We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
European, British, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
172
82
30
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
172
82
30
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops fish and chips cullen skink bread pudding pork soup shortest street mackays hotel excellent food fresh ingredients cooked to perfection nice touch waiting staff dining experience at reasonable prices lovely meal
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely meal here while doing the north coast 500. We called to reserve a table earlier in the day to make sure we didn’t miss out. We both had special main courses - I had the salmon and my...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Dear swallace0 Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are delighted you enjoyed the food and felt safe as well as well looked after. Enjoy the rest of the North Coast 500 there are some amazing views! Warm...More

Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

i have had some fantastic food in scotland but the mackays No1 bistro has got to be the worst dinner. i ordered the mankfish and scallops only to find they had forgotten the scallops. how can you forget the scallops. I then ordered the cheese...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Dear Grant J Thank you for leaving your comments and I am truly sorry you did not have the same experience that the majority of guests do. I have asked the team and Vikki remembers the night you were in. As soon as you mentioned...More

Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

We came here for dinner on Sun 20th and had a lovely meal. Could not fault the food, green veg cake to start followed by monkfish and scallops and salmon, asparagus and creamed potatoes. Service was also good with no waiting to speak of. And...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Dear Skinboy Many thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your visit. The bar are was decorated in 2016 :-( - guess it's too retro, when we put in the lights in 2016 we thought the wine bottles were very fitting, Great to read you...More

Reviewed 22 September 2020

Very disappointing. Ordered monk fish and scallops. Not quite the most expensive thing on the menu but near enough. Considering Wick is on the coast i would expect this to be a lot better than it was. 2 tiny scallops which were overcooked and the...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Dear Sandyb949 Sorry to read you didn’t enjoy your meal as much as our other guests do. The scallops are part of the monkfish dish not the main part hence only 2 and we use only hand dived Orkney scallops. Did you let our team...More

Reviewed 22 September 2020

Service poor. Food very poor (can only assume it was chef's night off). Monk fish and scallops....both overcooked to where they inedible....with dauphinoir potatoes (that weren't)....and raw veg. I can do al dente, but these were raw. Would not recommend. I felt that they were...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Dear AndyBest Thank you for your comments, from the booking lists we have I couldn’t find your name so I’m not sure when you were in. I am sorry we did not deliver for you and that you didn’t feel well looked after, I have...More

Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

In this strange COVID world, the service and food are outstanding. Staff are friendly and personable, yet not overbearing. Had the haddock chips cooked to perfection, fabulous house white and groaning cheeseboard. What’s not to like!!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Dear 867jimd So glad you feel we still deliver even under the Covid-19 restrictions, it is challenging and we think the team do a great job. Our chefs will be happy with your comments on the food 🙃 Warm regards Ellie

Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

Fantastic service and delicious food! Kevin and Vikki were extremely attentive and highly knowledgeable about the menu and offered great recommendations. The food was superb. Extremely fresh and highly enjoyed our meals! Will be recommending to all my friends who visit Wick.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Dear 11erobb Thank you for your review, great to read you enjoyed your visit so much! Kevin and Vikki will be delighted that you felt well looked after, as am I. Warm regards Ellie

Reviewed 20 September 2020

Good food and service at this restaurant and they followed all covid guidelines. This did mean that there was limited space and you definitely have to book in advance.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Dear John S So pleased you enjoyed your visit and thought our Covid-19 measures were in place. It is advisable to book in advance as we are busy and space is limited. Hope you enjoyed the NC500! Warm regards Ellie

Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

A really brilliant meal. Excellent food and good service A very Covid aware and secure environment The monkfish was brilliant and the chocolate fondant desert was amazing

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Dear Albia-Newton Thank you for letting us know, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and felt safe dining with us. Hope you enjoy the rest of you trip. Warm regards Ellie

Reviewed 16 September 2020 via mobile

Food was good except for deserts, service was good, everyone very pleasant. Unfortunately we booked a table at the Bistro No 1 and were given a table in MacKays hotel bar. The management appear to think this is acceptable due to COVID 19 restrictions. It...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
MackaysHotelandNo1, Owner at No 1 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Dear nbpetmeg Thank you for your comments. With the reduction in tables due to covid restrictions we can no longer accommodate all bookings in the bistro. If people specifically request the Bistro we do explain their table may be in the Dining Room or bar...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mackays Hotel
614 reviews
.01 miles away
Breadalbane House Hotel
74 reviews
.30 miles away
Brown Trout Hotel
57 reviews
7.79 miles away
Castle Arms Hotel
308 reviews
14.37 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bord de L'eau
324 reviews
.20 miles away
Devitas Pizzeria & Cafe
217 reviews
.15 miles away
Wickers World
139 reviews
.27 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wick Heritage Museum
276 reviews
.25 miles away
Caithness Seacoast Ltd
123 reviews
.39 miles away
Pulteney Distillery Visitor Centre
250 reviews
.55 miles away
Nucleus: The Nuclear and Caithness Archives
20 reviews
.82 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JaneS774
11 September 2020|
Answer
Response from MackaysHotelandNo1 | Property representative |
Dear JaneS For some reason the answer I wrote isn’t appearing. I have amended my reply to your review. Apologies for my error. I’m guessing the Scot Govt think music could cause people to shout, not that ours was anything... More
0
Votes
Rox-78
5 August 2019|
Answer
Response from MackaysHotelandNo1 | Property representative |
Hello, yes you can book a table for our bar are. You don't have to book however it's best so that you aren't disappointed if we are full. Contact us by phone 01955 602323 or email Hope to see you soon!
0
Votes
Shaden A
14 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MackaysHotelWick | Property representative |
Yes we do!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about No 1 Bistro
    How is No 1 Bistro rated?
    No 1 Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 3.5