We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
We are a free house pub that is owned by a family living in the village of Birstwith, set in the beautiful Yorkshire Dale of Nidderdale, just a 15 minute drive from Harrogate. Our experienced chefs serve award winning food and we scored full marks in our latest Cask Marque assessment. Our restaurant is open at the following times:- Monday to Friday: 12noon to 2.30pm & 5pm to 8.30pm Saturday : 12noon to 8.30pm Sunday: 12noon to 8pm We have a beautiful beer garden and covered external dining terrace.
Special Diets
Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Dog Friendly, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
570
114
19
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
570
114
19
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie sticky toffee pudding sunday roast pork sea bass garden room the pub excellent meal lovely food booked a table yorkshire gravy fires rooms courses veg ale
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visit Harrogate frequently and we always find time to visit the Station Hotel, especially on a Sunday. We started with prawn cocktail and creamy mushrooms,both very tasty, thenI had a roast and my wife had cod which was cooked to perfection. Both very generous...portions which sadly didn’t leave room for dessert. It’s a beautiful drive to Birstwith and the hotel rewards you handsomely for making it.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table here whilst on a family holiday after reading the positive reviews and were looking forward to the visit especially as we have had some wonderful meals out in and around Harrogate. I should point out we aren’t moaners, we understand every...business has good and bad days and we are accepting of a few hiccups. I telephoned to ask if we could book a dog friendly table and I was assured this was not a problem. We arrived only to be told that the ‘system’ had booked us a table in the garden room which was not dog or child friendly. We were left awkwardly to stand in the middle of the pub with everyone staring at us while the waitress and a guy who appeared to be the owner argued about how they would accommodate us. He was very obviously wanting to turn us away. The waitress made a few suggestions stating that we could have a table but they would need it back by 8pm. We had booked for 7pm and we feel that an hour to eat a meal was likely to be a rushed affair. We overheard the waitress saying to the owner/manager should we ring the other table and ask them not to bring their dog to which he said ‘no they are regulars’. The owner/manager came over and rudely said we haven’t got a table that’s suitable as we don’t let dogs or kids in the garden room. I told him that we had booked for the dog and had said we were bringing two kids at the time of booking. He said I’m not saying you didn’t but he was clearly not wanting us to stay. Eventually after a very embarrassing ten minutes we were seated at a table and the table was set around us. The waitress told us it was quiz night and said you don’t mind a quiz going on around you do you? We said no of course not and she said I’ll give you a sheet and you can join in. We said yeah great, she then went over to the bar and retuned and said oh by the way it is £2 per head and it’s cash only. I said ah we don’t have cash as you clearly advertise that you only accept card payments so we didn’t bring cash to which she just mumbled something and left. The kids were made to feel so unwelcome from the start. My son picked up his fork and the waitress said can you tell him not to scratch the cutlery?!?! How on earth he was scratching metal cutlery I’m unsure but it was very clear that children are not at all welcome and that clearly the quiz night for regulars was more important than offering us basic customer service. I can honestly say we have never been so embarrassed and made to feel so unwelcome in an establishment. We left and made our way to another local pub who were more than happy to welcome us and we had a lovely meal. Save your hard earned money for a place who actually appreciates your custom. I wouldn’t return here if it was the last place on earth.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?2  
SebastopolInns, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We don’t usually respond to reviews, but this one deserves special attention. Firstly, we are sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. For reasons we do not understand, the on-line booking system had allocated you to a table in our Garden...More

Reviewed 6 April 2022

We really enjoyed our lunch here today - good value fixed price two course (or 3 course) lunch had plenty of choice, without exception the dishes we chose were extremely tasty! They said the portions at lunchtime were slightly smaller than the evening menu (which...has a wider choice) but there was more than ample for us. Couple that with the really efficient and friendly service from the two ladies, and the welcoming atmosphere of the pub, and all in all it was an experience we will certainly repeat.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 5 April 2022

On holiday in the area. Booked an Evening meal at the Station Hotel the food was delicious and service warm, friendly. Good choice from full menu and set menu. Vegetarian risotto very tasty and Sea Bass delicious. Well kept beer and it was great to...see a place busy again. Service excellentMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 April 2022

We go quite regularly for early-doors fish and chips - sometimes it's spot-on, others below standard. Yesterday was a point in kind. Flat, thin fish with soggy batter, and the salad accompaniment was clearly just bits and pieces of flabby lettuce chopped up and a...couple of half small tomatoes thrown in. What a disappointment it all was. I am all for complaining if a meal isn't right, but my husband will not - hence we shall not be visiting again. We're told the Chef changes regularly, could this be the problem? I value consistency with my food, should be enjoyable every time. This is just not good enough.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 31 March 2022

very good dinner fine choice,good decor friendly and attenative staff ,nothing to much trouble.only such place in the village but well worth the visit

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 March 2022

Disappointed in our visit, especially given such positive reviews which was why we booked a table. We waited 30 minutes after arriving for someone to take a drink order, despite other tables arriving and being served in the same time frame. We then waited over...45 minutes for our food to be served, with zero apology or explanation for the delay. In the same time other tables had been served their starters and main courses. When our food eventually arrived I ordered another drink, this never arrived. At no point did anybody approach us to ask if our food was ok, if we needed another drink or any other form of service. We were not asked if our meal was ok when we paid either. During the 2 hours it took to eat a main meal and have one drink there were 4 members of staff working a maximum of 7 tables. To say this was poor service is an understatement! It is a shame we overlooked other local businesses to dine here.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 22 March 2022

The best Sunday lunch in lovely friendly atmosphere with an open fire. Doggy and children friendly environment all made welcome. Caters for all dietary requirements including fussy eaters aka Mr C nothing too much trouble. Friday night grill night perfect after a busy week to...wind down and have good food and wine.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 March 2022

Clean restaurant with nice atmosphere.Staff were friendly and on the ball. Plenty of menu variety, prompt service, good food. Good value for money.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 March 2022

Pub, inn, restaurant, hotel all rolled into one. Very friendly helpful service, overall nice atmosphere. When we visited there were warm open fires in the bar and restaurant areas. Good food with a sensible range of dishes, well presented. For warmer weather there is a...part-covered very attractive garden area at the rear.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Boar's Head
988 reviews
2.45 miles away
Duke's Place
28 reviews
2.71 miles away
Warner Hotels - Nidd Hall
2,462 reviews
3.57 miles away
Cairn Hotel
2,084 reviews
4.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Joiners Arms
251 reviews
1.12 miles away
Queens Head Inn
134 reviews
1.95 miles away
Birchfield Family Dairies
71 reviews
2.03 miles away
The Restaurant @ The Boar's Head Hotel
301 reviews
2.45 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Birchfield Family Dairies
21 reviews
2.03 miles away
All Saints' Church
22 reviews
2.40 miles away
Ripley North Yorkshire
7 reviews
2.52 miles away
Ripley Ice Cream
170 reviews
2.45 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Y8191YEjudithc
31 August 2020|
Answer
Response from Wainwrp | Reviewed this property |
I didn’t stay overnight unfortunately
0
Votes
rothlad
19 August 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from C2715EKdebbiec | Reviewed this property |
I would think so. They will accommodate if they can for sure.
0
Votes
Anthony M
14 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SebastopolInns | Property representative |
We allow dogs in the bar area, snug and window area. Dogs are not allowed in the dining room, garden room or guest bedrooms.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Station Hotel

Yes, The Station Hotel offers takeaway services.

The Station Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5