathryn T. Hope to see you again soon. Best, Ting Thai Team

Reviewed 9 February 2024

Really nice restaurant but be ready to share a table with strangers as it was very busy and would not take bookings. Food was good and staff were knowledgeable and efficient

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai Caravan, General Manager at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Hi 69roystonm. Glad you enjoyed it. See you soon again. Best, Ting Thai Team

Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Went in here early on a Saturday evening no need to book just walk in and be seated, all the staff were lovely and friendly and very helpful with advice on the dishes, all the food we ordered was excellent and very tasty and well...presented,excellent value for money for both food and drinksMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai Caravan, General Manager at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

What a fantastic review, D668SJgaryp. Very glad you liked it. Hope to see you soon again. Best, Ting Thai Team

Reviewed 15 January 2024

Food here is fresh and tasty. Visited on numerous occasions and will definitely return. Staff friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai Caravan, General Manager at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

A fantastic review! Thank you. Hope to see you again soon! Best, Ting Thai Team

Reviewed 18 December 2023 via mobile

Best pad thai in Edinburgh!! I have been here and to the one on Lothian road multiple times and they never disappoint - perfect for a casual lunch or dinner with friends! So affordable for the quality of food, would recommend! The music they place...is quite loud but not a massive problem for me.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai Caravan, General Manager at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! Hope to see you again soon. Best, Ting Thai Team

Reviewed 16 December 2023 via mobile

Great food, but VERY noisy for two people in their late fourties a friday night. Very loud music and hard to communicate. You must also count on being placed at a long table, with other people. We recommend take-away, because the food is great. We...had red curry, green curry and vegetables. And very nice waitors.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai Caravan, General Manager at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Hi Ceciliemg! Thanks for the lovely review. Hope to see you again soon. Best, Ting Thai Team

Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

Great food for a reasonable price. Tastes like it does in thailand! Lost a star because you have to get water yourself from a tap, I know the style is casual but when I'm eating in a restaurant I think that it is the service...staffs job to bring any food and drinks to the table, including water. Will definitely return, just some constructive criticism about the water.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ting Thai Caravan, General Manager at Ting Thai Teviot Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Hi 965kanem, Thrilled to see you loved the food and looking forward to having you back. I hear what you are saying about the water. The casual service style is how we have always done things, but I'll bring your concerns to the people in...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro
1,833 reviews
.04 miles away
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
1,482 reviews
.17 miles away
Stay Central Hotel
2,116 reviews
.19 miles away
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
3,600 reviews
.23 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Doctors
1,722 reviews
.04 miles away
Tupiniquim Brasil crepes
293 reviews
.06 miles away
Union of Genius
289 reviews
.05 miles away
Namaste Kathmandu Restaurant
771 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
National Museum of Scotland
22,388 reviews
.11 miles away
Greyfriars
875 reviews
.10 miles away
Greyfriars Kirk
1,410 reviews
.12 miles away
Greyfriars Bobby
3,007 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sunshinelove74
3 October 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 990biad | Reviewed this property |
A bit of a struggle, I guess.
0
Votes
SamUK1
1 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Fiona E | Reviewed this property |
No bookings taken, but hardly had to wait
1
Vote
Nicoletta D
22 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ysafood | Reviewed this property |
No. The place is pretty crowded haha
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TING THAI TEVIOT PLACE, Edinburgh - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ting Thai Teviot Place

Yes, Ting Thai Teviot Place offers takeaway services.

Ting Thai Teviot Place is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4