We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Byre - CLOSED

Eaglesham Road | East Kilbride, Glasgow, Scotland
+44 845 166 6044
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good18%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Eaglesham Road | East Kilbride, Glasgow, Scotland
All Details
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 150 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2015

WHAT A LOVELY NIGHT WAS HAD BY ALL OF US. The Hunter Room is a Private Dining room you can Book at The Byre. Thanks to all the staff for making it a success. A special Thank you to Stephen for the excellent attention he...More

Thank Countrybumpkin060
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Countrybumpkin060 Thanks very much for your lovely comments! We are delighted that you choose the Byre to Host your recent event and delighted that you had a great time. I have passed your lovely comments on to the rest of the team and have...More

Reviewed 3 February 2015

Booked the garden room for my dads 90th birthday.To start with the room was cold had to ask them to put heating on next there seemed to be only one staff allocated to 30 people which meant she had to serve behind bar and was...More

1  Thank alica2015
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Alice2015 Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to The Byre. I was extremely disappointed with your feedback, and as you know have since spoken with you personally. I do hope that you return to us very soon....More

Reviewed 31 January 2015

Read a few other reviews on hers before posting this and I'm left wondering if we just caught the place on a bad night. Booked a booth for my son's birthday and the place was nice enough. That's the last positive thing I can say...More

2  Thank Paul R
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Paul R I was extremely disappointed to read your review and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me at thebyreeastkilbride@g1group.com. Kind Regards Donna Smith

Reviewed 25 January 2015

I visit the Byre once a month and on previous visits have always found it quite good but unfortunately today the food was a real let down I order the same dish every visit so I know exactly what to expect, on their first attempt...More

Thank stuart w
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Dear Stuart W Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent visit to the Byre. I was disappointed to read your comment. As you know I have already contacted you over email and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 18 January 2015

Went to the Byre for birthday lunch yesterday with two young children. I have to say it was a pleasant experience and I would definitely go back. Service was brilliant, good quality food and very reasonably priced. I love that it caters to families and...More

1  Thank seery345
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Dear Seery345 Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. I was glad to read that you and your kids had a fantastic time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Byre very soon. Kind Regards Donna

Reviewed 17 January 2015

Decided to stop in here and very glad we did. Lovely Christmas lights outside looked beautiful with all of the snow. Great service, food was delicious and the price was very reasonable! Will definitely be back here in the future!!!

Thank Sandy1289
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Dear Sandy1289 Was lovely to read your recent review and I am delighted you had a great time here at The Byre. We hope you visit us again very soon. Regards Donna

Reviewed 12 January 2015

We've been attending the byre regularly since it opened, and have always found the place to be fab. Food choice is great, cooked well, reasonably priced, cocktails lush and always a friendly atmosphere, and attentive staff. We went here on Xmas Eve and the place...More

Thank brave83
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Dear Brave83 Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We were delighted that your fiance choose the Byre to pop the question!. We hope that you will return soon and keep us posted on the wedding plans. I have passed your kind comments on...More

Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

Went for lunch today, food choice good and reasonable price. We had soups and paninis and they were really nice but could all have been warmer, think this might have been due to the fact the pub was so cold that we did not take...More

Thank Alan S
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Dear AlanS Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good visit and I am please to let you know that the Byre is now back to being warm and cosy! We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Donna

Reviewed 29 December 2014

I have been to the byre on a number of occasions and found my visit to be pleasant. However yesterday this was not the case,normally in the restaurant they have a lovely set menu but it was only the bar menu on offer. That said...More

Thank ails85
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Dear ails85 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was concerned to read your feedback and would like to discuss this with you personally. Could you please contact me on 01355261600 or at thebyreeastkilbride@g1group.com Kind Regards Donna

Reviewed 22 December 2014

Went with work for our party night. Had a great time food was fantastic and so was the service. Well done

Thank footieboy06
thebyreeastkilbride, General Manager at The Byre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2014

Dear footieboy06 Thanks for the review....glad you had a great time and we hope you visit us again soon!! Regards Donna

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
D'Lish
191 reviews
.07 miles away
Gardenhall Inn
59 reviews
.38 miles away
Harvester
110 reviews
.41 miles away
Sala Thai
122 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The White Cart
81 reviews
1.93 miles away
Bel Air
34 reviews
.84 miles away
National Museum of Rural Life
274 reviews
1.39 miles away
Cathcart Castle Golf Club
5 reviews
3.08 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$8 - US$17
Cuisine
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Eaglesham Road | East Kilbride, Glasgow, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 845 166 6044
  • E-mail
Description
Located just off Eaglesham Road in East Kilbride the Byre is your family friendly local, serving traditional Scottish fare in a warm homely setting. Enjoy a mouth-watering menu packed full of traditional favourites including steak pie with a fluffy puff pastry top, fresh beer battered fish and chunky chips, and the famous beef burger with all the sides. As well as a fantastic menu there is also a huge outdoor play area and plenty of toys and games to keep the little ones entertained. Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing