LUCALI by Andiamo

LUCALI by Andiamo

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 141 620 3587+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 - 22:00
Mon
9:00 - 22:00
Tue
9:00 - 22:00
Wed
9:00 - 22:00
Thu
9:00 - 22:00
Fri
9:00 - 22:30
Sat
9:00 - 22:30
Improve this listing
LUCALI by Andiamo
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£12.00 – £20.00
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Is this an ice cream shop?
PRICE RANGE
£12.00 – £20.00
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles374 reviews
Excellent
154
Very good
98
Average
55
Poor
36
Terrible
31
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

NeilandAnna
Exeter12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 couples
We’d always remembered how much we enjoyed eating at Andiamo when we came up to the Commonwealth Games and so we were delighted to see there was a related restaurant within striking range of our holiday in North Ayrshire. We weren’t disappointed. One of the stand out dishes was the pizza bread topped with tomatoes - delicious and excellent value. The service was excellent and we were so taken with our visit we returned 2 days later benefiting from their offer of free nibbles.
Written 10 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Thank you for your fantastic review and for visiting us again so quickly. We hope to see you back soon.
Written 23 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jim F
Glasgow143 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
Second visit at the weekend since the relaunch and found the same 'issues' as before....service is variable - to say the least - with repeated requests for an update on where the main course was (or wasn't); food was good although I think the menu revamp has gone slightly too far..no focaccia andiamo!! Appreciate that there a LOT of new staff (and Management), however, direction seems to be missing...our waitress (who was lovely and predominantly serving outside) seemed to be pulled in every direction imagineable. Hopefully, things will settle down with (perhaps) some tweaks to the menu in due course.
Written 24 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi Jim. Thanks for taking the time to review your experience at LUCALI. Please bare in mind that this is a completely new concept, which is why the menu has had a total revamp. We appreciate that customers had old favourites from the Andiamo menu but we have decided to launch a new brand with new dishes. This, of course, will not suit everyone. We've tried our best to create a blend of traditional Italian food with more experimental dishes that are new to the South Side. With regards to your service, we can only apologise that you were disappointed. We will certainly take your comments on board and do everything we can to rectify the issues you experienced. We hope you will come back to LUCALI in the near future to give us a chance to give you the experience you deserve whilst visiting our new restaurant. Thanks.
Written 8 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ianliz71
Glasgow41 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 none
This is a local restaurant for us but we have not visited for years. However there was a new grandchild to celebrate and our favourite restaurant has not yet reopened as it is too small for current social dIstancing requirements so we decided to try it. Very importantly for our age group, we felt very safe. It is a spacious restaurant with several separated areas so there was generous space between tables. The waiting staff wore masks. We were pleased to see that it was quite busy for a Tuesday night - it has been such a tough time for restaurants. There was a good varied choice on the menu and we were delighted with the quality of our food and a lovely bottle of wine. It was great to be back to eating out again and we will certainly be back here.
Written 22 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdamBoyd1495
Thank you for your review. We're delighted you chose to visit Andiamo as your first meal out since the beginning of lockdown.
Written 4 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire
Giffnock2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 none
Ordered the macaroni cheese expecting a really tasty meal since it was just under £10 for delivery. Disappointed is an understatement, cheese sauce was bland and ‘al dente’ was more like hard. I would rather have been served a packet version from a supermarket, Never again.
Written 16 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi Claire. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were not happy with your delivery. Can you please contact us at andiamogiffnock@outlook.com so that we can look into this? It certainly doesn't sound up to our usual standards and we don't want any Andiamo customer feeling disappointed.
Written 3 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

voyager17
United Kingdom118 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 family
We were visiting family in Glasgow and some of our party didn’t feel comfortable inside a restaurant due to Covid so we decided to order a take away for 10 people from a restaurant to have at home. Lucali was recommended by family but I am really struggling to understand why. Our experience was far from good. 1. From the website information we ordered from one menu which we were were told was takeaway and when we called in the order none of our selection was available so were told to use a another menu 2. We then all reselected from the second menu and called the restaurant back to order starters, Mains and sides for 10 people ( so around £300) 3. We were rudely told they’d prefer us to order on the website ( what about what the customer prefers?) 4. When we ordered on the website there was no option to tailor dishes e.g no chilli or deselect an allergy ingredient so we had no choice but to phone back 5. When we phoned back they refused to take out order over the phone because the “chef wasn’t there” That set alarms bells ringing so we decided after an hour of trying to order unsuccessfully from Lucali that for whatever reason they didn’t really want our £300 take away order so we switched to DiMaggios ordered over the phone from people who were friendly and clearly appreciated our business and a delicious take away was ready for us very promptly. To the owners of Lucali, if you have a look at my other reviews you’ll see I generally use Trip Advisor to highlight the great things about hospitality businesses and am rarely critical but given our experience last night and the one hour we wasted trying to place an order for business you clearly don’t want or need I thought I ought to highlight this. I’m pleased for you that you are so busy you don’t need a £300 order but at least be polite and friendly to prospective customers and try to show some of that welcoming hospitality that the rest of Glasgow is famous for. If you don’t want take away orders, don’t offer them!
Written 25 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. We are extremely sorry to hear about your experience trying to order from LUCALI. Could you please contact us at your earliest convenience here - headoffice@catchfishandchips.co.uk. We'd like to speak to you as soon as possible about this. Thanks and apologies again.
Written 28 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kirsty Young
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 couples
Arrived for our booking and asked politely if it was possible to get a table outside as it was a nice day. The manager looked extremely inconvenienced with the question and flustered away, coming back a moment later to rather abruptly say ‘fine’ and then showed us to our table. Our drinks took a while to come, but wine was nice enough. I got a prawn salad, the prawns were nice but there was no dressing on the salad so it was bland dry leaves. During our meal we saw the manager approach the table next to us where 3 women were finishing a meal and very rudely announce ‘we need the table back so finish up’. Now needing the table back is fine, and understandable, but the manner in which he spoke to them was incredibly rude and it was clear the table thought so too. When we were leaving a lovely waitress came to take our payment and she was very bubbly and friendly, but I have to say as someone who lives locally I won’t be returning due to the managers tone and ill manner.
Written 29 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. We're sorry to hear you experienced poor service during your visit to LUCALI by Andiamo. We're extremely disappointed to hear about this and we want to get to the bottom of it immediately. Could you please contact us on headoffice@catchfishandchips.co.uk so that we can find out as much information as possible about your booking and we can address the issues you experienced? We would really appreciate that. Thanks.
Written 8 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MHG
7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 family
Went last night for my birthday with my husband, 2 children and parents. Whilst we got a booth and drinks offered, the service after that was abysmal. 50 minute wait between starter and main course. Once the mains arrived, we were never approached again and tried in vain to get a servers attention to no avail. When we had all finished, our plates sat in front of us for a further 40 minutes with no server making any effort to clear them or ask if we'd like deserts, coffees or another round of drinks. Around us tables were being cleared and noone making eye contact. Eventually we got to ask for the bill as a server cleared another table. It was plainly obvious that our plates were still in front of us and we were not even asked about desert or coffee. Up to five young servers huddled at the bar chatting. I left with my parents and children whilst my husband remained to settle the bill. No acknowledgement as we left as I walked past all 5 of them. No goodnight or thank you. My husband sat on at the table and after what felt like a ridiculous amount of time, he then approached the counter and requested to pay. The male server placed the card machine in front of him and said nothing. My husband then asked if it were up to him to fill out etc. As this was happening the servers Continued chatting. We left no tip. The service was beyond poor, This is the 3rd time this year we have been for brunch and dinner and every time the service has been a real let down. When I read reviews about birthday celebrations and parties of folk being well looked after, I feel hugely disappointed at our experience last night as another table had happy birthday sang to them by staff and desert with a candle and in it.. lucky you, you are clearly a chosen customer. In August when we went for my husband's birthday, we encountered the same abysmal service. As locals, we've made the decision not to return and will stick to other Italian eateries nearby. If you get good service you are clearly some of the chosen few and very lucky indeed. Food was mediocre but couldve lived with it if we were looked after. They missed out on at least another £60 to £80 on top of our £140 meal because of being ignored and not offered deserts, drinks and coffees. Wouldn't recommend until it cleans up its act.
Written 13 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. I'm extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at LUCALI. The service you received does not sound up to our usual high standards and we will be investigating this further in order to ensure it does not happen again.
Written 28 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lou Glasgow
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 family
This used to be my favourite restaurant (Andiamo) we’d visit regularly and our go to for special occasions. This was our first and last time trying Lucali sadly. Went for a birthday meal. The new decor was beautiful, starter was to die for, my main was meh, my husbands was nice and my sons pizza was also pretty meh. The biggest disappointment was in the service, slow, extremely disinterested young staff who couldn’t even bear to offer us a smile and who seemed quite frankly annoyed that we had dared to book a table. It took all eternity to take our order, items were missed but since no one came to check if all was okay we didn’t complain and whilst we had hoped to order more drinks or desert the staff impatiently stomped past our table on several occasions to clear other empty tables and gave us dirty looks instead of offering to take an order. It was about 8:30 pm but clearly they just wanted us to leave so they could go home. A quicker way to achieve that might have been to offer to take our desert order or to bring us the bill but no. Eventually we went to the counter to pay and left with a vow not to return. I never leave bad reviews but I’m sorry we were really, really disappointed.
Written 9 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. We're extremely sorry to hear you had a poor experience at Lucali. We'd like to speak to you about this as soon as possible. Could you please contact us on headoffice@catchfishandchips.co.uk at your earliest convenience? Thank you.
Written 10 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Re2311
Glasgow10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 family
2nd visit to this restaurant and on both occasions have been told ‘oh we don’t have your booking’ then rudely asked did you call the other restaurant as if I were incapable to phone the correct place. Think they should put a competent individual on the phone to take bookings or upgrade their booking system. The service was ridiculously slow. Sitting for over 30mins to have our food order taken while staff continuously walked by without acknowledging us. 2 people serving on a Sunday lunch is ridiculous. Eventually our order was taken and the starters gradually arrived, the waitress couldn’t even take a note of 6 mushrooms for starters and only got one portion out through the kitchen - another long wait for the other 5 portions of mushrooms. When the rest were served they were clearly quickly thrown in the fryer as the mushrooms were still raw underneath the breadcrumbs… delicious…. NOT. The table clearing speed was slower than a week in the jail while staff pottered around the bar. Chanced the bill by not cancelling off a bottle of red wine that was incorrectly served and rejected by us but still magically appeared on the bill. The best part of the night was eventually leaving the restaurant after a long 3 hours in the place. Certainly won’t be back.
Written 20 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. I'm extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at LUCALI. The service you received does not sound up to our usual high standards and we will be investigating this further in order to ensure it does not happen again.
Written 28 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mrstotten
Glasgow5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 family
Ordered pizza, pasta and sides for my husbands at home birthday meal with guest. We ordered four pizzas and nine pastas plus sides to ensure there was enough food but we needn’t have worried. The portion sizes on the pasta and sides were very generous. The pizza had everyone raving with its freshness and flavour and the pastas were lovely. I really enjoyed the creamy spinach one. The food took a while to get here but was worth the wait, hot, fresh and held its flavour and the front house staff dealt very well with a frantic hostess with the flu trying to get food organised. Could not find a single fault and will definitely be using again both in person and for take away
Written 8 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Thank you. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we're delighted your party enjoyed the food.
Written 12 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mrsample
East Kilbride110 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 friends
Booked a table for 6 for a special occasion. We were seated at a nice round table which was only set for 5 and next to the ladies toilet which ended up being closed because of the smell and obvious drainage problems. Finally got a drink then had to watch out for a passing member of staff to actually take the cork out the wine bottle. One of our starters was the bread with rosemary and tomatoes, it came minus the tomatoes and when we had the cheek to question it we were then delivered a plate of tomatoes to do whatever we wished to do with them. Mains were ok Staff were all lovely and very young however don’t even know if anyone was actually in charge. Very expensive night for what it was and actually embarrassing at times that we had booked for a special birthday.
Written 26 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. Firstly, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience at LUCALI. The ladies toilet was not closed due to a smell, they were simply out of order on the night you visited. We can only apologise about the wine initially not being opened. The server was new to the restaurant and thought the bottle was a screw top. The manager quickly addressed by opening the bottle for you and apologising. Also, the manager spoke with one of the guests at the table about the tomatoes. The guest requested the bowl of tomatoes as opposed to having the focaccia remade (which was offered). The guest who requested this was happy to take the bowl of fresh tomatoes to add to the focaccia as agreed. I'm not sure if there was miscommunication between guests at the table, but this is what was requested. We can only apologise that you didn't enjoy your night and we hope it won't put you off returning in the future.
Written 28 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Porteye
United Kingdom62 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
Sitting outside in the warm evening sun, with drinks, pizza and various small dishes to share, listening to music and enjoying the moment, it was easy to forget one was sitting on a main road opposite a KwikFit garage, and round the corner from a Scotrail station (easy parking BTW). This was a very tasty meal, swerved quickly with a smile; delicious; and all. very reasonably priced. The only very slight disappointment was the Tiramisu, which was uninspiring, according to this who had it. Thank you for a memorable evening.
Written 3 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it. We're delighted you enjoyed it and we'd like to welcome you back soon. We're disappointed to hear someone in your party didn't enjoy the tiramisu. We've had such good feedback about it from others too. Thanks again for the review.
Written 10 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

