We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull

Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (34 reviews)
“wings” (17 reviews)
“fish and chips” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Had the lunch special at e12 today. Tasty soup followed by main course of chips and fish cakes. Was tasty enough and service was good. Had a coffee to finish so very good value. Great as bar food so for a quick lunch recommended.

Thank 734runnerbrady
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your lovey comments

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Went here for lunch today with hubbie and our 2 little ones, we were quite disappointed to be honest.... service was really slow, it took 25 minutes for them to take our food order and that was only after I got up and asked lady...More

Thank jennyaquinn
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi Jenny Thank you for taking time to write your review, we alsways welcome feedback whether it is good or bad. I am sorry you didnt enjoy your overall experience with us and if you would like to discuss it further then please dont hesitate...More

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

I live locally & food is always good along with great service is definitely worth a visit. I’d recommend booking if you are planning a visit as depending on the time /day it can be very busy and you may have to wait on a...More

Thank droghedajinx
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your glowing review and we are delighted by your recommendations. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 30 December 2017

Haven’t been in a while, was disappointed, the menu no longer did our favorite potatoes, overall meal was not it’s usually self, chips weren’t nice, very hard..More

Thank LizDoyle1
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi Liz We have recently changed our menu, keeping all the old favorites and adding alot of new exciting dishes. I am sorry your favorite potatoes are no longer there but will look forward to seeing you and trying something new from our menu. Regards...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Every time in the Black Bull in drogheda has been a good experience. The food is phenomenal, most of the staff are really attentive and friendly and the cocktails are the best in town.

Thank Wayne D
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi Wayne Thanks you for your amazing review. It is always a a pleasure to look after you and hopefully you will be back to see us again soon. Regards Niamh

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Food was not to the standard expected,I ordered the nacho burger the slaw came out separated ,burger was not nice.table of about 12 people and not one of us were satisfied with the outcome not to mention the excellent advertisement of Santa but when he...More

1  Thank killian223
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi Killan Thank you for taking time to write your review. I have discussed your issues with another member of your party and hopefully you are satisfied with the outcome. If you have any further concerns then please dont hesitate to contact me on 041-9837139...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

Apart from waiting for our desserts a little bit too long everything was really good and we'll be back again.

Thank kieran10800
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to have a birthday and meet with friends but to have a meal there is a different story. Found service very slow but staff where all rushing about. Menu not exciting. Will definitely be back to Gin room though and friends meet ups.

Thank Stemarbo
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent breakfast served here whether you want the full Irish or they have a selection of Healthy options. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend a visit

Thank ramblerrose55
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Have been here a few times as a couple and it was fine but as a family it wasnt too good. Table space was too small for us all and the time of year (August) was far too hot to eat indoors as the air...More

Thank teamjoey
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Drogheda
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
474 reviews
.58 miles away
The d Hotel
1,312 reviews
.85 miles away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
537 reviews
1.09 miles away
Westcourt Hotel
400 reviews
1.18 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Simona Cafe
261 reviews
.94 miles away
De Lacy's Steak & Seafood Restaurant Drogheda
261 reviews
.84 miles away
The Kitchen Restaurant
174 reviews
.92 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Monasterboice Monastic Site
241 reviews
.33 miles away
St. Laurence Gate
98 reviews
.97 miles away
Drogheda Museum Millmount
59 reviews
.95 miles away
Highlanes Gallery
35 reviews
.99 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
15 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Tonnahy | Reviewed this property |
Hi Yes it is.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
09:30 - 23:00
09:30 - 23:30
09:30 - 23:30
09:30 - 23:30
09:30 - 23:30
09:30 - 00:30
09:30 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda
  • Phone Number: 04198371396
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now