Catch Fish & Chips - Giffnock

Catch Fish & Chips - Giffnock

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 141 638 9169+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 21:00
Mon
12:00 - 22:00
Tue
12:00 - 22:00
Wed
12:00 - 22:00
Thu
12:00 - 22:00
Fri
12:00 - 23:00
Sat
12:00 - 23:00
Improve this listing
Does this restaurant offer free wifi?
About
CATCH Fish & Chips: the quality fish and chips experience. Sit-in Restaurant and Takeaway at 186 Fenwick Road, Giffnock. Takeaway and Home Delivery now open at 570 Clarkston Road in Netherlee.
PRICE RANGE
£5.00 – £20.00
CUISINES
Seafood, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles472 reviews
Excellent
248
Very good
111
Average
43
Poor
33
Terrible
37
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

RuthyGlasgow
824 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Been meaning to go to this place for few years now but never managed as live in Cambuslang area, until a 5pm deal popped up and took the opportunity. On arriving told the young man that we had a booking and he wanted us to sit in a booth downstairs, but I wanted to go upstairs away from the shop area. That was ok if table available and there was. I choose the mac cheese balls which were tasty and hubby had the chicken wings which were delicious. Hubby opted for the battered sausage with curry sauce (something he would not have ordered before?) which he enjoyed and I had the seabass with a lemon herb sauce which I am glad came separate in small pot. Bass was delicious. Chips were nothing special. I would go back to try their main menu, but a bit unsure with reading recent bad reviews on portion size, and not so good fish batter and chips, but hey there are so many great reviews so Yes I would go back.
Written 8 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdamBoyd1495
Hi there. Thanks for visiting CATCH and for taking the time to review your meal with us. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we'd love to welcome you back sometime soon.
Written 10 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tgconnolly
Glasgow9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Visited Catch Giffnock yesterday with our 2 grandchildren as we were taking them to a local golf driving range. The restaurant was participating in the Government 50% initiative. This is a great opportunity for businesses to promote their products and hopefully in the long term they will get repeat business. I have visited a number of restaurants during this period,including The Ivy and the Sherbrooke hotel and the portions were the same as before the 50% scheme kicked in. However at the Catch restaurant for the price of £12.95 l was served a haddock which clearly had been halved down the middle. Is was barely 2 inches wide. For that kind of price for haddock and chips l was expecting a fish which would have been touching both sides of the plate. Sadly this was not the case. It's a nice looking restaurant in a good location and the staff worked well. There are 3 choices of deserts and our grandkids picked the donuts,however they had run out of them ,leaving only a choice of 2 which they didn't like. This was at 4pm and the restaurant was fully booked for the rest of the evening. We left saying to each other that we wouldn't like having to pay full price for what we got. I think the restaurant will do plenty of business short time during the Government initiative but will take a hit long term if customers think that they will get similar portions as we got if they return for a future visit. This is only my opinion and maybe we visited on a bad day. The kids meals were fine.
Written 27 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdamBoyd1495
Hi there. We're extremely sorry to hear you left CATCH disappointed. We are experiencing some issues with our fish supplier at the moment and we are working tirelessly to resolve the problem. Could you please contact us via email? We would like to speak to you further about this. Thanks and apologies again.
Written 1 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daniel F
Edinburgh96 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 friends
Decided to try out Catch as heard great reviews, they definitely weren't wrong. Mt friend has a citrus allergy and they couldn't have more accommodating for him, the chef made fresh garlic mayonnaise, fried his food in completely different oil incase of any contamination. The food was absolutely amazing! Fresh crispy in house made tempura batter, the fish was moist and delicious, chips were cooked perfectly too, all for great prices. Will definitely be back to sample more of the menu. Just want to shout out a special thanks to the team who helped with my friends allergy!
Written 18 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it. We're delighted you enjoyed your experience and I will pass your comments onto the team.
Written 19 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

miranda
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 couples
We ordered fish and chips for collection on Easter Sunday and usually very good . However we were kept waiting twice as long for the food . This wasn’t really a problem though but the food was . It cost us the highest price in the area we have ever paid and the food was as if pure oil had been poured over it and the chips were a soggy mess. The battered fish was overdone and dark brown and swimming in grease . We were so hungry we ate it but will never be going back . When we went along to order it also seemed very disorganised and no one in authority
Written 3 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. I'm extremely sorry to hear that you were not happy with your order from CATCH. This does not sound up to our usual high standards and we'd like to address it immediately. Can you please contact us on headoffice@catchfishandchips.co.uk? We'd really appreciate it.
Written 5 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MoltoBeneGlasgow
Giffnock140 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 family
First order placed with Catch for a delivery and it was all good. Delivery came within the time advised at booking and the food was fresh and hot. We will certainly use again. Thanks for very good service
Written 24 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your meal.
Written 25 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Malcolm38
Glasgow8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 none
Pre-pandemic, this was my go-to fish restaurant. However, much has changed, and not for the better. The service was excellent as usual, but a new addition to the menu, lobster in a brioche roll looked tempting. I normally order the lobster thermidor, but I thought that the brioche roll would be a good addition. When it arrived, I found the roll stuffed with lettuce, celery, sauce etc but no discernible lobster. In a blind tasting I certainly would not have been able to identify it as a lobster roll. This comes at a cost of £15.50 for at most £1 worth of ingredients. Also, the much loved metal flute of chips has been replaced with a shallow bowl of chips so that scraps can be hidden under a few full chips. Very disappointing.
Written 26 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi Malcolm. We're sorry you were not happy with your lobster roll at CATCH. All we can say is that there is far more than £1 worth of ingredients in our lobster rolls. It's the most expensive menu item that we buy in the restaurant. There is not as much lobster in a lobster roll as you will receive when you order Thermidor and this is reflected in the price of the lobster roll. However, lobster is still a very expensive ingredient. With regards to the chips, you should only have had a small white dish of chips if someone at your table ordered small fish and chips, as the lobster roll is not served with chips. We don't know if this is the case or not as you haven't mentioned what your other guests ordered. All other dishes are served with the traditional bucket of chips. This hasn't changed since CATCH opened 7 years ago. In any case, if you ever feel you have too many small chips in a portion, you can always let the staff know and we will happily get them changed for you.
Written 30 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Southside Travels
Glasgow2509 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 couples
Visited Catch Giffnock for takeaway. Was disappointed with the Fish and Chips.. actual fish portion size was very small and the chips seemed to be the end of a batch. Wasn't good value for money at £8.95 !! Have visited the restaurant before and had enjoyable meals. But after this occasion I will not be rushing back !!
Written 20 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. We're extremely sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent takeaway from CATCH. We receive all of our fish from an extremely high quality Scottish supplier who actually categorise the fish by weight, with a very small margin for differentiation between fish. This means that all of our very are almost exactly the same weight. Sometimes they can look bigger or smaller than each other, but they all weigh almost exactly the same. We're also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your chips. We pride ourselves on the highest quality of chips at CATCH, and it's extremely important to us that the chips that come with every order are just as high quality as any others served at CATCH. We will look into this further to make sure there were no issues when you placed your order. Thanks for your feedback and we really hope to see you back at CATCH soon.
Written 21 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tartnjohn
Olney3490 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 couples
Visiting Scotland after a lengthy break away, we fancied sitting in for some fish & chips. Saw this one thanks to Google and Wow - what a great experience. We were lucky to get a table and even luckier to have found it. I had haddock & chips with my wife settling for the Stornoway (yes Stornaway) black pudding. Both dishes were fantastic. The batter was probably the crispiest I have ever had. Fish was skinless (why do they leave skin on in England?) and the Black pudding I nicked from my wife had me in raptures. Only negative was the cost of a can of Irn Bru - £2.45! Overall a brilliant catch and certainly will be back - but no IRN BRU. One has to compliment the staff. This may be a chippy, but the girls tending the tables were as attentive and friendly as in any high class restaurant. Great experience.
Written 15 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Written 18 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Douglas H
13 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 none
First time user of Catch Giffnock on Monday evening for a Takeaway, was really looking forward to it as it has a good reputation. We were extremely disappointed with the all round Quality. The 2 pieces of Fish were limp and greasy, when serving I had to use lifters on both ends to save it breaking in half, the fish itself was lovely but the Batter was anything but 'Light and Crispy'. Chips were greasy, pale and thinner than expected, certainly not 'Twice Cooked'.
Written 29 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. I'm extremely sorry to hear that you were not happy with your order from CATCH. Could you please email us on headoffice@catchfishandchips.co.uk as we'd like to address this as soon as possible. Thanks.
Written 4 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

The Original Haigh
Queensbury23 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 family
Stopped off here heading back from Edinburgh, love some good fish and chips in our family, and these hit the spot. Only discrepancy was there was no cod, oh and no dandelion & burdoch pop which is a staple accompaniment in our native Yorkshire. The young lass who served us upstairs was very friendly and notably patient with another set of customers whom were asking her to go back and forth with various vegan related type requests, one of them also requested rice 🍚 instead of chips, while the other lass sent her down to the kitchen 3 times then said she would leave it. She handled this with the same positivity when I would have told them all to f*%#k off.
Written 5 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your visit and we'd be delighted to welcome you back soon. Thank you for your comments on the service - we have a great team at CATCH.
Written 10 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andie1812b
Glasgow27 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 solo
Got x2 take out fish suppers on Saturday night. Defo not as good as what they used to be. Fish poor quality and chips (verging on greasy) and not generous in portion size. I know times have been tough but price definitely didn’t justify the lowered quality in what we got. Shame. Used to be my fav for a chippy.
Written 16 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi Andie. We're extremely sorry that you weren't 100% happy with your recent order. Can you please contact Colette@catchfishandchips.co.uk so we can look into this? We do not want any of our customers left feeling disappointed, so we'd like to look into this straight away. Thanks.
Written 19 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ibar1922
Glasgow37 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
This was a 5pm deal but notwithstanding the inexpensive cost the meal and service were excellent. The full sit in menu is based on fresh fish and the standard is very good. From a simple fish supper to sea bass fillets with loads in between, we were spoilt for choice. First visit but will return.
Written 13 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdamBoyd1495
Thank you for your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to CATCH and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Written 20 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MoltoBeneGlasgow
Giffnock140 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 family
A hugely disappointing experience with catch this evening and probably won’t use again Order process seamless despite the £3.50 delivery fee and 70p service charge for who knows for what Select your delivery time and wait for your delivery …. And wait and wait and wait Two calls later and a missing delivery driver we receive our order - lukewarm and underwhelming potion size and 40 minutes late Expect better from a long established business . Vastly overpriced for quality of offering tonight
Written 17 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Edie
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
Catch used to be our favourite fish take away but this time was a let down. We were not given lemon or tartar sauce and the portion seemed to be smaller than usual. I am not sure whether wee will return which is a shame as the quality is usually great.
Written 30 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. I'm sorry to hear you were not 100% happy with your recent order from CATCH. Our portions sizes have not changed, and you should always receive a lemon slice and tartar, so apologies about that. I will pass your comments onto the team and we hope that you'll be back to CATCH.
Written 31 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mtk67
East Kilbride714 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
A great lunch at Catch. Haddock was delicious with batter crisp and light, chips fresh and delicious! Sticky toffee pudding and cheesecake were fab. Nice staff, very friendly. So busy on a Sunday afternoon is testament to how popular this fish and chip shop/restaurant is. Glad we booked a table!
Written 2 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdamBoyd1495
Hi there. Thank you for your visit and thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We really appreciate it and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.
Written 3 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 468
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
White Cart Pub & Grill
££ - £££ · Brew Pub, Bar, British, Grill
Murphy's Pakora Bar
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian
Madras Cafe
££ - £££ · Indian
Fanny Trollopes
££ - £££ · European, British, Healthy, Scottish
Glassy Central
££ - £££ · Indian, European, Asian, Grill
Kinara
££ - £££ · Indian, Bar, Asian, Pub
Green Gates Indian Restaurant Merchantcity
££ - £££ · Indian, International, Asian, Grill
Soup's On and the Cake Lady
££ - £££ · Cafe, British, Fusion, Soups
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CATCH FISH & CHIPS - GIFFNOCK, Glasgow - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All Glasgow HotelsGlasgow Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Glasgow
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire