We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gannet

1155 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8TB, Scotland
+44 141 204 2081
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good16%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck egg” (46 reviews)
“pigs head” (19 reviews)
“sweetbreads” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1155 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8TB, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 964 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We had the tasting menu. Most of the courses were fine but the fish was tasteless and overcooked, and the pork patty was desperately under seasoned. Staff were friendly and professional.

Thank Vancatwoman
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

There were Four of us had dinner last night here . We booked about 6 weeks ago as we had read about its popularity ! We were not disappointed! From the moment we walked in until the last morsel of food! Our server Danielle was...More

Thank Roxanne O
Reviewed 5 days ago

Had a fantastic meal here, one vegetarian tasting and one standard tasting, the food was so good. Also lovely setting in the dining room, overall a really top class experience.More

Thank catrionascotland
Kevin D, Manager at The Gannet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi catrionascotland Thanks very much for your positive feedback after your visit to The Gannet. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the seasonal Autumn and Vegetarian Tasting menus, it is great to be able to offer our customers such an abundance of fantastic,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Gannet definitely lived up to its hype! We had booked ( a couple of weeks in advance) for 7 o’clock on Saturday and our table was ready on our arrival. We had already decided before hand to go with the 5 course taster menu...More

Thank Prior28
Kevin D, Manager at The Gannet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Prior28 Great to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your visit to The Gannet, having managed to secure a booking on a busy evening. Our 6 course seasonal Autumn Tasting menu has been extremely popular, and it is great...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Delicious, imaginative food, perfectly matched wines, great service, attention to special requests made at booking. Our top 'go to' special night out place!More

Thank B5500CNann
Kevin D, Manager at The Gannet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi B5500CNann Thanks for your positive review following your visit to The Gannet. We work hard to deliver great service and experience to all our guests, and we appreciate the feedback on our seasonal and locally sourced menus with our paired wine packages. We will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Supper here with two pals - first off the wine we wanted not available,second we were brought a pat of butter that we gazed at for 20 mins while waiting for the bread which we were told was ' in the oven' this seemed unlikely...More

Thank susienickols
Kevin D, Manager at The Gannet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi susienickols Thanks very much for taking the time to provide us with valued feedback. We do strive to deliver the best of service, ambience and quality food to all our customers, and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet our aspired...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very seldom do I visit a restaurant where I felt every course, indeed every piece of food in each course, was cooked beautifully. This was the case on our visit to The Gannet last week. A wonderful autumn menu captured the seasons produce with products...More

Thank Hartley-Mitchell
Kevin D, Manager at The Gannet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Hartley-Mitchell Thanks very much for your feedback following your visit to The Gannet last weekend. We are delighted you appreciated and enjoyed the seasonal tasting menu, the quality of our locally sourced produce, and the endeavours of the kitchen. It really is a great...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was looking forward to visiting The Gannet however we didn’t even get to taste the food. The waitress was so obnoxious we left before the chance to even order. Such a shame!

1  Thank Derek G
Kevin D, Manager at The Gannet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I am very sorry to hear about your experience, I would be keen to discuss this further with you. Please contact me directly via kevin@thegannetgla.com or on 0141 204 2081

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Gannet’s offering is a bit muddled and this is reflected in the overall experience. There are 2 menus - the set tasting type menu and the a la carte. However, if anyone at the table wants to order from the set menu, then they...More

Thank Colin M
Kevin D, Manager at The Gannet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and have taken your comments on board.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for the tasting menu with the paired wines. It was fantastic. Relaxed setting and very friendly staff. The food was presented to a very high standard and tasted as good as it looked. Will definitely be coming back.More

Thank MrCliche
Kevin D, Manager at The Gannet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi MrCliche Thanks very much for your positive review of your visit to The Gannet. Good to hear that you enjoyed our seasonal tasting menu with paired wine package, it really is a great way for us to showcase the amazing local produce that is...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 96 hotels in Glasgow
Lorne Hotel
1,133 reviews
.05 miles away
Devoncove Hotel
1,248 reviews
.06 miles away
The Sandyford Hotel
665 reviews
.07 miles away
Kelvingrove Hotel
747 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mora Bar and Kitchen
240 reviews
.05 miles away
Six By Nico
369 reviews
.01 miles away
Tarantino Ristorante
459 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum
13,167 reviews
.32 miles away
Kelvingrove Park
985 reviews
.22 miles away
Kelvingrove Bandstand and Ampitheatre
76 reviews
.33 miles away
Charing Cross Mansions
11 reviews
.32 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LaurenFalla
6 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 400karenm | Reviewed this property |
I think you would have to contact them in advance and ask for the options or for them to cater for you particularly as a lot of their food does contain both dairy and wheat
1
Vote
Sandy P
21 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Peter K | Property representative |
Yes it is, we have toilet access just off the main dining area.
2
Votes
Basilbig
9 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Peter C | Property representative |
They still offer small plates at lunch and early evening but not 3 for £12. Still extremely reasonable pricing
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$50
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:30
Thursday
17:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:15
Friday
17:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:15
Saturday
17:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:15
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1155 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8TB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 141 204 2081
  • E-mail
Description
We are a modern Scottish restaurant based in the heart of Glasgow’s Finnieston neighbourhood. Our menu is made up of the best local seasonal ingredients both wild and cultivated, we work closely with artisan producers, farmers and foragers to create a real taste of Scotland. We have interesting and considered wine and cocktail menus both changing seasonally.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing