We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#26 of 70 Bar in Swindon
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
The Bank is set over two floors. The first floor is a lounge and bar area leading to a roof terrace where can enjoy a enclosed area to drink. Its great as its off the street and private. The second floor is a for lively area with a boutique club with some great sounds and DJ's entertaining you. We are a late venue with a 3am licence. please come in and enjoy your evening with friends and enjoy your evening. We are a smart casual place with a strict entry policy as we want all of our guests to enjoy the evening. Everyone is welcome in this bar.
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, European, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service, Highchairs Available, Live Music
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
159
91
34
25
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
159
91
34
25
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast lamb burger tapas old town great cocktails booked a table gravy veg
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Avoid avoid avoid! Drinks orders wrong three times; crammed in, no social distancing at all, had to ask to move tables so not to be within 15 centimetres of strangers (couldn’t even get into seats without asking strangers to pull chairs in). Food hadn’t arrived...More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
MM4, Owner at The Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Don’t care what you think. Reviews are your option don’t like it don’t come here again. We had 200 customers and you did not like it. Have a good life as we are to busy to worry about you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shocking experience! No social distancing, staff with masks round their chins, took an age to get served, drinks orders wrong, food took 45mins, cold/tepid, items missing and tapas size selection tiny. Staff didn’t have a clue.../.not their fault. Would never return and 1 star is...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
MM4, Owner at The Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

As we said to your friend don’t come back here you are not the customer we need. Make sure you don’t. I’m not Interested in here and your opinion. We have a good loyal following.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a meal with friends for a post lockdown treat. Took our table, pretty quiet and then it slowly filled up. Every table filled with less than 1/2 metre between tables. We couldn’t even move to another table because we were uncomfortable because...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 9 May 2021

The bank is always my go to restaurant when eating out. I tried their take out and it was terrible. Half my order was missing and when I called, the woman I spoke to was so rude it was unreal. I asked if money was...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
MM4, Owner at The Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Thank you. I’m not worries about your review. It’s fine enjoy

Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

My sons decided to treat me to an evening of cocktails. We were "greeted" by a pretty surly guy at the door who asked my son to present ID which is fair enough but despite it being in a transparent casing, he insisted he removed...More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

Two friends & I ate at the bank in April 2021. Firstly, we tried to order pizzas, they then said they didn’t have any pizzas in stock despite initially not telling us this and it being early evening this was a surprise. We then choose...More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

Wow! Due to lockdown and having to to cook all family meals, was advised to try this restaurant for Sunday lunch and boy was I pleased with the food and service. Quality produce well cooked, portions were more than enough. Highly recommended. Certainly made my...More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

We recently went for a bottomless brunch at the old bank and had a great experience. We went for unlimited Prosecco and chose the tapas option. Our waitress Jasmine was very attentive and couldn’t help enough. The food was as good as the service which...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 October 2020

I am really surprised to read so many negative comments. On Saturday my wife ant I went to the Old Bank for Brunch, both the food and the service were amazing, and all at a very reasonable price. We have recommended the restaurant to friends,...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 October 2020

My friend (who is gluten intolerant) and I visited The Bank after looking at the menu and seeing that it clearly stated ‘gluten free options available’ at the bottom. We arrived, sat down and asked to see a gluten free menu. The waiter then told...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
20 at The Kings
226 reviews
.02 miles away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
875 reviews
.50 miles away
Jurys Inn Swindon
2,230 reviews
.72 miles away
Thistle Express - Swindon
257 reviews
.73 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fabios Italian Restaurant Swindon
499 reviews
.08 miles away
Yak The Himalayan Kitchen
151 reviews
.09 miles away
Los Gatos
1,030 reviews
.06 miles away
Dotty's Old Town Cafe
174 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Museum of Computing
164 reviews
.50 miles away
Rainbow Walk
69 reviews
.58 miles away
Lydiard Park
1,084 reviews
.41 miles away
Wyvern Theatre
1,333 reviews
.56 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Vicky249
30 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RobHop72 | Reviewed this property |
There is paid parking spaces on wood street. There is also parking behind wood street off Newport street. There may also be parking available in the co op superstore.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bank

The Bank is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4