NeilstonTravellers32
Glasgow315 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 couples
Had lunch here recently which was really delicious. The service had greatly improved since our last visit and was excellent. There was an excellent choice of dishes available and each was piping hot and well presented. The tiramisu was delicious. Will certainly return.
Written 19 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Written 30 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jan
Glasgow14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 couples
Went to Lucali’s in Giffnock for first time last night to celebrate my husbands birthday. We received a very warm welcome on arrival, the staff were knowledgeable about the menu, attentive but not over bearing. The food choice was very good and the meal was fantastic, thoroughly enjoyed by us both. We will definitely be back!!
Written 21 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Thank you! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Written 28 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Danny F
East Sussex57 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 family
Arranged a family Christmas lunch for Sunday 11/12/22. Service was reasonable and food arrived within an acceptable time. The real problem became apparent after my daughter, who has been strictly vegan for 6 years, ordered from their Vegan Christmas menu, checked with the waitress when her dish arrived, that it was the vegan option and was assured that it was, only to realise after having started to eat, that the dish was not vegan at all and actually contained what looked like haggis but was probably sausage. She was extremely upset and I was fairly angry. The manager was hardly contrite, simply apologised and replaced the dish. When I explained at the end of the meal how amazed I was that such a catastrophic mistake had been made his excuse was that it is a new menu! Seriously, that was his excuse. I wonder what legal position the restaurant would be in if someone with a severe peanut allergy had been served peanuts because the menu was new? That is simply not a good enough excuse. Will definitely not be returning!
Written 12 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam B
Hi Danny. Firstly we are extremely sorry that this incident occurred during your recent visit. We have investigated this and we have some more information on it. I believe the vegan dish was a Penne Funghi and there was also a Margherita pizza with Italian sausage on the order. The chef has misread the order and thought the Italian Sausage was to be added to the pasta. Obviously, this is not acceptable and it is certainly not an excuse, I just wanted to make you aware of what happened. We cannot apologise enough about this and we are in the process of changing the way the dishes on our vegan menu appear for the chefs so that nothing like this can happen in the future. Apologies again.
Written 14 December 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 373
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
White Cart Pub & Grill
££ - £££ · Brew Pub, Bar, British, Grill
Murphy's Pakora Bar
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian
Madras Cafe
££ - £££ · Indian
Fanny Trollopes
££ - £££ · European, British, Healthy, Scottish
Glassy Central
££ - £££ · Indian, European, Asian, Grill
Kinara
££ - £££ · Indian, Bar, Asian, Pub
Green Gates Indian Restaurant Merchantcity
££ - £££ · Indian, International, Asian, Grill
Soup's On and the Cake Lady
££ - £££ · Cafe, British, Fusion, Soups
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

LUCALI BY ANDIAMO, Glasgow - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

All Glasgow HotelsGlasgow Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Glasgow
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire