We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Blunsdon Arms

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lady Lane, Swindon SN25 2NA, England
+44 1793 729801
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 00:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 00:00
Fri 11:00 - 00:30
Sat 10:00 - 00:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 279: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Been in. A few times. Slowest service I've ever experienced in a pub. Staff seem intent on not serving

Helpful?
Thank Grahamswindonboy
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Absolute shambles. Understaffed and unable to cook even the simplest dish. Customer service non existent and professionalism leaves much to be desired. Would never spend my hard earned money there ever again.

Helpful?
Thank kevinkevinstratford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is amazing. It is my local and I absolutely love it. I will often come in with the work lot or will be in on sat for decent food. The brunch menu is excellent - the classic breakfast is more than enough and is cooked so well. The staff are always attentive and will always be on hand.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark charles O
General Manager A, General Manager at The Blunsdon Arms, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Cheers for this wonderful review! I will pass on your comments to the team and the chefs who I know are very excited about doing brunch all week! I'm sure we'll see you again soon! Leisha More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went out with the family one Saturday evening. Got there for 6.45. Have the boneless rib of beef. Tough as old boots and I like my vegetables with a slight crunch but rock hard......No. my husband had a rib eye steak that wasn't much better, very chewy and sinuous . Suddenly the music was turned up very loud and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane1309
General Manager A, Manager at The Blunsdon Arms, responded to this review

Hi Jane, I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy the atmosphere on Saturday, unfortunately we do turn up the music later on in the evening with it being a lively pub on the weekend. Had you mentioned that you were unhappy with your meals when we checked on you we would have been happy to replace or exchange them for you.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

As a resident of Haydon Wick, this is my local, & its never a bad visit to be honest. Theres no real Trad British pub nearby & so the Blunsdon is fine...nice pub grub, never a bad dish served to me. Good choice of draughts & wine, food is good, but service at the bar is quite slow but only... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephengallagher11
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at The Blunsdon Arms, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, I'm glad you enjoyed Emergency Banter last time they played! We have bands once a month most of the time, always on a Saturday, sometimes on a Thursday or Sunday if it's a bank holiday weekend! Pop in and see our entertainment board for our next event! See you again soon, Leisha More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here frequently. The food always tastes good. Today was no exception. We have experienced poor service before but on the whole its ok. Today was just poor from begining to end. On walking through the door there was water pouring through the ceiling into numerous buckets but the was not affecting the seating area. I ordered at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire C
General Manager A, Manager at The Blunsdon Arms, responded to this review

Hi Claire, I'd like to apologise for the ridiculous water feature we had yesterday. We did have an engineer come out and tell us there was a burst pipe which is in the process of being fixed! As for your sandwich, I have no excuses. I only hope you will give us another try so we can reassure you that... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

I have been here a few times really like the place staff are friendly and the pub is clean ales well looked after and staff friendly

Helpful?
Thank Gundog1
General Manager A, Manager at The Blunsdon Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for another great review! I'll pass your kind comments along to the team! See you again soon, Leisha More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Good local estate pub, good selection of ciders, including a very strong Old Rosie a pint of carling is only £3.10 food is above average for a pub, atmosphere is friendly and welcoming of families and young children. They have themed nights and quiz's a decent centre for the community...but with beer so that's a bonus..

Helpful?
Thank Matt D
Steve W, Guest Relations Manager at The Blunsdon Arms, responded to this review

Hi Matt D, Thanks for leaving us this review, I can't remember us having a theme night but sometimes the locals dress up when they're having a party, so maybe that's what you meant! Quiz nights are Wednesday and Sunday at 8.30pm and 8pm with a range of prizes! See you again soon, Leisha More 

wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Have been here a few times now. A good place to meet for lunch. You will always find something on the menu. I do think the white wines are not great. You can sit all day and have a good catch up with friends. It is nice sitting by the fires. Also there are different areas to sit. So families... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elphinstone
Steve W, Guest Relations Manager at The Blunsdon Arms, responded to this review

Hi Elphinstone, I'm so glad you enjoyed the warm environment we create! Our drinks menu changes every 6 months so if we don't have something that suits you at the moment then perhaps we will when the menu changes! Thanks for leaving us a review, Leisha More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Visited pm Saturday - had to clean our own table off - ordered food which was great value and very tasty - apart from my partners sauce missing - which had to be asked for. Real ales fantastic

Helpful?
Thank JeffMG489
Steve W, Guest Relations Manager at The Blunsdon Arms, responded to this review

Hi Jeff, We do tend to get busier in the evenings, especially on the weekends. We do have people out and about clearing glasses and tables so we would have got to yours, you just beat us to it! I'm glad you enjoyed your food - once we'd got all the right pieces together! Hope to see you soon, Leisha More 

Travellers who viewed The Blunsdon Arms also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Blunsdon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:30
Saturday
10:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lady Lane, Swindon SN25 2NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Swindon
  • Phone Number: +44 1793 729801

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Blunsdon Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?