We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sweet Chestnut

Sweet Chestnut 11 Fife Leisure Park Whimbrel Place, Dunfermline KY11 8EX, Scotland
+44 1383 734103
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good28%
  • Average20%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (42 reviews)
“cake” (13 reviews)
“carvery meal” (13 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sweet Chestnut 11 Fife Leisure Park Whimbrel Place, Dunfermline KY11 8EX, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 602 reviews

Reviewed today

My scotch pie was undercooked by the chef therefore i will not be back to have a scotch pie again unfortunately.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank EJStewart123
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice restaurant in a good area the food was excellent we had a carvery which was very good value for the money

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank KAM123959
SweetC96, General Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback we really appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Greg

Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended with my wife, daughter and her boyfriend on Boxing Day. The starters were delicious and of an appropriate size. We all ordered steak which amazingly all arrived cooked to perfection and hot. The sweets were also delicious. I enjoyed the staff friendliness especially Bob...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Bill G
SweetC96, General Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for taking time to leave us some great feedback we really appreciate it. I'm glad the food was to your liking and my team looked after you. See you again soon Greg

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the restaurant on the recommendation of family but we're really disappointed. Half the menu wasn't available and when some of the food was delivered it was overcooked and not nice. We had a look at the carvery and everything there was dried out...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank phillandmaggie
SweetC96, Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback, I'm sorry the food was not up to our usual standard on your recent visit. I will pass this onto my chefs and managers who were on that night to ensure this does not happen...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived we were shown to our table waitress asked if we had order pigs in blankets we said no but if you did you’ll have to pay extra .,! We had salmon starter ok but very small portion .For main course we both...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Elvinjenny
SweetC96, Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback. I am so sorry our Christmas dinner was not up to standard when you were in. I will pass all your feedback onto all the team that was in to make sure this does not...More

Reviewed 12 December 2018

My wife and I have used this restaurant on numerous occasions mainly on a Sunday. We were in te area yestarday so decided to have a carvery lunch. The meals on a Sunday are superb, yesterday was completely different, we stood at he door along...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank PWH51
SweetC96, General Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you so much for taking time to leave us some feedback. I am sorry our midweek carvery is not up to the same standard as a Sunday I will pass your feedback onto my head chef to make sure our carvery is fantastic...More

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Visited with my friend for a catch up. We both ordered fish & chips with mushy peas. Very large portion! Fish was crispy and not too oily. Chips were dry and cold as if they'd been lying a while. So were left. Apple pie and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank zimboandcaz
SweetC96, Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Hi, Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback we really appreciate it. I will pass on your feedback to my head chef to ensure our food is cooked to standard and that are chips are hot every time. If there is ever an...More

Reviewed 22 November 2018 via mobile

Delicious meals. Small carvery plate was huge! Selection was great. Veg was plentiful. Meats were all delicious too. Great service. Drinks were a bit expensive for refill coke but overall meal was great

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank sw7242
SweetC96, General Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Hi, Thank you for taking time to leave us some amazing feedback. I will pass this on to the team as I'm sure they will appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon Thanks Greg

Reviewed 18 November 2018

Been here a few times previously and although it's nothing spectacular it's usually ok. Tonight though it really wasn't good. Seven of us went for a family meal. Minutes after ordering someone came to the table to say they had run out of salmon so...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Daisy5678
SweetC96, Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2018

Hi, Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent visit to us here at the Sweet Chestnut. I'm sorry your visit was below par and I will be looking into this today to see what happened when you were in and...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018

Went for lunch with a friend. We both had the carvery as she is Gluten Free and knows this is safe for her. The food could have been a bit hotter. I had beef and it was very tender. The server was very helpful as...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Margaret56_13
SweetC96, Manager at Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Hi, Thank you for taking time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent visit. I will pass your feedback onto my head chef to rectify this asap. Many Thanks Greg

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Dunfermline
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
599 reviews
.21 miles away
Travelodge Dunfermline
330 reviews
.44 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
448 reviews
.69 miles away
Garvock House Hotel
331 reviews
1.93 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Pantry & Kitchen at The Hideaway
322 reviews
.81 miles away
Nando's - Fife
167 reviews
.13 miles away
Frankie & Benny's
464 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Fife Leisure Park
54 reviews
.05 miles away
Adventure Golf Island
217 reviews
.13 miles away
Odeon Cinema
81 reviews
.14 miles away
Bannatyne Health Club & Spa - Dunfermline
79 reviews
.15 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gordon C
27 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gordon C |
I know that it's a restaurant. But you can also book rooms there, just as Premier Inn.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sweet Chestnut 11 Fife Leisure Park Whimbrel Place, Dunfermline KY11 8EX, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  Dunfermline
  • Phone Number: +44 1383 734103
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing