We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haywain

££ - £££, British,
Bristol Road | Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PE, England
+44 1452 720124
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good33%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (18 reviews)
“pizza” (10 reviews)
“pie” (3 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bristol Road | Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Lovely local pub in Quedgely! Always eat here when staying with family in Gloucester. Tasty meals every time we visit!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank kayg_xx
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's ok ,,, been here a few times now. 2for1. Not bad. Can be a bit noises At times. After a football match. Or something

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lash25
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

been going to the haywain for a number of years and have got to know the staff well, the food and, drinks and service is good, my only complaint is now you have to order your food at the bar, much better when the staff...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank glennrobbins7
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Came for my husband's 50th birthday and really must say a massive thank you from the bar staff to the waitress's for making us feel so welcome even though we had a tired 4 year old and a hyper 8 year old ( not through...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank nannakaren
ChrisF5395, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments, I will be passing your comments over to my team. I hope you had a wonderful day and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I have visited the Haywain a few times and can say the place appears tidy and well managed, with a good choice of very reasonably priced dishes on offer. The last visit really did disappoint, me and my daughter ordered steaks, they were quite poor...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Michael F
ChrisF5395, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank your for your feedback. Sorry to here that your meals weren't enjoyable and I will be discuss this with the kitchen team and see where we can improve. I will also be contacting our suppliers about the quality of meat they are sending us....More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

We go here every Tuesday after work to have a lazy mealtime instead of going home to our respective families to cook!! The steaks are cooked to our liking and the service is impeccable. Nothing is too much trouble from the waitress to the bar...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank julieh8159
ChrisF5395, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments, I will pass your compliments on to my team. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely pub atmosphere... Good food... Excellent deals.... Ideal for a large family get together.... But ordered 4 glasses of wine at the bar at 9pm and he wouldn't serve me as they had no large glasses!!!!! Waitress was excellent we gave her our empty glasses...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank chrisbartle52
ChrisF5395, General Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments. Regarding the glass issue, we have order some more large wine glasses which will be in soon, it seems like we have some clumsy bar staff and lost quite a few recently! Once again thank you for your comments...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Myself and my husband came here last week and we had great time, Food was lovely,and service was realy good, waitress was helpful and was making sure we were happy during our meal will be returning very soon with rest of family

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Hayze S
Chris F, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments, I will pass them on to my team

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We go here quite regularly because it's 2 for the price of 1 on all main meals. This means it's a cheap evening out in a very pleasant environment. Food is mostly good . Very nice jam role poly. And staff always very polite and...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank scaldred
Chris F, General Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Many thanks for your review and I will communicate this back to the team. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Went with granddaughters today!! Had to ask to order food-- not overly busy in there!!- got food missing a side order of crispy fried onions- was told "chef" had put in with burger!! I wanted a side order so waitress went and fetched a bowl...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank kevandsand
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 hotels in Gloucester
The Thatch Inn
240 reviews
.12 miles away
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
240 reviews
.50 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South
821 reviews
.82 miles away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Quayside) Hotel
42 reviews
2.48 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bumble Bee
837 reviews
.80 miles away
Quedgeley Tandoori
22 reviews
.10 miles away
Miller and Carter Steakhouse
352 reviews
.06 miles away
Indian Memories
214 reviews
.39 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ben Long Falconry Courses and Experience Days
39 reviews
2.23 miles away
Blooms Gloucester Garden Centre
68 reviews
2.23 miles away
Gloucester Quays
779 reviews
2.46 miles away
Robinswood Hill Country Park
67 reviews
1.97 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Haywain staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bristol Road | Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Gloucester
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 720124
  • E-mail
Description
Our menus are fit to burst with tonnes of delicious flavours. This is the home of choice, as shown by a mouth-watering selection of ales, wines, roasts and steaks, burgers, melts, spuds and salads. All the usual pub classics are here, like fish & chips and sausages & mash, while a daily specials board introduces new exciting dishes from all around the world. And just to show that it isn’t just the adults that are spoilt, our award-winning children’s menu is designed to tempt the fussiest of eaters. Time to give it a go
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing