The Original Gandhi

The Original Gandhi

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1793 522157+ Add website
Hours
Sun
16:30 - 23:00
Mon
16:30 - 23:00
Tue
16:30 - 23:00
Wed
16:30 - 23:00
Thu
16:30 - 23:00
Fri
16:30 - 23:00
Sat
16:30 - 23:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Is this a place where you pay before receiving your order?
About
First Indian Takeaway in Swindon
CUISINES
Indian, Fast food, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Family style
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles34 reviews
Excellent
32
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
2
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Sajjad A
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 solo
Ordered 3 curries (Dansak, Buna and Jalfrezi) all top quality curries and had it with various rice and parata bread. Was told going to be an hour but arrived within 40 minutes. They also provided extra popdoms and relish.
Written 9 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Sajjada, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 28 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Malcolmsmyth32
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 solo
if you're looking for some quality Indian food you now know where to go. The food is so delicious and it is quick service. I read the sign that said it was under new management, making me want to try another Indian. The food is so amazing you can tell they take their time to perfect it. The chicken dansak naga is one of the top dishes on the new menu, I can't wait to try the other dishes. until next time. The staff were also friendly. Honestly one of the best takeaways in Swindon.
Written 4 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Malcolm, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 28 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vince Bartley
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 family
Great service as soon as I walked through the door. I ordered via the phone and asked to pick up for 730pm. Had a great chat with the guy on the desk who was very informative and have me some ideas on my next visit. Once home the food was piping hot. Very tasty probably should have gone for a slightly less spicy curry . Very big portions so will be having the same tomorrow evening.
Written 29 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 28 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rochelle S
Dubai1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 couples
Tried this restaurant for the first time today on Uber Eats. Chicken Tikka Tandoori cost £10.90 and no taste at all. It was dry and had no spice. The Tandoori Butter again cost £10.90. The description says cooked with ghee, fresh cream but what I got was a coconut gravy with grated coconut and no cream at all. Had to throw it away. Disappointed and will not be ordering again.
Written 6 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi, First of all I'd like to thank you for your feedback, we try our very best to serve great food for the public, especially those in Swindon. Your feedback will also help us very much to improve our food and service. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the butter chicken as it says in the description it is mildly spiced and cooked with fresh cream and ghee. Also the Chicken Tikka Tandoori is a dry dish and not a curry dish and wouldn't have been prepared spicy unless you asked for it. As you have ordered a sweet dish and a dry dish which you wasnt expecting, as it wasn't to your liking you could have contacted us to say you have ordered a wrong dish and that it wasn't to your liking. We could have solved the issue promptly. We will also look into this and try our best to improve. Many Thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 28 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hannahhewson
12 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 family
I have no idea how they have gotten any positive reviews on here or just eat, me and my family ordered a takeaway on Sunday from this place as we read the reviews and were very excited to have some good quality food, well we were shocked and appalled at what we received! You can see the photos yourself of the food if you wish to see what it looked liked but the curries we ordered were completely tasteless, the prawns in the ceylon curry were tough and the curry itself had a gritty, unpleasant texture to it. It also lacked flavour. The lamb in the lamb bhuna was so tough that we couldn't eat it! The naans were cold, soggy and burnt in parts! I don't mind a slightly charred naan but soggy and cold, really? The starter items we ordered were soggy, tasteless.. I hope you can see the grease from the photos but they were slick with grease! The batter on the chicken Tikka pieces was so soggy it didn't even cling to the chicken and so we didn't eat it. Again, see the photo of this soft, soggy batter. The onion bajis were soggy with grease! Disgusting. The only ok item we had was the Bombay aloo, that was fine. The rest went in the bin and I am so mad I spent nearly £50 on that load of crap! I've had far nicer curries from other places in swindon, DO NOT waste your money! The worst thing about this whole situation is the abysmal response from just eat when I asked for a refund as we didn't even eat the food since it was so tasteless and vile! We were told we couldn't have any refund as our complaints were down to our taste! Ha, I have had many, many Indian takeaways and have never made a review like this! I am so angry about this situation! Awful food and experience, I've wasted my hard earned money on this rubbish. I would advise you to eat somewhere else!
Written 12 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Hannah, First of all I'd like to thank you for your feedback, we try our very best to serve great food for the public, especially those in Swindon. Your feedback will also help us very much to improve our food and service. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal, if you was to contact us ditect we could have dealt with your complaint straight away. We will also look into this and try our best to improve. Many Thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 17 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mofozul A
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 solo
Best Indian takeaway in town!! I tried basically all Indian takeaway in Swindon and none of them are up to the standard of Gandhi! Quality food prompt delivery. I had a Madras, bindy Baji and normal rice.
Written 29 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 3 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tom B
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 solo
I ordered a big takeaway a couple of days ago and it was one of the best meals I’ve had in a long time. I ordered a bunch of food but the stand out was the roushney and also the spicy chips. The order was ready within 20 mins which was quick as I ordered a lot for my family. Amazing staff to keep you company aswell. Top stuff, will be back soon
Written 4 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Tom, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 7 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kyle S
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 solo
Come here quote regularly now, exceptional food. I know what I'm going to get every time now, I'm that confident with the food that they provide. The Madras is my go too I'd say. Not to mention they provide a quality delivery service. Always on time. My recent visit I actually got to know the owners son, had a good chat with him. Really down to earth and humble guy. Good people, good food. 👍
Written 3 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Kyle, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 28 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hans A
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 friends
Super food and friendly staf. He remember me from the time we pick up food in december. He say straight away. You are from the netherlands. He remember it. I enjoy the food they have. Good quality
Written 20 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dilshad A
Burgess Hill3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 solo
Taste the same as before. Fantastic food and service. I always come here when I'm in Swindon. Onion bajee cooked to perfection. Madras is wonderful, so is the jalfrezy. Food here top notch
Written 14 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 17 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jaimie E
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 solo
The korma here is fantastic 10/10, these guys are the best. Friendly people and fantastic food. I like the rice they do here too. They cook it in a unique way.
Written 11 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Jamie, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 17 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

InSGriz
Highworth4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 couples
The food here is amazing, everything I’ve had off the menu has been so tasty - the service is so quick - it’s my go to every time now!
Written 2 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 3 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shuheb A
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 solo
Top quality food, had a vegetable jalfrezi and normal rice. Best food and hospitality in any Indian takeaway in Swindon. Very reasonable priced as well.
Written 30 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Shuheb, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 28 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Martin G
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 solo
I have the dansak a lot from here, very nice dish. I have the spinach bhaji and nan bread. Outstanding food and service
Written 8 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Martin, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 28 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ali A
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 solo
Best Indian takeaway in Swindon. Outstanding food and very quick delivery. I recommend Garlic sashlik very nice curry. Birani dishes is one of the best in Swindon.
Written 27 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Original Gandhi
Hi Ali, Thank you for your order and review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, The Original Gandhi
Written 28 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 34
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ORIGINAL GANDHI, Swindon - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

All Swindon HotelsSwindon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Swindon
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire