We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Non-smoking restaurants
View all details
features, about
Reviews (685)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
388
132
45
28
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
388
132
45
28
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza arancini tiramisu pate spaghetti starters and mains sea bass salad set menu merchant city food was lovely portion sizes
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon arrival, we were met by a man who turned out to be the manager, who appeared either not to listen to a word I was saying or had a limited understanding of English. Looking back, I honestly could not say for certain that he...was not, perhaps, intoxicated. There were four of us. He seemed obsessed with us being part of a booking for ten people having repeatedly asked if we were joining this party?! To be honest, on reflection, we should have left at that point. However, we were shown to our table. The manager was then very repetitive about how he needed the table back by half past seven. I assured him several times that, as it was only just turning five o'clock, he would indeed have his table back in plenty of time as we don't usually take over two hours to have dinner?! We were seated next to another family of six. We opted for the set menu. This apparently sealed our fate. From then on, we were treated like second-class citizens. He was shouting very loudly about which drinks were available "for free" and which, if you want, you have to pay for. This is not only embarrassing but also inaccurate; the cost of any drinks that come with the set menu are included in the price of the offer; the restaurant is not giving us charity by including a drink in their set menu offering. The drinks arrived quite quickly and we ordered our meals. Our starters arrived - three out of four were dismal; the bruschetta was ok but the "minestrone" soup was tasteless veggies submerged in warm water with globs of oil floating on top served with a side of stale bread. I mentioned to the manager that the restaurant felt quite cold. His reply was that he knew! The heating in that part of the restaurant had broken down that morning, and he was waiting on it being fixed. I asked if there were any other tables available and was told no, they were fully booked and very busy. I later found this to be a lie. Why any self-respecting restaurant would seat paying customers in an area without heating during a cold night and leave themselves open to complaints is beyond me. This shows the contempt and lack of appreciation for the customer. At this point I wanted to leave however, we were out for a family meal and did not want to create a fuss so I was persuaded by my partner to stay. We all now regret this decision. The mains were dreadful. As soon as they arrived, the manager was over at us asking if everything was okay; I told him the meals had only just arrived so we weren't able to say! He did not come back. I've never in my life had a bland Italian meal and did not, until today, think that anything made with fresh ingredients, herbs, etc. could be described as bland. Then I ate at Osteria. Both the pizza and lasagne needed so much salt and seasoning that it was ridiculous. We sent back both lasagne & left much of our pizzas. When we asked a waitress to take these away and to speak with the manager, she collected the plates but ignored the other part of my request. I went upstairs to their mezzanine level to use the toilet; not only was it much warmer, but all tables were unoccupied aside from a large party at a long table. I found this infuriating having been told earlier that there were no other tables so we had to remain in the cold section. The family seated next to us had also complained about the cold and had been given the same answer as me. I told my family about the empty tables I had just seen which the other family overheard and they seemed equally annoyed. My family and I put on our coats and made for the door, intending to pay on exit. I asked to speak to the manager. When I advised him of my list of complaints, his responses were preposterous, and he appeared to have a childlike tantrum! He said they do not use the mezzanine level during the week however the party whom were there had ordered from the a la carte menu and asked to be seated upstairs but the same was not available to customers ordering from the set menu. He refused to take the lasagne - which were not eaten - off the bill nor compensate for the substandard pizzas as he said he would have offered alternative meals if we had asked for them?! He also said that he had tasted all of our meals and they tasted fine to him so I had no idea what I was talking about and clearly had different tastes?! I tried to reason with him but this was futile. He was throwing his arms around, shouting about calling the police and literally standing with his arms wide open, trying to block the exit?! This was humiliating! I was willing to pay for what we actually ate despite the treatment and table etc however the manager was unwilling to entertain this suggestion; for him it was either full payment or police?! He then literally put his hands on me as though as to restrain me?! I was absolutely mortified! My partner came back to rescue me! We left quite shaken by the experience however we were followed by the manager into the street with him still shouting at us! His behaviour was bizarre and aggressive! I can only hope people take this as a warning never to risk eating here unless you are ordering from the a la carte menu (which apparently buys better treatment) or take a warm coat & prepare yourself!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felice Minervini, Owner at Osteria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi All, Any bad esperience in Osteria is not welcom and we are trying to improuve our standard day by day. Unfortunatly this was NOT the case and I am glad that you have posted this review so we can show to the police your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food, great service,great staff, what more could you ask for all in a lovely restaurant. We cannot wait to go back.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

As always we had a lovely meal, great service and very friendly atmosphere. Looking forward to our next meal at Osteria

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Excellent choice of meals, I will say it is best not to have anything to eat before you come here, as the portions are huge. Prices are reasonable which is in line with most Italian eateries, staff were very helpful and there was no rush...to get you out the door, This was our 5 the visit and it wont be our lastMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 September 2023

Osteria Glasgow Osteria Glasgow  / Reviews (415) #205 of 4962 restaurants in Glasgow 830 Read more reviews on Google Add your opinion Google / 209 E Emma Just now on Restaurant Guru Your comment is awaiting moderation. Me and my other half were in Saturday 16/09. We love this place very...friendly staff they honestly cannot do more for you, the food was and is always amazing followed by the wine. Cannot recommend enough. Will be back soon. Ow & my other half proposed to me when we finished our dinner whilst we were here. I love it even more now xxMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023 via mobile

