We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Spring Well

££ - £££, British,
Otley Road, Harrogate HG3 2AP, England
+44 1423 567035
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good27%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“lasagna” (11 reviews)
“family area” (11 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Otley Road, Harrogate HG3 2AP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The menu had a good selection and the meal was very nice. Service was fast, nicely presented. However, a "thank you" or a "goodbye" would have been nice when we departed.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank warboys
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Should have known things weren't going to go well when I tried to book online and I couldn't put a number of diners in. Tried ringing but no answer and went to answer machine (still waiting for that ring back by the way). Eventually my...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Angela B
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us , we feel very disappointed and this is definitely something we are going to work on . We thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are a friendly...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub, good service but food was just average. We order Sunday roast, beef was dry and chewy, same with roast potatoes, not good at all. This is not the first we were there, possibly the last, unless it will improve....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Atkop
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back , we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit , we will take your feed back and act upon it . If you would like to discuss further please contact us on 01423 567035 . Kind...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent customer service, staff appear to enjoy working there. Lovely food and a great atmosphere. Will definitely be back soon

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 888jackia
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi thank you for lovely feed back we will definitely pass this on to our team , hope to see you soon . Many Thanks

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Much improved, since our last visit it would seem the management have taken note of concerns regarding cleanliness in the children’s area. We really enjoy the food here, you cannot go wrong for the price. I would personally recommend the beef and ale pie with...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank JMRS92
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit , we do take all feed back seriously and endeavour to put things right . Thank you so much for your feed back and we hope to see you soon . Kind Regards Jeanette .

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived for early tea, were really surprised at the £6.00 menu excellent value for money and really large portions. Well done. Where we went wrong is sitting at table 40, its a lovely table but was not set up for food, i.e. menu's or cutlery....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank JamesEddy1984
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write feed back . We have recently fallen in line with Marstons new service style which is where it is more relaxed in certain areas of the pub , the menus are at the front door area and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great experience here! Our daughter in law booked a table for ten of us to celebrate my sons birthday. Jeantte helped asking us if there was anything that we needed help us with cake and such. The food was very highh quality...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dawn N
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for sharing your feed back , we are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us , we will definitely sharing this with the team . We look forward to seeing you again . Many Thanks Jeanette .

Reviewed 3 November 2018

We went here for a change and found it equally as disappointing as our previous visit. It is now confusing where you sit, once section waitress service and another section order at the bar, but no signage to inform you of this. We ordered at...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank VJ2007
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We as so sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your visit . Please call us on 01423 567035 so that we can discuss this further . Kind Regards Jeanette .

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Rubbish service and very rude staff, ordered food, wrong food came, sarcastic comments from staff, no respect for customers at all.

Date of visit: November 2018
3  Thank 919caroler
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so sorry that you have not enjoyed your experience and we would really like to discuss this further . Many Thanks Jeanette .

Reviewed 29 October 2018

We had to wait over 45 minutes to even be allowed to place a food order as the kitchen couldn't cope, they weren't even that busy. We were only informed of this after our drinks order was taken so we then couldn't go elsewhere. The...More

Date of visit: October 2018
5  Thank Martin R
Oldspringwell M, Manager at The Old Spring Well, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

After reading your review you certainly were not happy with your time spent with us , we have recently implemented a new service system and still getting to grips with it . We sincerely apologise for your recent visit as this was not our usual...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Harrogate
Cairn Hotel
1,755 reviews
1.46 miles away
Old Swan Hotel
1,965 reviews
1.50 miles away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
821 reviews
1.57 miles away
The Majestic Hotel
3,914 reviews
1.57 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Nelson Inn
300 reviews
.64 miles away
Mrs Smith's Cafe
27 reviews
.90 miles away
Farm Shop Cafe Harrogate
17 reviews
.94 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Valley Gardens
2,134 reviews
1.60 miles away
Royal Hall Theatre
322 reviews
1.63 miles away
RHS Garden Harlow Carr
2,411 reviews
1.68 miles away
Mercer Gallery
208 reviews
1.57 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kazj28
27 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Lisa N | Property representative |
hello there, yes we do it is 20 percent off of your food bill on any main menu items....you just need you NHS idea number with you when you pay your bill.
-1
Votes
JanetteGudgeon
14 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lisa N |
We do not allow dogs inside unless they are working dogs, but we do allow dogs on our patio area.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Otley Road, Harrogate HG3 2AP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 567035
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing