We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hectors Bothy

) #2 of 11 Restaurants in Kyle of Lochalsh ££ - £££ Cafe, British,
Station Road, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AE, Scotland
+44 1599 534248
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good42%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (21 reviews)
“cakes” (23 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Station Road, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AE, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here en route to the Isle of Skye. Being a Sunday, there were limited options for eating, and Hector's was busy, and understaffed, so the waitresses were run off their feet ... adding further staff might be helpful in turning over tables and...More

Thank La_tiburona
Reviewed 1 week ago

There isn't much choice in Kyle of Loch Alsh but this was a nice place with a good view of the Loch. We had a beer and the took the chance to connect to WiFi. It was busy and lots of people were eating what...More

Thank MIADangerous
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We eat vegetarian lasagne, Cheeseburger and a filled potato. Not very good Quality! The taste of the burger was very strange. The restaurant was full and we thought it would be a Great choise but unfortunatly is was waste of time!More

2  Thank Dirk H
hectorsbothy, Owner at Hectors Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. WHY when asked did you say everything was fine, leave the building and write this response, it does not make sense to me. If you were not happy with the meal you had plenty of opportunity to bring it to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great breakfast at Hectors yesterday. Generous portion and free drink refill certainly worth the money. Staff were friendly and attentive. We both had the Fully Bothy breakfast and it was delicious. Def worth a look.

Thank Tracey H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I turned up off the train for a bit of lunch And looked @ the menu for about ten minutes and maid my mind up what to have The reseurant was busy and it was table service so I waited and waited and I was...More

2  Thank pauljones0310
hectorsbothy, Owner at Hectors Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. I really get annoyed with people like yourself who do not tell the truth on trip advisor. The blonde lady in question did acknowledge you and was coming over to serve you next. In fact she would have served you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent 4 weeks caravanning in Scotland and happened upon Hector's on the way back from Portree. Made very welcome by the staff, we ordered sandwiches which came with a lovely salad, and some chips to share. Whilst waiting we were pleased to...More

Thank Alison B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Go here for lunch or a drink. Food is ok. It's not cosy and I wouldn't go here for a special meal. Good location with free parking.

Thank frankofan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an awkward review as I'm struggling to find the right description without patronising. After reading the TripAdvisor reviews, we wanted to try Hectors Bothy during our three night stay on Skye. My partner and I are down to earth and after eating at...More

1  Thank nig87101
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited twice last June. First day was for morning coffee . . . was only place we could find . . . but we weren't disappointed! We returned couple of days later and had lunch and that did us proud. So much per portion, we...More

Thank DeeMarshian
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In a hurry to catch a train, me and two colleagues got take away sandwiches from Hectors Bothy. The portions were large, the food was tasty and reasonably priced. Fast service made for an even better experience.

Thank Irianna V
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Waterside Seafood Restaurant
308 reviews
.08 miles away
King Haakon
132 reviews
.72 miles away
Harry's Coffee Shop
155 reviews
.74 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Skye Island Tours Day Tours
19 reviews
.99 miles away
Kyle Line (Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh)
235 reviews
.07 miles away
Skye Tours
79 reviews
.06 miles away
Kyle Station Visitor Centre
34 reviews
.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DeborahTrest
26 May 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from hectorsbothy | Property representative |
Hi Sorry for not replying I am on trip advisor daily and this is the first time this has popped up. Unfortunately the wall hangings are supplied to us through a mutual friend who does not take orders out with. I'm sorry as... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochalsh  >  Kyle of Lochalsh
  • Phone Number: +44 1599 534248
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing