We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bothy

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 Kinnoull Street, Perth PH1 5EN, Scotland
+44 1738 449792
Website
Today
10:00 - 00:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 23:30
Mon - Wed 10:00 - 23:00
Thu - Sat 10:00 - 00:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,155: English reviews
Guisborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were in Perth on a weekend getaway, we pre booked as my husband had been before and knew it gets very busy, the food was gorgeous and quite generous portions, we opted for the Xmas set menu and weren't disappointed. The staff were very helpful and polite which made our evening all the more enjoyable. Beautiful setting and in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda26fawcett
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In Perth for a few days prior to Christmas rush in my hotel. Ate here twice and very impressed both times. Catered for my husbands dietary requirements. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank robinslug
Bothy P, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Robinslug, Thank yo for taking the time to give us a great review. We will pass on all your comments to our wider team. we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards The Bothy Team More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We were in a large group and were required to preordered our food. Considering they had prior warning of what we were eating, it took quite a while to be served our first course - 35 minutes - which all of the party felt was quite under whelming. The main course took a while again, the people having fish had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frequenttripper21
Bothy P, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Hi Frequenttripper21, Firstly I'd like to thank you for your review as we appreciate all feedaback positive or negative. I'm so sorry to hear about the recent poor experience you received at The Bothy I was wondering if you could contact me at info@bothyperth.co.uk so can discuss this further with you. Kind Regards The Bothy More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friends & I come here every year for our university catch up. This our 4th year here. All of our meals were lovely, my haggis, neeps & tatties was wonderful. It was so good I would have loved some more. Friendly staff, nice surroundings- especially our couch & warm atmosphere. The piano playing made the night even more special,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Misstwinkle25
Bothy P, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Hi Misstwinkle25, Thank you for your great review. I will pass on all your kind comments to our wider team We look forward to your next visit! Kind Regards The Bothy Team More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a table for 7pm but was held up and arrived at 7.30pm. Although The Bothy was very busy, even turning people away, they had still kept our table. Being busy it was noisy but they had a young pianist playing which was quite pleasant. The meal was very good and staff were pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Colin G
Bothy P, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Hi Colin G, Thank you for your great review. I will pass on all your kind comments to our wider team We look forward to your next visit! Kind Regards The Bothy Team More 

Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived on a very busy Saturday and asked for a table for 5 , there were 3 of us and we were waiting on another 2 . We sat and had a drink while waiting and a table eventually came available. This is when it went downhill after waiting 20 minutes I asked the waitress if she could take... More 

Helpful?
Thank elmamac
Bothy P, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Hi elmamac, Thank you for your review we appreciate all good and bad feedback. We will be sure to pass all your comments on to our wider team. Kind Regards The Bothy Team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This place has luxuriously comfy sofas and live piano playing from time to time. It's a great place to spend the afternoon with a book underneath the head of a stuffed moose.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fran T
Bothy P, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Hi Fran T, Thank you for your great review. I will pass on all your kind comments to our wider team We look forward to your next visit! Kind Regards The Bothy Team More 

Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice building, service vvslow and pricess a bit on the high side interior decor a bit confused to much moving modern with a lovely old building . Don't go if what you want is a quieter drink if you pretentious this is for you !!!!

Helpful?
Thank linton62
venue_manager70, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Hi Linton62 Thank you for your review we appreciate all good and bad feedback. We will be sure to pass all your comments on to our wider team. Kind Regards The Bothy Team More 

Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing place, beautiful food,high level of customer service by smartly kilt dressed staff. On Friday night there was a piano player contributing to the atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Pammuchan1
venue_manager70, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Hi Pammuchan1 Thank yo for taking the time to give us a great review. Jamie our piansit plays on satyrday night too. we will pass on all your comments to our wider team. we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards The Bothy Team More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the Bothy to be very friendly and quiet enough to have a discussion among 9 of us. Each of our group was very satisfied with their dinner. I had Sheperd's pie and it was great.

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence U
venue_manager70, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review

Hi Lawrence U Thank you for your great review. I will pass on all your kind comments to our wider team We look forward to your next visit! Kind Regards The Bothy Team More 

Travellers who viewed The Bothy also viewed

 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$23
Cuisine
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:30
Friday
10:00 - 00:30
Saturday
10:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Kinnoull Street, Perth PH1 5EN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Perth
  • Phone Number: +44 1738 449792
Description
Welcoming Scottish restaurant in PerthLocated on Kinnoull Street, The Bothy Perth is a relaxed restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with Scottish produce. The warm and homely atmosphere is the perfect place to relax with friends or family and to enjoy home-cooked comfort food. Child-friendly and wheelchair accessible, The Bothy Perth is ideally situated for visitors to the Perth Playhouse as well as Perth Theatre.Traditional dishes & hearty foodThe restaurant chefs use the best Scottish produce to offer a varied menu with classic items like Marshall’s macaroni glazed with strong cheddar cheese; freshly battered haddock with tartare sauce, crushed peas and a ‘poke’ (‘portion’, to you non-Scots!) of chips; or pub lunch favourite, the 100% Scottish beef burger with hand cut chips, tomato salsa and pickle.Perth town centre accessibility & transport linksThe Bothy is on Kinnoull Street in the centre of Perth and a brisk 10 minute walk from Perth train station. Paid parking is available in the multi-storey car park along from the restaurant and several bus stops can also be found nearby.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bothy and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Dunfermline, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bothy staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?