We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanam's Middle East Restaurant

3 Johnston Terrace | Near Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
+44 131 225 1329
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“hummus” (115 reviews)
“rice” (124 reviews)
“shawarma” (45 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 Johnston Terrace | Near Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Visited Edinburgh for 3 days and ate here for two nights. We liked it so much the first time that we decided to revisit. Excellent food Lamb Sharma delicious. The breads the serve are delicious as are all the dips. I would recommend this place...More

Thank Seasonedtravellers68
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Be adventurous, listen to the staff when choosing your meal, and you will not regret it. We were impressed by both the ambiance and the attentiveness of the young team, but it is the food that excels. Excellent in every respect. Bring your own drinks...More

Thank Chunkyunky
Reviewed 3 days ago

Once again we visited Hanam's Restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food was fantastic as usual, staff incredibly friendly. Well done Hanam's and thank you for a wonderful evening.

Thank William D
Reviewed 5 days ago

We returned to Hanam's after our last visit three years ago. Prices seem to have increased sharply but food quality remained good. We had the Mushakal Kebab Iranian style and the Qozy Lamb. The flavour of the kebab was excellent but maybe a tad overseasoned...More

Thank C Y
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really awful experience tonight with a stressed out manager. Big guy with sweat pouring down him was shouting at me while querying a mistake on my bill - ended up giving me too much change and swearing, really nasty guy. The staff downstairs couldn't have...More

Thank ChrisL33590395
Jamal-Owner, Owner at Hanam's Middle East Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'd like to make sure that our other lovely customers know the full story here Chris. You know that we've previously informed you every time you come, that you must purchase an item of food or drink with your Shisha. You however, feel that you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Admittedly, haven't been in ages, but what a fantastic meal. I love getting half a dozen starters and sharing, it's fantastic service, food and atmosphere. Brilliant.

Thank DavidWatt93
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lunch here and we ordered 2 falafel wraps and 2 chicken shawarma and a bottle of table water- we were charged roughly £50!! Extortionate for what we had. We couldn't believe it.More

Thank Tired247Always
Jamal-Owner, Owner at Hanam's Middle East Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We're sorry you feel you didn't have good value for money. However we feel that paying £50 for very generous portioned meals for 4 people, in a large restaurant right in the heart of the city of Edinburgh, beside Edinburgh Castle, with stunning views over...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My favourite eating place. Doesn't serve alcohol but the elderberry is brilliant. Food was first class and plenty of it. This is not a donor kebab but the proper way to have meat cooked. Service was excellent. Well worth a visit

Thank georged1232017
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been to this restaurant a couple of times with work colleagues. Food is excellent, great choice and very tasty. It's BYOB which is always a bonus and the staff are so friendly - definitely recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back

Thank Heather C
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my family's favorite restaurant in Edinburgh for our long weekend. Service was great. Food was hot, served quickly and tasted amazing. Upgrade to the pomegranate and berry rice. So good. Just too stuffed!

Thank Gtravelgirl
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Nearby Restaurants
The Grain Store
850 reviews
.02 miles away
Oink
1,913 reviews
.01 miles away
Mariachi
725 reviews
.02 miles away
Amber Restaurant at the Scotch Whisky Experience
809 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Scotch Whisky Experience
4,224 reviews
.06 miles away
Edinburgh International Festival
53 reviews
.02 miles away
Castlehill
44 reviews
.05 miles away
Edinburg Castle Esplanade
9 reviews
.04 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
holding80
18 February 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Jenn W | Reviewed this property |
I went there while on a gluten free diet and found plenty of options. Just be careful of the rice as I think it has vermicelli or some other kind of noodle in it.
0
Votes
VICTORIAFife
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Jamal-Owner | Property representative |
The vouchers are valid for 1 year.
1
Vote
VICTORIAFife
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Jamal-Owner | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we do. You can buy them securely online at our website. Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$26
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Johnston Terrace | Near Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Old Town
  • Neighbourhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 225 1329
  • E-mail
Description
Set in the heart of Edinburgh is Hanam's Kurdish and Middle Eastern Restaurant and if you think that's a mouthful, wait until you see what on offer! Voted one of Britain's Top 5 Middle Eastern Restaurants by the Telegraph, owner Ahmed ensures the personal touch, by being there seven days a week to offer advice and banter. The menu offers starters such as falafel and baba ghanoush, main courses that include Kurdish pizzas, vegetarian casseroles and halal meat dishes, such as Kurdish-style lamb biryani. There are also a selection of shish kebabs and desserts. Three courses from this banquet-like menu will cost an average of just £20 per person. And, if you're so inclined, you can even smoke a traditional hookah after your meal.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing