We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery The Friary

) #97 of 366 Restaurants in Swindon £ , British,
Elstree Way, Swindon SN25 4YX, England
+44 1793 702081
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good29%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (25 reviews)
“gammon” (21 reviews)
“pork” (18 reviews)
Opens in 2 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Elstree Way, Swindon SN25 4YX, England
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

waited about 10 mins for a table for 3 ,customer service was great very friendly waitress,drinks ordered and on table in 10 mins ,we had a long wait for lunch as the queue was long but worth the wait

1  Thank Carol W
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you Carol for your absolutely wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us and will pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, The Friary.

Reviewed 8 May 2017

visited day before mothering sunday ,very poor hygiene no roast potatoes no stuffing ,no gravy, food all over the floor veg cold .so very poor food and waitress chewing gum, when we told her the meal was cold her reply was so what do you...More

Thank Paul W
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Paul, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us at 01793702081 so we can understand...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017

...which included a dead fly nestling in amongst the veg. Service was slow too. Really not impressed.More

Thank Paul T
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi Paul, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at 01793702081 so we can...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017

Thought we would try a Carvery again after our last visit of very little food ,waited over 10 mins for coffee,only to find the tray of coffees sitting on the bar going cold so we waited for a while to let staff know we were...More

Thank Philip E
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that you had poor service when you visited us. We will speak to the team on duty during your visit earlier today to ensure this does not happen again in...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017

Went to the Friary 4th May. , waited ages at the door waiting to be seated lady in front shouted to the bar maid about the service , we did get a seat eventually the food was good but why all this waiting about,, the...More

Thank 13arthur
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that the service you received was below standard and will ensure all of your comments are passed onto the team in our next regular training session. We are however pleased...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017

I visit regular with friends and family. We have a mix of vegan, vegetarian and meat eaters so it is great that it suits all! Occasionally the food is a bit dry or not very hot on busy days but Generally most of the time...More

1  Thank U1555ESsue
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you've had positive experiences with us and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Friary.

Reviewed 2 May 2017

This was a very busy establishment and may be 300 people there, after all it was during the may bank holiday, we had to wait for a half hour, BUT it was well worth it good food value for money and a large car park,...More

1  Thank lilyxfred
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you lilyxfred for your wonderful review. I will pass on all of your comments to the team on duty. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Friary.

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Went to this Toby on Saturday (yesterday). Great service from all the staff. Food was lovely and hot with loads of variety. Nothing too much trouble and felt super welcome. Will definitely return but with more room for pud!!

1  Thank Happymum92
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you Happymum92 for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to welcome you back at The Friary soon! Kind regards.

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Another trip to the best carvery u can get, initially after getting our meal found that our drinks hadn't arrived, on asking another member of staff whose name was chloe,she came back and informed us that it hadn't been put on the system, this order...More

1  Thank Fussy E
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review. We will pass on your lovely comments to Chloe and the team! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Friary.

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Before I start all I'm going to say is you can see from my other post I only tell the truth if people like it or not. Where to start with the Toby well only one word says it all DISGUSTING, the hygiene level is...More

Thank ijs78
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery The Friary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise that you had a negative experience with us and wish to speak to you further regarding your visit. We have very regular and compulsory hygiene checks throughout the day to keep everything clean...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cold Harbour
573 reviews
.96 miles away
Seven Star
27 reviews
.83 miles away
Harvester Swindon
459 reviews
.90 miles away
Fish & Chips
23 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby Attractions
STEAM Museum of the Great Western Railway
1,116 reviews
2.51 miles away
Swindon Designer Outlet
1,316 reviews
2.48 miles away
Swindon & Cricklade Railway
111 reviews
1.89 miles away
ATBShop Skate Warehouse
54 reviews
2.25 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Thesiberian
Do you have disabled acces and floor level disabled toilet
11 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Mike K | Reviewed this property |
From memory! I know the floor plan seating layout is pretty tight and the standing in a long line is another obstacle. Assistance with the buffet food serving may also be necessary. I didn't use the toilet so I am... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Elstree Way, Swindon SN25 4YX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Swindon
  • Phone Number: +44 1793 702081
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery The Friary. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Swindon’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing