We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bothy

££ - £££European, British,
33 Kinnoull Street, Perth PH1 5EN, Scotland
+44 1738 449792
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“haggis” (48 reviews)
“fish and chips” (44 reviews)
“steak” (58 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Kinnoull Street, Perth PH1 5EN, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We just popped in on a Friday night for one drink. The place was busy and got our drinks quickly. Managed to find a seat.More

Thank danceswithroseoz
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear danceswithroseoz, Thank you for leaving us your review of The Bothy. Feedback from our customer is hugely important to us and we take all comments on board to learn from. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to our Bothy Bar...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Liked the bar and drinks we had on Saturday evening. We returned on Sunday 10th June at around 6pm. The small bar was closed so we went into the restaurant and ordered our drinks. I watched in amazement as the barmaid half poured a half...More

Thank Carol B
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Carol B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review of The Bothy. We rely on all customer feedback to continually improve our standards and all comments on board. I am very sorry for the service you experienced upon your visit....More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Haven't been for a while and won't be going back again. Menu sounded great but food we received was sub-standard. Chips ok but Burger roll was dry, burger unpleasant. Kale salad was terrible - literally just a bowl of Kale with few almond flakes and...More

Thank son h
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear son h, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review of The Bothy. We appreciate all feedback we receive from our customers and are always looking for improvements we can make. I can only apologise that you did not enjoy the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was good but not out of this world. Great atmosphere though and the staff were very attentive and friendly. Had the steak sandwich (around 9 pounds).More

Thank Elyse D
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Elyse D, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review of your recent visit to The Bothy. We value all comments from our customers and use all feedback to continually improve our standards. I am delighted to see that you found...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really disappointed with everything. Service was very poor, waiting time shocking, meal of a poor standard and even after my husband complained nothing was offered as way of an apology. Won't be back!!More

Thank Angela G
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Angela G. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review of The Bothy. Feedback from our customer is hugely important to us and we do rely on all comments in order to continually improve. I am very disappointed to read that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I enjoyed a great meal at the Bothy before heading off to Ricky Ross at the Perth Theatre. The food is great, as is the service and staff. It is ideally situated for the Theatre and Perth Concert Hall.More

Thank Highlander2010
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Highlander2010 Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review of your visit to The Bothy. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable meal before heading to the theatre and will be sure to pass along your comments to both...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food good, however felt main portions small. Plentiful in taste and presentation good too. Staff very welcoming and accommodating.More

Thank Kerry-Liam
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kerry-Liam, Thank you for taking time to leave us your review of The Bothy. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal so much, but will be sure to make the kitchen aware of your comments regarding the portion sizes of your main courses....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I went to the Bothy on a return visit after a disappointing experience there a couple of months ago. This time however. ..... We were delighted with the very pleasant staff who made sure that everything was ok for us.Our meal itself...More

Thank Catriona R
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Catriona R, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of your second visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dishes so much and will be sure to pass your comments along to both the kitchen team and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this place for dinner before going to the Lionel Richie concert. I had high hopes of an enjoyable meal having been to The Bothy in Glasgow which was nice so was expecting a repeat performance in Perth. We arrived at 4pm and it took...More

Thank kezzacat80
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear kezzacat80, Can I firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We value all customer feedback, both positive and negative, and use this to continually improve our service and standards. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for brunch but had the lunch menu as an option for my husbands 40th birthday. We went as a family with our 2 kids. We ordered off the brunch menu and the kids menu. The staff were pleasant and prompt with the drinks...More

Thank clairereid001
Bothy P, Sales & Events Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear clairereid001 Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review of The Bothy. Please be assured that we do take on board all comments from our customers are are always looking to improve. I have noted the comments regarding the standard of...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Perth
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
808 reviews
.09 miles away
Mercure Perth Hotel
1,048 reviews
.15 miles away
New County Hotel
821 reviews
.21 miles away
Royal George Hotel
706 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Everest Inn
652 reviews
.12 miles away
Effies of Perth
790 reviews
.08 miles away
Kisa's
596 reviews
.12 miles away
Jade Garden
211 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Perth Concert Hall
279 reviews
.14 miles away
Perth Museum and Art Gallery
276 reviews
.16 miles away
Kirk of St. John the Baptist
66 reviews
.20 miles away
Perth VisitScotland iCentre
47 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sunshine505
19 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Peter W | Reviewed this property |
I don't think dogs is allowed because when i was in The Bothy in April there wasn't any dogs in the restaurant.
0
Votes
Gordon B
7 November 2015|
Answer
Response from AreaManagement | Property representative |
Hi Gordon We are open Christmas Day with a special Festive Menu, booking is very important on this day. Please visit our website to book or contact the venue direct, number is on the website. Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$30
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:30
Friday
10:00 - 00:30
Saturday
10:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Kinnoull Street, Perth PH1 5EN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Perth
  • Phone Number: +44 1738 449792
  • E-mail
Description
Welcoming Scottish restaurant in PerthLocated on Kinnoull Street, The Bothy Perth is a relaxed restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with Scottish produce. The warm and homely atmosphere is the perfect place to relax with friends or family and to enjoy home-cooked comfort food. Child-friendly and wheelchair accessible, The Bothy Perth is ideally situated for visitors to the Perth Playhouse as well as Perth Theatre.Traditional dishes & hearty foodThe restaurant chefs use the best Scottish produce to offer a varied menu with classic items like Marshall’s macaroni glazed with strong cheddar cheese; freshly battered haddock with tartare sauce, crushed peas and a ‘poke’ (‘portion’, to you non-Scots!) of chips; or pub lunch favourite, the 100% Scottish beef burger with hand cut chips, tomato salsa and pickle.Perth town centre accessibility & transport linksThe Bothy is on Kinnoull Street in the centre of Perth and a brisk 10 minute walk from Perth train station. Paid parking is available in the multi-storey car park along from the restaurant and several bus stops can also be found nearby.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;