We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Pub, Gastropub, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
68
17
12
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
68
17
12
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland hospitality traditional pub sunday dinner generous portions booked a table chef
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Warm,friendly and inviting three words that sum up this pub perfectly. Food was excellent and very important to us our dog was most welcome in the bar. Great find for us and cannot recommend enough.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife Brenda organised a dinner for all the family and the staff gave us a room for all of us, the room & tables were set up lovely. The menu was great and the food was first class and was the service of the...staff. Like to say thank you to everyone involved in given us all a great day.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 April 2022

Dogs allowed in the bar - children allowed in the restaurant but can't have both in the same place...More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2022

Your review headline is very unfair. Learn then law of the land Sara. In Scotland, children under 14 years of age are not allowed in a public bar area. Not our rule it is the law. We allow dogs in our bar and beer garden...More

Reviewed 25 January 2022

A must visit if you're in the area. Great atmosphere and quality dining. Oh and a lovely view of the Beauly Firth out the back !!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022
Google Translation

Cheers Matt

Reviewed 2 January 2022

Four of us had lunch here following a long walk. Very warmly welcomed, and the food was delicious, especially the warming lentil soup. Two great beers too, the hand pump Jarl a great pint. Good to see an old traditional pub keeping its warm cosy...look, a real fire and unpretentious decor. Just one slight surprise, not sure why two televisions were on with no one looking at them, and the fruit machine looks out of place in a gem of a pub which doesn't need either televisions or fruit machines.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022

Thanks Paul, we try to keep it as rustic as poss. Sorry about the fruit machine but our regulars like it and some probably love it. TV's are for the sport but your right in the sense that no one really watches them but then...More

Reviewed 30 August 2021

Wow, what can I say, 4th or 5th lunch had here and never a complaint. Quaint gorgeous location, clean and amenities and chatty super friendly staff, well done.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Thanks for the great review. I'll pass on to the staff. Cheers

Reviewed 24 August 2021

The ‘Clach’ is an unpretentious traditional Highland inn which we had not visited before. Although it was the chef’s day off (Monday) Jimmy the proprietor asked him to come in and cater for us.Our group of eleven enjoyed a prebooked meal after a Loch Ness...cruise and with healthy appetites. We received a warm welcome and were ushered in to the fairly small restaurant at the rear where we we were served by the most delightful and friendly staff. The meal was excellent with generous portions at very reasonable prices. The whole experience was splendid and rounded off a perfect day. Thank you Jimmy and staff. George MacleodMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Hello George, Glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm sorry I missed you leaving personally as the dug wanted out for a bit. But one or two if your family thanked us as they left. Cheers and all the best.

Reviewed 6 August 2021

Booked a table for 4 plus dog and everything went well with the meal, the Haddock & Chips were superb, the dog we had with us that was made very welcome and when we went out to the seated area there was a drink station...in place for the dog, great. The only down side was one of the staff was a bit nippy with us all, but we all have bad days, we will be back as the food was great and hope she has her happy face on when we return.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Cheers Grumf, Thanks for the review. I'll pass comments to staff. Cheers

Reviewed 4 August 2021

Just returned from trying to have lunch in the Clachnaharry Inn - a place I have frequented regularly over many years and through a succession of owners. We were greeted at the bar to be told that the lunch menu was not available, only the...main menu, but that was quickly overruled by another member of staff (maybe the manager/owner?) and asked where we would like to sit. Out of the three options we went for the lounge, which was in darkness apart from light coming in the window, and were presented with crumpled paper menus. The waitress was friendly, asked what we would like to drink, and left us to look at the menus. She came back soon after to say that there was no ginger beer and after some deliberation another choice was made. On her return we ordered baked potatoes with different fillings from a limited menu mainly featuring sandwiches/toasties/rolls. Shortly after she returned again with the news that there were no baked potatoes, she apologised once more, and at that point we decided that we would not eat after all. Food service is only Wednesday to Sunday so it seems strange that they would be short of stock at 1pm on the first day when the place was not busy. We went to the bar to pay for the drinks left sitting on the table (which we would not have ordered if not eating lunch) and I suggested to the waitress “it might be a good idea for you to find out what’s going on when you come on shift”. But before I had the chance to complete the sentence the manager/owner said that I was being very rude and attacking a young girl. My wife interjected to say that was not the case, I was trying to make a constructive comment, and rather than escalate the situation any further I pointed out to the manager/owner that maybe staff should get an update when coming on duty of any relevant issues. Having just gone through a pandemic I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect shared menus to be laminated, or placed in a poly-pocket, so they can be easily cleaned. Both the lunch and main menus are quite limited so if there are items unavailable then customers need to be told at the outset (and if you have any food allergies or preferences then I wouldn’t bother). I have enjoyed some good times here with friends and family in the past, even over festive periods, but this will be my last visit under the current ownership.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Well Sir, you and your wife really do have a bee in your bonnets about Wednesday. Are you feeling a tad guilty after you were aggresive to the young waitress and so blame the pub. This was reported to me by other staff and the...More

Reviewed 5 June 2021

If you’re exempt from wearing a mask, you will be completely discriminated against, by the owner, (who was squeezed in with lots of his customers, none of whom were wearing masks, everyone huddled together in a tiny bar). He will ASK you “what disability do...you have?” in front of a packed bar. If you want to make an Indirect Discrimination claim, this is the bar to to to! I don’t think they understand the Equality Act at all. Lucky I have thick skin - many of you won’t. Good luck.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?13  
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Hello There Madam, I remember you well or at least my EARS do. I see by your Tripadvisor handle that you are one of the worlds diesel polluters!!! As far as the mask issue is concerned can I ask what you do in a Supermarket....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
North Kessock Hotel
324 reviews
.98 miles away
MacDougall Clansman Hotel
135 reviews
1.28 miles away
River Ness Hotel, a Member of Radisson Individuals
64 reviews
1.29 miles away
Pentahotel Inverness
1,716 reviews
1.31 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
North Kessock Hotel - Restaurant Cuisine
285 reviews
.98 miles away
White Cottage Tea Room
160 reviews
1.00 miles away
Jammy Piece
115 reviews
.59 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Merkinch Local Nature Reserve
44 reviews
.97 miles away
The Clachnaharry Inn
17 reviews
.00 miles away
Explore Highland
66 reviews
.10 miles away
Infinity Trampoline Park Inverness
73 reviews
.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mary M
10 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Jim G | Property representative |
Hello Mary Not much but if you have real trouble come in and get me to move my car. Cheers
0
Votes
creafdhubh
5 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bruce3479 | Reviewed this property |
Not a lot of room but yes OK if the weather's fine
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Clachnaharry Inn

The Clachnaharry Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5