We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
£5 - £10
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
View all details
features, about
Reviews (51)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
28
7
6
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
28
7
6
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch scones brioche roll panini soup large furniture great coffee relaxed atmosphere prices are reasonable grampians cuppa mocha chips
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 January 2024

I ordered Vegetarian sausages. When my food arrived my sausages did not present themselves as vegetarian so I had a family member try them. I asked a waitress if they were vegetarian to which she went and asked the kitchen. Turns out there had been...a mistake made and they had gave me REAL sausages. This is a serious mistake to be made. I will not be returning.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Threaplands, Owner at Grampian Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Hi Ruby, apologies for the mistake, I believe the mistake arose when it was a sausage and black pudding roll which of course black pudding is not vegetarian. very sorry about the mistake but of course, we are all human and unfortunately not perfect.

Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

Waiting time customers service after seated over half hr rude manager/supervisor rude staff and look like not wanting to be there service shocking lovely food shame about the rest

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Threaplands, Owner at Grampian Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Hi Global, your visit was on our busiest ever day when we were the only restaurant open in Elgin. Service wasn't perfect but equally wasn't normal. Give us another try on a normal day and I am sure you will leave happy.

Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Visited previously which was ok but won’t be returning after our experience today. Arrived at 11:40 for lunch and was seated but after that ignored as we sat with our 1 year old son and seen them serve 3 tables who came in after us....The couple behind us as we came in were eating and drinking as we still waited for the kids menu. When we raised our issue with a staff member she was rude and said she would go and check… Not sure what she wanted to check so we decided to leave and will not return. Very very disappointingMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Threaplands, Owner at Grampian Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Hi Scott, very sorry we obviously missed writing your table down on our list hence why you were missed. This should have been picked up on by one of the team which I can only apologies for but please if you go anywhere, not just...More

Reviewed 29 October 2023

Great coffee and food at a reasonable price but grumpy staff member made us feel an inconvenience from the moment we arrived. Why? We left when she started clearing our dishes without asking if we were finished. We weren’t but apparently it was time for...us to leave. It wasn’t too busy. Family leisure time is too precious to pay to feel unwelcome. Real shame.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2022 via mobile

This is a nicely laid out cafe located in the upper floor of a large furniture store on the Eastern outskirts of Elgin. Disabled access is well catered for with ample disabled parking and a lift in place for access to the upper floor. There...is a good range of lunch options and snacks and prices are reasonable. Service was quick and very friendly. I have previously enjoyed lunches at the cafe but in this case it was a cuppa and a cake. RecommendedMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2022 via mobile

Went here yesterday to browse around the shop, so much beautiful things. Had a lovely light lunch 😋. It was just yummy 😋. Very friendly staff and so attentive. I definitely recommend coming here for furniture ect. And definitely have a coffee ☕ or lunch....Thank you 😊More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2022 via mobile

Good location just off the A96, set in an independent furniture shop. Very spacious interior and relaxed atmosphere with good selection of simple meals, which is what I think makes a place like this work. Didn't take too long to arrive and staff service was...friendly. Everything tasted great. I had a panini with chicken, chorizo and roasted pepper, came with fries. Ordered a large mocha after reading another review, and it didn't disappoint. They have a good selection of cakes and scones for desert. Will definitely return next time in Elgin.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2022

I have been struggling to find really good quality coffee In the moray area and Grampian coffee house has satisfied my craving. We also got lunch of a sandwich and a soup. Great tasting soup and amazing portions! Thanks again and we will be back...to taste your scones :)More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

I have finally found somewhere that does THE perfect bacon roll !!! Lovely hot Brioche Roll with loads of butter and masses of hot crispy bacon - simply THE best I have ever tasted ( and I’ve tasted a few !!! ) The other food...coming out looks just as amazing …. Hot croissants with cheese and bacon - yum !! The panini with chips looks good and don’t get me started on their cake cabinet …. Or the size of the scones . I visited this coffee shop once before when it was run by another franchise and was hugely disappointed. I’m so glad I was persuaded to go back . I’ve been a few times now ( always for a bacon roll ) …. And will be sure to return a few more times to taste more . Service is great / always with a smile ( and served quickly too when you need it ) … but also no rush to enjoy a leisurely coffee if that’s your choice . Covid friendly too … so clean and spacious. Go …. Just go …. And try the bacon roll .. or you are missing out on one of the best little pleasures in life.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2022 via mobile

Lunch here with my husband and sister-in-law. Great atmosphere, helpful, friendly staff & a really interesting, tasty menu

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2022

We took our son here so we could enjoy a coffee while he enjoyed the view of the passing cars. The coffee was lovely, the cakes were great and the staff were friendly. All in all a lovely place for a relaxing coffee.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2022

Visited today, Sunday and mostly everything about this place is good, apart from the appalling slow service. Great location, good coffee and all the plates I saw coming out, including ours looked great. Regrettably the six or so waiting staff, although polite and very pleasant...have only one gear. When our order was eventually taken and the drinks finally came we waited at least ten minutes hit the food. We then ordered more drinks only for them to finally arrive 10 minutes after we had finished the food. I watched as one made drinks and another four chatted. What should be a very smooth running ship is absolutely rudderless with no one in charge and no self awareness of timing.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Garden Centre, Owner at Grampian Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2022

Hi Nigle, You definitely caught us on a bad day. As the saying goes, when the cat’s away the mice will play. Thank you for your honest review. We were able to approach the team with your comments for which they fully apologise. Occasionally a...More

Reviewed 28 October 2021 via mobile

Excellent coffee house. My wife said it was the best Mocha she's ever had! The millionaire short bread I had was amazing as well. Will stop in by next time we're in Elgin!

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Garden Centre, Owner at Grampian Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It’s very much appreciated. I remember chatting to you when you were in and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.

Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

A lovely airy upstairs restaurant overlooking the A96. Part of a large furniture store. Plenty of choices for a light lunch or afternoon cake and cuppa. Service was quick and friendly, our lunch was very enjoyable and prices were reasonable. No problems with disabled access...as a lift available. RecommendedMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Threaplands Garden Centre, Owner at Grampian Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

Thank you for reviewing us, I will pass your comments to the team who will be delighted to hear you had a great experience. Thank you and see you again soon.

Reviewed 9 August 2021

Service was good and restaurant was clean and comfortable. However there was no substitutions allowed on the breakfast menu, even when the substitute items were readily available. My wife ended up with a roll with veggie sausages and an egg, even though she wanted the...veggie sausages with the breakfast and some exclusions. The lack of flexibility will probably ensure we don’t go there again for breakfast (our weekly treat) as there are other breakfast locations that give us the flexibility. Otherwise the experience was good as was the location.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Laichmoray Hotel
480 reviews
.85 miles away
The Royal Hotel-Elgin
217 reviews
.86 miles away
Sunninghill Hotel
139 reviews
1.19 miles away
The Mansefield Hotel
268 reviews
1.28 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Laichmoray Hotel Restaurant
275 reviews
.83 miles away
Royal Hotel Restaurant
186 reviews
.86 miles away
Brewers Fayre Linkwood Lodge
956 reviews
.65 miles away
Allarburn Farm Shop
155 reviews
.91 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pluscarden Abbey
123 reviews
.68 miles away
Moray Firth Tours & Transport
21 reviews
.39 miles away
Pinz Bowling
140 reviews
.74 miles away
ACD Executive
36 reviews
.85 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Emma S
25 July 2019|
Answer
Response from clarkie12 | Property representative |
Yes
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

GRAMPIAN COFFEE HOUSE, Elgin - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grampian Coffee House

Yes, Grampian Coffee House offers takeaway services.

Grampian Coffee House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4