We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sandpiper

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Landside | Glasgow Airport, Paisley PA3 2SW, Scotland
+44 141 842 7858
Website
Today
05:00 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 05:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Looked forward to my eggs Benedict. Then my eyes landed on Stornoway black pudding on the menu so would be rude not too, was lovely but first time been served a wedge of black pudding, must be a Wetherspoons thing. Service good just wish I could see my bags from the bar, or be able to reserve a table and... More 

Helpful?
Thank themacivers
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived at the airport with my daughter and wife, daughter was flying long haul and I'd promised her a meal before she left. After she dropped her bags we headed for the Sandpiper, (JD Wetherspoons), I ordered two gin and tonics and got a few pence change from £15, yes you read that right £15 !!! Fairly extensive menu to... More 

Helpful?
Thank RacJac
Abrantes, Portugal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to dinner at this restaurant, after arrived later due to flight delay. The food was acceptable, but nothing special. The staff were very kind and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank ehelkur
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was good but could have been warmer, same for the cappuccino. Portion size large ( breakfast) could feed two. Staff very pleasant, would defo recommend, and will use again.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
Waterville, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I usually give good reviews but this experience was too much to forgive. The hamburger I ordered was so tough that I could not bite into it. I pulled it out of the bun to see what the problem was and it appeared to be over-microwaved, to the point that it was like baked leather. I found that if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank pazooter
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was told there was a wait, no problem at all, instead I thought the food came out rather quickly. Went simple, burger and chips. Burger was on the tasteless side and chips weren't nice either. Some were barely cooked.

Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Knew there was a Wetherspoon before the check in but so came here for a drink and maybe food as hotels are and can be expensive. Really disappointed as although the staff were friendly and the place clean and tidy - every drink we asked for they had ran out of ? Big advert in the table for Bud Light... More 

Helpful?
Thank Milly1304
Neil C, Manager at The Sandpiper, responded to this review

Hi Milly1304, We are disappointed that the choices you have made on this visit have been unavailable to you and therefore warranted a 1* review. These things happen at times and can be embarrassing when serving a customer and it works out like this. All I can say is that although Saturday night is our quietest time, the lead up... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The service excellent and fast, lovely atmosphere, huge range of drinks, the meal really tasty. Actually the portion was smaller than my exception.

Helpful?
Thank Micireland2
Neil C, Manager at The Sandpiper, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4* review, Micireland2! We aim to provide the best service available to you and I'm very happy to hear that on this visit we did! We hope you'll visit again soon. Kind regards, Neil. More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Went here night before we were off on holiday, chips were cold. Got some new ones but the steak and doon bar pie was rock hard. Part was not even edible. Complained and they said they couldn't give us a refund, we didn't want a refund just wanted to make them aware. Frozen mash and raw vegetables were also not... More 

Helpful?
Thank livinlife23
Neil C, Manager at The Sandpiper, responded to this review

Hello livinlife23, I can only apologise for your previous experience with us. It is clear the see the meals didn't live up to the expectation here. Although, I am not aware of any staff who are unable to give a refund to you. I have queried this with staff members who could have been on during your visit and all... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Fuel stop before return to Blighty. Not enough bar staff, but friendly enough. Had the Highland burger, which was good. The only letdown was that the hot blonde business woman two tables away was offered sauces with her burger, and asked how her food was three times. Guess how many times I got asked?? Still, worse things happen at sea.

Helpful?
Thank Nige0505
Neil C, Manager at The Sandpiper, responded to this review

Nige0505, I can only apologise that this was the experience you had on your most recent visit. Our floor staff are trained to give each customer the exact same experience, each time so I am sorry to hear that this wasn't given to you. I can only hope you'll visit us again and have a more pleasant experience. Neil C. More 

Travellers who viewed The Sandpiper also viewed

 
Paisley, Renfrewshire
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Paisley, Renfrewshire
 

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
05:00 - 21:30
Monday
05:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
05:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
05:00 - 21:30
Thursday
05:00 - 21:30
Friday
05:00 - 21:30
Saturday
05:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Landside | Glasgow Airport, Paisley PA3 2SW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Renfrewshire  >  Paisley
  • Phone Number: +44 141 842 7858
  • This restaurant is at Glasgow Intl Airport (after security)

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sandpiper and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Sandpiper staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?