We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Ham's Hame is St Andrews' newest 19th hole - set by the 18th green of the world's most famous golf course and adjacent to the revered Royal & Ancient Golf Club.Opened in 2013, our newest Pub and Grill is a fabulous venue offering outstanding Scottish cuisine that showcases the best ingredients – seafood landed on the harbours of the East Neuk's fishing villages, carefully selected pork, lamb, beef, game and poultry reared by award-winning producers across Scotland … as well as seasonal fruits and vegetables chosen for their flavour from farms, some of which overlook St Andrews. Food served from 7am.
PRICE RANGE
£6 - £25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Free off-street parking, Wine and Beer, Beach, Dog Friendly, Family style, Non-smoking restaurants, Sports bars
Reviews (454)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
188
138
59
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
188
138
59
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger fish and chips soup salmon andrews st hole bowl clubhouse scotland
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Fantastic food and excellent service, the venue is beautiful. The only minor remark is kids portion sizes are rather large for little diners in my opinion, my 7 year old son has good appetite but was full after the starter, barely touched main and didn't...even have space for a desert! Perhaps smaller portions at half a size with a reduced price tag would be more appropriate; or if staff can explain in advance that portions are big so simply one starter or one main is more than enough. Other than that this place is a gem.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

WARNING. If you decide to order the “3 sides for £11” you must inform your server at the time of ordering. Yes, apparently saying to a server that you “want to order 3 sides please” means that they’ll insist on charging each item individually because...you weren’t explicit in telling them you were ordering the deal off the menu. Similarly, they advertise a honey & pineapple Margarita cocktail but if you ask for a classic margarita, you’ll be charged the individual spirit prices resulting in a charge 25% more because it’s not a featured cocktail (no mention of this at time of ordering). There are so many friendly places to eat and drink in St Andrews but with these jobsworths in operation behind the bar, we’ll never darken the door of this place again.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Dear Michael S, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am extremely disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your visit & you received a lapse of service. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, to allow us to restore your...More

Reviewed 5 December 2023 via mobile

We had a family get together , food was delicious especially the fish and chips , staff were friendly and very attentive , we will return 😊More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Dear Fearless763850 Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit to Hams Hame Pub & Grill, at the Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa. I am pleased to hear you experienced a taste of our 5* hospitality. We hope to...More

Reviewed 21 September 2023 via mobile

Conveniently located in St. Andrews, we came here for an early meal on a Monday night. Family of four plus dog. Staff here were brilliant. Brought out a bowl of water for the dog right when we arrived and were attentive and friendly throughout the...evening. The kitchen muddled up one of our orders so the staff were incredible apologetic and rectified quickly. Sadly the food left a lot to be desired. The menu is extensive so you’ll find something for everyone, but found the quality of the food sub par. The burger was wayyyy over cooked and chewy and the chips were very very oily. Likely not be back again on account of the food quality of the food unfortunately. Nice beers on tap though.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Dear Foodgoorou,  Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Hams Hame.   I am deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us I will make sure to pass your comments on to our relevant team...More

Reviewed 18 September 2023

Fantastic spot for lunch. Food well cooked and priced fairly for the location. Ambiance very chilled and great service. Would recommend and would visit again.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Dear T3228DOdenisew, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your visit to Hams Hame. I am pleased our team managed to make your visit so special.  We hope to see you again in the future Tara Assistant Food &...More

Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

Great venue, very nice and helpful staff, fine selection of drinks on offer but food well below par in the home of golf. 3 couples, starters fine though nothing exceptional, only one main hit the mark: kedgeree although could have done with more fish. Cod...and chips apparently okay but 3 Mac&cheese were 🤮. New recipe apparently and staff were great but not what we hoped for when setting out for dinner. Disappointed but seems to be the theme in local eateries at the moment.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Dear Tour08361697918, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hams Hame Pub & Grill. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit and that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, however we hope...More

Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

Two of us ate an early lunch. At first we were concerned by the lack of clientele but as the lunch time progressed the rooms filled to capacity. With a typical pub decor and a typical menu there was nothing memorable about the establishment other...than the staff, who were exceptionally friendly, able and willing. The lamb Flatbread was a goodly portion but missing the anticipated flavor, but the scotch broth was pretty good. That black and tan was at a perfect temperature. Located in the basement of the Old Course Hotel the ambiance was blah and there was no view.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Dear 22club58, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hams Hame Pub & Grill. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit and that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, however we hope...More

Reviewed 8 August 2023

Stopped in for lunch during my day trip tour to St. Andrews. Recommended by my tour guide. Food was excellent and atmosphere was great. Fast and friendly service. Convenient location directly across from the old course at St. Andrews.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Dear 747terryw, Thank you for your glowing review of your visit to Hams Hame, Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa. Ensuring all of our guests leave us with fond memories is at the very heart of what we stand for. I will certainly pass...More

Reviewed 7 August 2023 via mobile

Dropped in on Friday night with sergeant the staff were amazing , attentive and genuinely cared. The food we had was amazing piping hot and beautifully prepared There was not one single thing I could complain about Keep up the great work that was stunningMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Dear rd3audi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your visit to Hams Hame! I am pleased our team managed to make your visit so special & you experienced a taste of our 5* hospitality .  We hope to...More

Reviewed 29 July 2023 via mobile

My husband and I came here for anniversary dinner on our mini getaway to St. Andrews, and we were really happy with our choice. Everyone working there were very friendly and attentive, the food was great , I got the chicken Balmoral, and my husband...had the flat iron steak, we also had the bread platter to share and sticky toffee pudding for dessert. The portions are just right. They even gave us a little treat to celebrate our anniversary. Absolutely loved it here, and we will come back next time we’re in St. AndrewsMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2023

Dear Michelle C, Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Hams Hame. I am thrilled that you enjoyed everything from service and location to the food. I will pass your kind words onto the team who will be delighted, and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

My husband and I came for drinks today. It is a Lovely bar with great customer service. Specially Our waiter Matthew he is very friendly he went above and beyond .Offering us local knowledge and advice of places to visit during our trip at St...Andrews, Lovely service can’t wait to return.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Dear Chez167, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your visit to Hams Hame. I am pleased our team managed to make your visit so special.  I am delighted to hear your wonderful feedback on our associates, in particularly...More

Reviewed 4 July 2023

Fabulous place! The staff went above and beyond for us. They even fed the dog his lunch too. Our family spent a lovely hour in this fab restaurant. We asked if we could order something for the dog and they happily grilled him a chicken...breast. The lovely waitress brouught him water and his lunch in dog bowls. Our lunch was amazing and I can't recommend this place highly enough, especially if you have a canine member of the family. Brilliant staff and amazing food. 5 stars. Jane, Kev, Calum, Ross and Mack the American bulldog xcMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, Other at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2023

Dear Discover07211651140, Thank you very much for your kind words. It was our pleasure having you and looking forward to welcoming you back. We would love to have your family paw-members on our socials next time you come in! They would be stars! Kind Regards,...More

Reviewed 30 May 2023 via mobile

Pleasant pub conveniently located across from the Old Course at St Andrew’s. We were a sizable group of multiple families and friends and the staff did a credible job of accommodating our various needs. The fish and chips were awesome. Crispy flavorful fish and the...greenest freshest peas. Fair selection of beer on tap.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, General Manager at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Dear WickedWalt, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent experience at Hams Hame Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa. Excellence and service is one of our utmost priorities and ensuring all our guests leave us with the best of memories is at...More

Reviewed 12 April 2023 via mobile

Staying up in Scotland, walked past and liked the look of this place, thought it was nice that you can take your dog, booked for later on in the evening. We were very disappointed, we both had the mushroom stroganoff and it was like budgie...food, the portion was so small it was ridiculous, was very salty too, ordered a garlic bread each and it’s a good job we did as we would’ve still been hungry , garlic bread wasn’t up to much either, was hard and seemed greasy ! Came to £43 which we didn’t think was worth that, Staff were very nice and helpful and the place is cozy and nicely decorated. Just a shame as it’s very pricey to for the quality!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Food and Beverage Manager, General Manager at Hams Hame Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2023

Dear Jaascatch, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hams Hame Pub & Grill. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit and that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, however we hope...More

Reviewed 8 November 2022

We were looking for an easy dinner our first night in St. Andrews and found this on our walk. It fit the bill perfectly. Husband had a small steak and I had salmon. Service was relaxed and very friendly. I went back for my child...(potato soup) the next day.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Dunvegan Hotel
257 reviews
.07 miles away
Ardgowan Hotel
745 reviews
.09 miles away
Rusacks St. Andrews
629 reviews
.10 miles away
Hotel Du Vin
1,114 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Seafood Ristorante
1,695 reviews
.08 miles away
Haar Restaurant
618 reviews
.05 miles away
Playfair's Restaurant
1,048 reviews
.10 miles away
Ziggy's
835 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Eden Mill
1,023 reviews
.08 miles away
The Swilcan Bridge
815 reviews
.19 miles away
St Andrews West Sands Beach
787 reviews
.15 miles away
The R&A World Golf Museum
383 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
langgy
22 February 2021|
Answer
Response from Byresroad | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HAMS HAME PUB & GRILL, St. Andrews - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hams Hame Pub & Grill

Hams Hame Pub & Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4