We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Waverley Tea Room

££ - £££
British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
+44 845 659 5903
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri 11:00 - 02:00
Sat 10:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had my girlfriends baby shower in the front glass room, tons of space, and a great set up for our party of 14. We were able to come in early and set up the room ( which was free of charge 👍🏼) and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and presented very nicely, couldn't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dale R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed the Thai Curry with Flat Bread and side portion of curly fries My daughter got Brisket shredded chilli and enjoyed it very much The Waverley has been opened a number of years now For this reason it's a bit tired looking So really in need of a refurbishment It also has a soft play area for children very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank elizgoodwin
TeaGlasgow, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi elizgoodwin, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we're glad that you enjoyed our Brisket Chilli - it's one of our favourites too! We're taking on board your comments about us looking a little tired and hope to have a fresh new look in time for the summer so stay tuned! Thanks again, More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want a quieter lunch. This isn't the place. It's a bar with soft play area. Our order wasn't overly complicated - NO goats cheese , but still they managed to get it wrong. The fish, described as haddock, was nothing short of disgusting and tepid at best in temperature. I'd be embarrassed to serve it. The overall service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
venue_manager70, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review Richard. We're sorry our food wasn't up to scratch on your visit. We are a family friendly restaurant and as such sometimes it can get noisy - we do have our Glass Box available for those looking for a quieter place for a bite to eat away from our busier are upstairs. if... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

This bar is beautifully decorated inside - makes you forget you are not in Merchant city or the West End. The drinks are not the cheapest but worth it if you are looking for somewhere nice to go nearby. They often have music, including an open mic night for children which I believe is on a Sunday.

Helpful?
Thank MissNicolaDee
venue_manager70, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi MissNicolaDee Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and agree the style in the Waverley Tearoom is very comfortable and cosy. I am afraid we do not do the open mic nights any more but please check out our facebook page for... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

A group of 16 of us went in December 2016 for a three-course Christmas dinner and we were not disappointed. We were given the booth downstairs to ourselves which made for a great atmosphere. The food was fantastic and consistent throughout all courses, everyone had a great time and was delighted with their meal.

Helpful?
Thank michaelbarker94
venue_manager70, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thank you very much for your lovely review! So glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the Glass Box downstairs, you were all wonderful guests! We would love to see you back, maybe for a more casual a la carte meal and some drinks. Thanks again, Waverley Tea Room Management More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

Our group of 8 adults + grandchild (the birthday girl) were warmly welcomed and quickly seated. Drinks were offered immediately and the food order would have been taken more quickly if the Grannies had stopped blethering. There was a not unreasonable wait for the food (sannies, burgers and dogs) which was freshly cooked, tasty, hot and at a fair price.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BonnyRonnie
venue_manager70, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Ronnie! Thanks so much for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, and that the kids (of all ages!) enjoyed the soft play. It's a great resource, and so you know for your next visit, it's open every day until 5pm. We hope to see you again soon, whether it's during the day or just... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

Been here a few times (submitted a review was 9 Nov 2013) but not been in recently. Went in with my daughter for a bite to eat at tea time & soft drinks. The place was very quiet (only 4 tables occupied). The menu has changed (for the worse I'm afraid). Was on the verge of leaving without ordering but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maryhillcontroller
venue_manager70, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thanks for taking the time to review us again and we are glad to hear you both enjoyed your fish suppers. We brought in our new menu over the summer and so far it has been very popular with our diners. We understand that moving away from a more traditional menu might not suit everyone, although with classics... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Have visited numerous times for drinks and always enjoy the surroundings and atmosphere, wine prices very reasonable. Visited once for food with s group of friends, food rather disappointing, mediocre pub grub and not very warm, will still return for drinks but probably not for food. Jan,Glasgow

Helpful?
Thank janice g
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi Jan, Thanks for reviewing your recent dinner with us here at Waverley Tea Room, we always appreciate feedback. We are glad to hear you found the drinks prices reasonable, we always try to offer good value for money, whether that's on wine or our bespoke cocktails of the week. However, we would like to apologise if you did not... More 

Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Went to the tea rooms as a celebratory dinner with a group of 12. They had sat us half on low couches and half on chairs - despite the fact that at the time of booking the table we had been shown the same area but with chairs on both sides. The service was poor with the starters late and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chuckles575
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hello there, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your meal, we always appreciate feedback, whatever form it comes in . Chuckles, we are terribly sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us here at the Waverley Tea Room. We aim to offer value for money while still providing quality goods such as... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Table booked for 12 friends half of which had to sit at neck height on sofas. The waiter couldn't get basic orders correct. And my best advice is do not order ANY food here. You pay a premium because it's kind of hipster but the food is worse than weather spoons grub. Big thick fried from frozen chips, tiny portions,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
venue_support, Manager at The Waverley Tea Room, responded to this review

Hello there, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your meal, we always appreciate feedback, whatever form it comes in . We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us here at the Waverley Tea Room. We aim to offer value for money while still providing quality goods such as the... More 

Travellers who viewed The Waverley Tea Room also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Waverley Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$27
Cuisine
British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 02:00
Saturday
10:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Moss Side Road, Glasgow G41 3TN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 845 659 5903
Description
Situated on the Southside of Glasgow, in the bustling area of Shawlands, join us for a drink, a bite to eat and service that stands out when compared to other pubs and restaurants in the area. If you work, shop or live in the Southside area, then The Waverley Tea Room is here to offer you a great venue for drinking, dining and above all relaxing. We are an excellent venue whether there are just a couple of you, or you are looking for a group booking.

With the largest open air terrace and beer garden this side of the Clyde, we are specialists when it comes to al fresco. If the Glasgow weather is a little too fresh for you, then we have our stylish restaurant situated in our glass conservatory, or the cosy interior of the traditional Tea Room, where you can sit, relax and be overwhelmed by our floor to ceiling wine gantry.

Whatever the time of day you visit, you'll find a welcome with a smile.

From all of us here at The Waverley Tea Room, we look forward to seeing you.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waverley Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?