We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolls House Restaurant

3 Church Square, St Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
+44 1334 477422
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (87 reviews)
“potatoes” (38 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 Church Square, St Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 1,335 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
304
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very expensive, small portions , food not very hot and not very tasty or well presented . Would not go back , pity as menu sounded interestingMore

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our food. I will be sure to pass on your comments about portions, temperature...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early and kindly accommodated us. The services was great, soup was stater was satisfactory - can't go wrong with soup. However, the fish and chips for the main was more than disappointing! The fish was tasteless. The deep fried, undercooked, soggy chips left...More

Thank jacqui p
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordiator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jacqui P, We would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write us a review. It is really appreciated and it is very important to us to receive our guests' feedback. We would like to apologise for this disappointing experience that...More

A TripAdvisor Member
8430
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at half past seven on a Saturday night, had booked a table but got seated at a table right next to the bar. Starters were disappointing: the terrine was full of fat and pretty tasteless, the main were ok but make sure you order...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write us a review. It is greatly appreciated. Your feedback is really important to us. We are incredibly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us. This does not...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had haggis, neeps and tatties with a delicious whisky cream sauce. One of the tastiest dishes I've had in a while. Service was very good. Restaurant nicely furnished with a good selection of wines.More

Thank Graham H
DollsHouseManager, Graham H at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Graham H, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. It is always great for us to hear our guests feedback. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our Haggis! It is also...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely venue for afternoon tea in the heart of St Andrews. Friendly staff, nice decor and excellent afternoon tea.More

Thank Simon H
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Simon H, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. It is really appreciated. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us! I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The dishes were very nice - however, the service was under par, which is why this review gets a 4/5.More

Thank MaxKlein274
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

HI MaxKlein274, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. However, we are really disappointed that our service let us down. This is something that we will...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice cosy friendly welcome . Little disappointed though . My humous & pickled cucumber was missing from my hallumi & roast pepper flat bread . This made it a tad dry .The chips were very fatty with not much potato In them . Also disappointed...More

Thank shegalavanter
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi shegalavanter, Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review. It is really appreciated. It is great to hear that you were welcomed by one of our friendly staff. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went for breakfast, last year near christmas, and more recently. Really delicious scottish breakfast (though I swapped the haggis for something else). Service is polite and very quick. The restaurant itself is situated within a charming little building (aptly named dolls house). The interior decoration...More

Thank hreynolds96
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi hreynolds96, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is really appreciated, and it is always great to hear our customers feedback. It is great to hear that we made such a good impression on you last Christmas that you returned. We love...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Service was slow however, food was good. Staff very pleasant and attentive comfortable atmosphere. Only one concern seating at some tables too low which made it awkward to eat a meal.More

Thank tayboy
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi tayboy, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. It is really appreciated. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our food, and that our staff were pleasant and attentive. We are disappointed to hear, however, that the...More

Reviewed 15 September 2017

second visit to this restaurant. pretty disappointed. lunch was nothing special, dessert less special, slightly spoilt by a member of staff feeling the need to clean the windows right beside where we were sitting. toilets nice and clean.More

Thank sengat233
DollsHouseManager, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hi sengat233, We would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write us a review. Your feedback is really appreciated. We are incredibly sorry to hear that you were left disappointed with our lunch and desserts. This does not resemble the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Little Italy
1,455 reviews
.04 miles away
BlackHorn
390 reviews
.02 miles away
The Keys Bar
204 reviews
.04 miles away
Cromars
740 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
University of St Andrews
182 reviews
.14 miles away
Fisher and Donaldson
58 reviews
.02 miles away
St Andrews Preservation Trust Museum
46 reviews
.19 miles away
Byre Theatre
81 reviews
.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MeganS2501
16 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Artesia_10 | Reviewed this property |
Very casual through to smart. It's a very relaxed atmosphere without being scruffy.
1
Vote
Bridget J
12 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from OliBoi35 | Reviewed this property |
Absolutely not
0
Votes
Bridget J
12 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bridget J | Reviewed this property |
Experienced such a dissapointing birthday lunch here.Im no longer interested in dolls house
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$92
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Church Square, St Andrews KY16 9NN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 477422
  • E-mail
Description
The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing