We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fodder Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Great Yorkshire Showground Railway Road | Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate HG2 8NZ, England
+44 1423 546111
Website
Today
09:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:30 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 08:30 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 546: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Would definitely recommend fodder for the cafe and excellent food on menu. There's the bright buzzing atmosphere, attentive service and fabulous farm food shop with Luxury foods through to local pies/apples/seasonal veg/herbs and spices/regional farm foods. Am never disappointed here.

Helpful?
Thank Elephantintheroom22
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Enjoyed my meal at the fodder cafe. We arrived at around 12:30 and were fortunate enough to be seated straight away. Service was fairly quick and polite and the food was good. Had a sausage sandwich with chips which I can recommend. Prices seemed a bit expensive for the area however have nothing to truly compare it to so haven't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited Fodders before and always find the food and service to be excellent. Whilst not the cheapest, your are paying for local grown food and staff that care about good service. We had a breakfast roll, bacon and sausage. The portions are quite large but very enjoyable. The cakes are all hand made and very good. Very happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarlMarx
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a beautiful afternoon tea at Fodder - a substantial, varied selection of beautifully presented food, with excellent friendly service. Good value for money as well!

Helpful?
Thank philip h
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got seated after about 20 minutes' wait in the (not very long) queue. Fodder always seem to be terrible at turning around tables after people leave - there were several tables free for ages but nobody was being seated. I ordered the burger with cheese and bacon, my wife ordered the Arancini. The burger as usual was very tasty,... More 

Helpful?
Thank John M
Jane T, General Manager at Fodder Cafe, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you so much for your feedback something we greatly appreciate here at Fodder as we constantly strive to improve. I would like to chat to you further about your particular experience please call 01423 546111. Kind Regards Jane More 

yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Heard so much about Fodder so though we would give it a try, and not disappointed the local sourced Gammon and home cooked chips were excellent the gammon portion was huge and very tasty. Would have loved desert but no room due to my delicious portion and quality of the meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshireman69
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was astonished when me and my five children ordered a salad, it comes out warm and I was informed that the salad was microwaved... very disappointing as the tomatoes exploded due to the heat and also there was no dressing.

Helpful?
Thank barthramj
Jane T, General Manager at Fodder Cafe, responded to this review

Hi, We do not microwave salads and never have done. I am ever so sorry you were led to believe this. Please phone 01423 546111 and ask for me Jane so that we can talk through this matter. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

We dined at Fodder today, and the food was excellent, if expensive. The lunchtime waiting line was massive. Fodder should extend the dining room, and soon.

Helpful?
Thank Pigglywiggly_10
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I forgot my lunch and I glad I did as it gave me an excuse to return to Fodder. The sandwiches were so beautifully made - properly filled with top quality ingredients. The staff were very sweet and the selection of tea is great. (As a non coffee drinker, this is something I always notice.) I've had soup and cheese... More 

Helpful?
Thank HerHoldingTheFlowers
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We go for Sunday lunch at Fodder very often. Surgery has kept me mostly confined to base for 6 weeks, missed Fodder so much! Managed to make it yesterday. The roast lamb lunch was the best I've ever had there. Succulent medium roasted meat, gravy, crispy roast potatoes, cauliflower cheese, green beans, mange tout and mashed carrot/swede and a HUGE... More 

Helpful?
Thank FluffyMog

Travellers who viewed Fodder Cafe also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fodder Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$17
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 17:00
Monday
08:30 - 18:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 18:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 18:00
Thursday
08:30 - 18:00
Friday
08:30 - 18:00
Saturday
08:30 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Great Yorkshire Showground Railway Road | Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate HG2 8NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 546111
Description
Fodder is the home of tasty, local, food based on the Great Yorkshire Showground in Harrogate. Fodder sells the very best food and drink from Yorkshire; with a fully stocked butchery counter, a deli counter laden with fresh pies, pasties and amazing cheese. Fruit and veg straight from the farms and lots of lovely jams and chutneys alongside freshly baked local bread and mouthwatering cakes. Fodder also has a lovely cafe which serves everything from a full Yorkshire Breakfast through to cream teas and an extensive lunch menu. Fodder is run and championed by the Yorkshire Agricultural Society and acts as a shop window for local farmers and producers giving a crucial local market for their produce. The shop is Britain's first charitable food hall with all profits re-invested to benefit the rural community. Fodder is dedicated to delivering the best possible service to its customers. In fact, we have regular mystery shopping reviews to help maintain their high standards of customer care.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fodder Cafe and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
KNARESBOROUGH
2 months ago
Knowle, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fodder Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?