We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Pub, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (146)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
87
23
14
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
87
23
14
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips soup steak and ale pie pudding ice cream caledonian canal sunday lunch pub gravy
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

Stopped off on a walk in the snow along the Caledonian Canal. Lovely cosy small pub steeped in history. Absolutely nothing like the brewery chains. Lunch was really tasty. Recommend the steak and ale pie and stacked burger. Reasonably priced too. Great to see the...new managers doing a good job and very friendly.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Good place, good staff, excellent to go to with friends for drinks. A weekly quiz would be great for the place. - Jack

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zjax Whiteley, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That is good to hear!

Reviewed 23 December 2023 via mobile

Friendly staff serving great food and real ales in front of a cosy fire. We had the fish & chips and steak & ale pie. Would recommend both and will certainly be returning.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zjax Whiteley, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind words Scott! We hope to have you back soon for another warm pub meal soon!

Reviewed 26 September 2023

Finally visited this pub which friends of mine rave about. Picked the wettest day of the year and arrived drenched, but soon dried out. Lovely wee old-fashioned pub full of friendly locals. Unfortunately the kitchen was closed for unspecified reasons, but the atmosphere made up...for it. Barman knew his job, very approachable. Hopefully be able to try the food on my next visit.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Gardiner, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

Hello Gordon, Thanks for the review. Aye the Chef had left and gone to another job outside of hospitality however new chef's etc from December 1st so food offer will be up and running again. Cheers

Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

70th Birthday. Service was great even though they were busy with football on TV, our party and other visitors. Outside area was perfect and function suite was ideal. Buffet was excellent with about 5 curries, Bhajis and samosa, rice and naan. I didn’t make the...desert as I enjoyed the curries too much. Thanks for a great afternoon/ evening!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Gardiner, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

Thanks Chris glad all enjoyed it, especially your hosts G&J.

Reviewed 28 May 2023

After a 7 mile hike on the Caledonian canal we Americans and Brits ended up here for some pints and early dinner. Very good and reasonably priced. My steak and ale pie, my first ever was very good and vert hearty! A nice relaxed and...fun pub atmosphere with friendly people.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Gardiner, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Cheers for that glad you enjoyed.

Reviewed 24 April 2023 via mobile

I am sad to say that the attitude of a female member of staff on two occasions now has meant we will not be returning despite the good pub food. The woman in question did not introduce herself and “barked” are you wanting food and...before I could respond was told we’re full the kitchens closed and I’ve got 14 people through there. None of this did I need to hear. Some advice for her for future on customer service. Greet your customers say hello and acknowledge they may have come a distance. Then politely enquire whether we would be expecting to have food. Then simple apology that due to unanticipated level of activity this could not be accommodated. A suggestion for other options would have helped someone not local. The woman did not appear to be coping with the level of activity, we have busted when less busy and she is more friendly. We made the assumption the bar was not interested in anyone not local. Disappointing and not the Highland welcome we expect - it’s not that difficult to communicate without leaving the customer feeling like they are a nuisance for happening along when it was busy. Did make us laugh though as we went off into the rain to find somewhere else we got a lovely welcome at the Waterfront - they were also busy but accommodated us with a smile. 😊More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Gardiner, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Thanks for the review Karen. Always advisable to call ahead and book. Saves everyone angst. Cheers.

Reviewed 15 January 2023 via mobile

The attitude of staff can make or break a nice family meal, no matter how good the food is, and at this restaurant it really is a roll of the dice. One member of staff, a gentleman, was helpful, kind and accommodating the first time...we went; the woman, on the other hand, could not have been less welcoming on another visit, treated us like an imposition rather than paying customers, and was actively rude to our daughter who is only 5 and has autism and then very rude to myself when I spoke up for my daughter - I’m not sure there is need to go into details but it was a disgusting way to be treated and our daughter was very distressed! We ended up taking our business elsewhere and my Mum who was going to take other family members there for a meal at the weekend decided not to because of the treatment we received, these 2 visits amounting to around £200 revenue for the restaurant lost. The food was exquisite, for credit where it's due, but we are apprehensive to visit again after the bad experiences outnumbered the good ones, and our daughter no longer feels safe or welcome there.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2023

Goodness me Jessica, You have now joined Trip Advisior on Sunday and Google Business on the same day so you could give US a bad review on two platforms. Then when you did not like my reply to your Google review you joined Google a...More

Reviewed 23 October 2022 via mobile

Visited here for 1st time today lovely , friendly service and delicious food.😊we will be recommending here to family & friends and hope to come back soon.10/10

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2022 via mobile

My wife and I went there for an excellent Sunday Roast this afternoon. Dessert was superb, my better half ordered chocolate fudge cake and ice cream, I had the wonderful sticky toffee pudding (not at all stodgy like some), and ice cream. We also went...there 2 nights ago for an equally nice meal (Cumbernauld sausages in a thick gravy with wine, creamy mashed potatoes and veg). My dessert that night was a melt in the mouth bruleed cheesecake. The best! Very polite and helpful staff. Nice location too. When we come up to Inverness again, we will head to this value for money venue!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Thanks Paul Happy your visit was good. Cheers

Reviewed 27 September 2022 via mobile

The warmest welcome, great service and AMAZING FOOD! We went several times during our holiday and heartily recommend this lovely old inn.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Cheers Ann, glad your visit was good. Thanks for calling in.

Reviewed 14 August 2022 via mobile

Recently spent a few days in the Inverness area. Visited the Clachnaharry on a few occasions for food and drink. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, the food fresh, delicious and plentiful, the Guinness was a cracking pint and very reasonably priced. I will...be back.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Thanks Jake, I'll let the staff know. Cheers

Reviewed 18 July 2022

No designated footpath which made the journey perilous. Staff friendly and accomodating, but sticky table tops - always a bit of a let down! Would visit again thoughMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2022

Hello Karen, Sticky table tops due to being sanitised after every visit so not much of a let down. For some reason it makes the varnish sticky for a period of time. Thanks for the review and the comments it is still good to know...More

Reviewed 8 July 2022 via mobile

Me and my father had a 2 course meal tonight and it was pretty good. Nothing wrong with the food because we both enjoyed our soup and nachos and steak pie and fish and chips. We just thought the atmosphere and menu was a bit...boring. Good service and the waiting staff were very kind to us. We would recommend for a nice friday night.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Good pub grub Josh that's what it is. menu was refreshed just 1 month ago. As for atmosphere, sorry we don't do disco's or have Oasis playing here on a Friday night. just great 'conversation'. Cheers

Reviewed 29 May 2022

We'd read all the recent reviews about Sunday lunch so we're looking forward to being well fed today. However, I have to say we were disappointed. My son arrived first and ordered a lemonade which he later told us was flat (but he didn't want...to make a fuss). Then, having left jugs of water, the waiter didnt take our actual drinks order, but disappeared completely; only after another family, arrived, were seated and their orders taken and arrived, and we'd asked their waitress if we our own waiter was coming back, did he reappear - and was very polite and helpful thereafter. Eventually our starters arrived (halloumi fries tasty!) but by the time our main course arrived we'd been sitting for almost an hour and a half. The other family were already finished and ready to leave! And, it so disappointing to discover that not only was the veg all cooked from frozen (soggy broccoli!) but so were the roast potatoes and yorkshires. We'd been expecting a proper home cooked Sunday lunch, and this wasn't it at all. Though, the gravy was good. We decided not to bother with pudding. Sorry to give such a negative review, but we'd hoped for better, especially as we are local and had previously heard good reports.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim G, Owner at The Clachnaharry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Sorry you were disappointed. I have asked around the staff and no-one has any memory of anyone waiting an hour and a half for their main course. As for the service we are a pub and just as happens in other similar establishments people order...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
North Kessock Hotel
359 reviews
.98 miles away
AC Hotel Inverness
116 reviews
1.11 miles away
MacDougall Clansman Hotel
143 reviews
1.28 miles away
River Ness Hotel, a Member of Radisson Individuals
278 reviews
1.29 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
North Kessock Hotel - Restaurant Cuisine
315 reviews
.98 miles away
White Cottage Tea Room
179 reviews
1.00 miles away
Jammy Piece
132 reviews
.59 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
North Kessock Community Pier
6 reviews
.97 miles away
Merkinch Local Nature Reserve
47 reviews
.97 miles away
Explore Highland
69 reviews
.10 miles away
Infinity Trampoline Park Inverness
77 reviews
.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mary M
10 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Zjax W | Property representative |
Hello Mary Not much but if you have real trouble come in and get me to move my car. Cheers
0
Votes
creafdhubh
5 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bruce3479 | Reviewed this property |
Not a lot of room but yes OK if the weather's fine
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE CLACHNAHARRY INN, Inverness - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Clachnaharry Inn

The Clachnaharry Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5