I have visited this amazing Restaurant several times over the last few years on my frequent visits to Glasgow and it became my favourite Italian Restaurant anywhere. Before I always travelled on my own and was always looked after with care and respect and the...food is always magnificent. On this occasion my wonderful nephew was with me; he has heard me talk about the place so much he was anxious to go. The Owner made us both SO very welcome and catered to my nephew’s menu choices admirably. Rhydian, my nephew, who is a huge “foodie” and no mean cook himself, declared it to be his best experience of an Italian meal EVER. It meant so much to me that he was there with me on this memorable evening and I would like to thank the Owner and everyone involved in creating this magical evening for us. We are already planning our next visit and cannot wait to return!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023

Fantastic , kind staff. Nice food and beautiful surroundings. We were a noisy bunch but hope we helped create a nice atmosphere

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

Well am sadly disappointed this evening , been going here for few years now and never had a bad service or meal Until tonight my daughter and partner took us out for dinner myself husband and his gran and our grandson , the waiter was...friendly enough but he was the only server in the restaurant a ordered the minestrone soup to start and the pollo Milanese with Mac and cheese instead of arriabiata Soup was cold had to take it to bar to get heated up ! Then the mains chicken was ok not overly warm and the Mac and cheese was just pasta Mac all dried up , other mains were poor in portion and taste, my grandson had. lasagne it tasted like wet Ravioli 🤮 bill arriver over £200 and not even a discount for the complaints made at the table sorry guys but you have lost a good customer as a won’t return and maybe give your staf some body odour sprays as they didn’t smell to good even the staff dress code wa poor , unsure if this is under new management but it was the worst dinner a have experienced in a whileMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Minervini Antonio, Owner at Osteria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Hi, First of all I'd like to tell you that the managment is the same as per last 10 years. You said that you have been coming here for many many years ....but you never left a positive review for us but you did today...you...More

Reviewed 20 August 2023

We went there for dinner and were very happy we went there. Interior is very nice, especially the front section (try to get a table there). Menu has all what you would expect from an Italian restaurant. As a starter I had the Funghi Fritti...which was very tasteful and as a main course I took the spaghetti carbonara; also very good. My partner took the pizza Ortolaan which was also very good.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2023

What a find. We were looking for somewhere for lunch during the cycling championships in Glasgow and so glad we stumbled across this wee gem on John St. We had the lunch menu and could not have been more satisfied. A great selection of Italian...classics. Quite quiet which surprised me as the food is amazing. We had mozzarella sticks and garlic mushrooms (named the Italian way on the menu)😅 lasagne and carbonara. The first time I had carbonara was in Budapest cooked by an Italian in a camping stove and have been trying to find somewhere that makes it as well...I've found it. Absolutely beautiful restaurant, great service and pretty reasonable prices. We look forward to coming back🇮🇹More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2023

Food & service at Ostera is first class Would recommend to try lovely cosy little restaurant in John street First class lasagna yummy Pizza was really nice & tasty Chicken & pasta chefs special for myself & the desert was the best yummy It’s a...must ❤️More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023

Me and my friends didn't have reservation today, but the person at the door did the impossible to give us a table, they looked really busy but the staff was very attentive and the food was delicious 😋. Definitely recommend

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023

It was our first visit to Glasgow, we walked into Osteria. It has been beautiful dinner with outstanding service star to finish. Great food very tasty. Would definitely return for the quality of food and attentive service.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023

Went for a lunch in this Italian restaurant.The staff is friendly and the layout of the restaurant is beautiful.I had the garlic king prawns for my starter and my friend had a bruschetta.Both starter were very testy and well presented. Pizzas with our main ....Very good experience and definitely will be back soon.High recommend this Italian restaurant in Merchant City. Thank you.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2023

Once we arrived we found the restaurant full there were 4 of us but the manager was very kind, he found us a table immediately, the service was magnificent fast and friendly, the food very good and tasty. I recommend it to everyone

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rab Ha's Hotel
51 reviews
.07 miles away
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
1,463 reviews
.08 miles away
AC Hotel by Marriott Glasgow
8 reviews
.09 miles away
The Brunswick Hotel
578 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Soulsa Bar & Kitchen
122 reviews
.07 miles away
Committee Room No 9
527 reviews
.01 miles away
Rab Ha's
208 reviews
.07 miles away
The Corinthian Club
1,152 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Trades Hall of Glasgow
51 reviews
.08 miles away
Glasgow Cenotaph
12 reviews
.08 miles away
Scottish Youth Theatre
5 reviews
.06 miles away
Thomas Campbell Statue
9 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kirstin S
23 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from floydmoet | Reviewed this property |
sorry no idea
1
Vote
Jackie C
28 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from russell m | Reviewed this property |
Great range on set menu. Any pizza from the a la carte or a good choice of fish and meat mains. £8.49 menu is for 2 courses plus a glass of wine. Excellent food. think set menu can be viewed online.
2
Votes
mairi9955
22 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from mijmap | Reviewed this property |
Yes they offer gluten free alternatives
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

OSTERIA, Glasgow - Merchant City - Updated 2023 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Osteria

Yes, Osteria offers takeaway services.

Yes, Osteria is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Osteria is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 5