We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sir Daniel Arms

) #272 of 366 Restaurants in Swindon £ , British,
1-2 Fleet Street, Swindon SN1 1RQ, England
+44 1793 509270
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good43%
  • Average23%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“bean chilli” (2 reviews)
“steak” (6 reviews)
“lloyds bar” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1-2 Fleet Street, Swindon SN1 1RQ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for somewhere jolly to go for a Christmas drink or food avoid this place at all cost!!!!! The staff are exceptionally rude and arrogant. They acted like the place was packed when it wasn't as it was only 10am! There is...More

Thank Leo42999
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Hi there Id like to take this opportunity to apologise for the service you have received at our venue. I would like to investigate this further. If you could get in touch with me and let me know your details and the date of your...More

Reviewed 19 December 2016

First attempt of meak was cold had ro return it second meal had added unnwated extra is in to baked beans. Was given a full refund however emailed head office as worried about the situation which got no reoly so emailed environmental health atill waiting...More

Thank PJWWPM
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stopped off at Sir Daniel for a beer. A bit disappointed as there were only two ales worth trying. Todd was very nice but the Scarlet Macaw was a bit off.

Thank ijmark
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Hi there We change our beers frequently and are always open to suggestions from our customers. Let us know if there are any that you would recommend for us! Hope to see you again soon to sample some of our Christmas ales. Jess

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Came to the SDA with my whole team of about 30 people, the kitchen seemed to cope well with the size of the group, no excessively long waits... The quality and amount of food you get for the price... you can't complain!

Thank Raymond V
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Hi Raymond Thank you so much for the awesome review! Our kitchen will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast! Hopefully you and your team will come and see us again soon Jess

Reviewed 10 September 2016

Too many drunks in there, foul language, would not recommend family members to go in there. If they were removed, I may go back again.More

Thank Gary L
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi Gary We are sorry to hear about your recent visit. We pride our selves on a very strict 'Don't do drunk' policy. Therefore I am shocked to hear about you experience. I have passed this on to the rest of the management team, and...More

Reviewed 1 September 2016

Dropped in on a pub crawl to try the beers. This is the 'night club' Wetherspoons format and does not have quite so many beers as the Savoy. Around 6 down and six up we tried the unusual ones. Very nice.More

Thank ijmark
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi there! Thank you for this lovely review! We are always keen to bring in new beers and of course make sure that we have the old favourites available at all times! I just thought I'd let you know that we have an ale festival...More

Reviewed 31 August 2016

I met family here for lunch and it was fairly busy. When we arrived the only free table had half eaten food on it. My sister had stacked the plates and glasses to be taken away but it was a good 30 minutes before they...More

Thank Trin1959
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi There I am very sorry to hear about your visit. We expect the best standards at all times within our pub. I have passed this information along to the rest of the management team and rest assured that we are looking at ways to...More

Reviewed 31 August 2016

I visited Swindon for a weekend so I ate in here initially. It was good food and nice on that summer's afternoon as it had a sunny terrace. I went back next evening and it unexpectedly turned into a busy club later on which was...More

Thank BenidormVet1
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi There Thank you so much for this brilliant review! We love to hear that our customers have enjoyed their experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Jess

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Food not great, staff do not smile too much...a bit old place, not very clean. Prices were OK, not expensive place - they have happy hours or offers...More

Thank DeuxDenis
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi Denis I am surprised to hear some of the comments in your review. Our staff are normally very happy and full of life. I apologise for the service that you received on your visit and this has now been brought to the attention of...More

Reviewed 4 August 2016

In my experience Weatherspoons pubs always offer good plain food with good beer and provide excellent value The Sir Daniel lives up to all these ideals. It's a modern building, but inside conveys the feel of being in a traditional English pub. The menu has...More

Thank Bob M
Sir Daniel A, General Manager at The Sir Daniel Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Bob Thank you very much for these wonderful comments! We do pride ourselves on our ales being of high standard especially our much loved Abbot, Doombar and IPA. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Jess

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rios Brazil Churrascaria
336 reviews
.04 miles away
Da Vinci Restaurant
382 reviews
.04 miles away
Darkroom Espresso
45 reviews
.06 miles away
The Glue Pot
59 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
STEAM Museum of the Great Western Railway
1,114 reviews
.31 miles away
Swindon Designer Outlet
1,313 reviews
.42 miles away
Museum of Computing
107 reviews
.37 miles away
ATBShop Skate Warehouse
54 reviews
.40 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Sir Daniel Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 02:00
Friday
08:00 - 02:00
Saturday
08:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-2 Fleet Street, Swindon SN1 1RQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Swindon
  • Phone Number: +44 1793 509270
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing