We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jonty Farmer

££ - £££, British,
Kedleston Road, Derby DE22 1FT, England
+44 1332 292312
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good34%
  • Average8%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (8 reviews)
“pizza” (6 reviews)
“salad” (5 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kedleston Road, Derby DE22 1FT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

28/11/18 12noon. Today we decided to try the 2 course meal on offer. I decided to try the ham with 2 eggs ,and my companion went for the 4oz gammon and we both went for the chocolate cake for desert. The meals came fairly quick...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lordgrahamc
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a visitor and needed to try somewhere local. Jonty was not too busy and we decided to have fixed price meals, Brian took our orders and Alice served us, everything was soon served and hot. Our visitor was impressed with his food (and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Maurice J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a last minute booking for 30 people my family and friends ,we thought we wouldn't get anywhere but The Jonty said they would and laid on a lovely spread of our choice ,there was plenty of everything and they didn't bring it out...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank garybednall1-uk
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Brian is an excellent bar member with a great helpful attitude.It's a friendly place to enjoy a drink and chill out.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Stephen Anthony... O
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

The food was really bad I wouldn't give it my dog all really cheap food black chips and potatoes.food wasn't cooked curry was cold with 2 small bits of chicken in it. We won't be ever going back.had to go chippy on way home.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Daniel s
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Popped in with a couple of mates, place was busy so we should have really booked but got a table sorted. All had burgers and a few pints and had a good laugh. Was nice to see a mixture of familys, young and old and...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank james D
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

The whole ambience was fantastic met the landlady Lisa and she asked me to try her new vegan burger it was dripping like a real burger so to recap the landladies burger is DRIPPING great fun

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank threeblokesinapub
Reviewed 9 September 2018

the food and menus were spectacular, lots to choose from. (Try the Yorkshire stack it's 10/10!) They could improve by making the table better as I found hard chewing gum under my table. Also, they need to make menus for people on any type of...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jamie W
Lisa A, General Manager at The Jonty Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi Jamie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, glad to hear you liked the Yorkshire Stack it is definitely a favourite with our guests! I will pass your comments about menus onto our menu development team. We do have allergy...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Stopped here on a whim after a day out. There were six of us in our party including my elderly mother in law and three very impatient "starving" children. Food and service were excellent, fast and friendly so no complaints from us. They do lovely...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Helen R
Lisa A, General Manager at The Jonty Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi Helen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear the food and service was excellent, I'll make sure to pass on your lovely comments to the rest of the team. We do have outside seating on order so...More

Reviewed 20 August 2018

Called into this pub in Derby for Sunday Lunch with our two young children and was quite impressed. The lounge is spacious therefore there is plenty of room between tables and there is a small playground at the rear of the property which is a...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank GEOFFREY S S
Lisa A, General Manager at The Jonty Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi Geoffrey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely comments, it really does make all the hard work worthwhile. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Lisa - The Jonty Farmer

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Derby
The Georgian House Hotel
111 reviews
.44 miles away
Jurys Inn Derby
2,229 reviews
.71 miles away
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
890 reviews
.73 miles away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
447 reviews
.88 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Masa
699 reviews
.53 miles away
Nico's
185 reviews
.48 miles away
Kedleston Fish Bar
85 reviews
.08 miles away
La Pizza
132 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Pickford's House
265 reviews
.61 miles away
Darley Park
261 reviews
.65 miles away
Markeaton Park
244 reviews
.56 miles away
Derby Gaol
77 reviews
.55 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Explore553186
23 July 2017|
Answer
Response from TheJontyManager | Property representative |
Thanks for your question. Unfortunately we do not allow dogs inside the pub after our extensive refurbishment, but they are very welcome on our patio or in the garden area. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
Liberty1616
14 January 2017|
Answer
Response from TheJontyManager | Property representative |
Hello, I am very sorry but we do not allow dogs inside the pub. We do however welcome them on our patio area. Thank you.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Parking Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 12:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kedleston Road, Derby DE22 1FT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Derby
  • Phone Number: +44 1332 292312
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing