We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

) #262 of 367 Restaurants in Swindon ££ - £££ , British,
High Street | Wanborough, Swindon SN4 0AE, England
+44 1793 790523
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (10 reviews)
“quiche” (3 reviews)
“pudding” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street | Wanborough, Swindon SN4 0AE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food ok, service ok, clean & tidy, but a bit dull. And at £40 for a few drinks, some lasagne and a pie & chips, I would have expected more. A smile and a welcome at least. Dull. Would go back, but would not be...More

Thank Andrew T
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the food and drink... and that the service was ok... I'm sorry you felt there wasn't enough personality in when you were here, we don't usually lack in that department...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here many times in the past , now new landlords so we thought we would give it a try . On entering it is a lot quieter now on a Wednesday evening, people staying away for what reason I'm not sure .Maybe...More

1  Thank Rover201457
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meals and we are certainly still trying to find a menu that works for our customers and the kitchen set up. I, too, would like to see quiche back...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bath Ales is on draught with a Gem Beer, very nice and refreshing before your meal. Make sure you try the bread & olives for starters, lovely warm bread and very nice olives, a great start. On the chip front make sure you have the...More

Thank russ999rocket
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Russ999rocket, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your Beer and meal with us... Gem is a popular guest ale and a local favourite! I'll pass on your comments to the chef and we hope to see...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We held a BBQ party for about 30 friends and family in the garden of The Plough Inn. Yes we were lucky with the weather which always helps to make any occasion, but more importantly Caroline (Manager and BBQ Chef) and Jess (running the Bar)...More

Thank Nigel_Hamilton
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Nigel, Thank you for leaving the review and thanks again for entrusting us to host your family party, it was a wonderful day and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind Regards, Caroline

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We have been regulars at the PLOUGH for many years, and always got a warm welcoming atmosphere, along with a good variety of food on offer whenever we went. And it was the place we always took family and friends too when they came to...More

3  Thank DNIXON
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hi DNixon, Thank you for taking time to write a review. Unfortunately you're very unspecific as to the actual problem here when you visited and I don't think you mention that you tried any of the food on offer so I'm afraid there isn't a...More

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

I have visited this pub on a few occasions for food and was surprised at the quality. I found out that under the new management they had introduced Sunday lunches, since trying it I come back on a regular basis and have even brought friends...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review, I'm glad to hear you're enjoying our Sunday Lunches! We are new and all the feedback is extremely valuable to getting it right! The lady with the funky hair is Ally, our Barmaid, I...More

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Visited last week with friends to try out the food with the new tenants who have taken over the pub a few weeks ago.....sadly we left very disappointed. The food on this occasion was pretty awful. The beef in the beef and ale pie was...More

3  Thank David B
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Hi David, Thank you for leaving a review. I'm said to hear this was your experience. I recall you coming along for your meal and when we checked on your meal after it was served and again when you paid the bill to leave you...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Been here a few times and the food was never amazing (apart from the pies ... they were quite good and all of us always had them! ). We met our Swindon friends here, as we always do and they told us the place had...More

2  Thank Adele A
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi Adele A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, you're correct we took over 8 weeks ago so certainly early days for us. I'm sorry you had a poor experience, unfortunately you don't say what day you visited or what food...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

We met some friends of ours here and have used a couple of places locally which are ok. My buddy and I are Guinness lovers so initially happy. Food is very average, the main courses fish and chips and a pie were about all the...More

2  Thank Adam s
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi Adam S, Thank you taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the Guinness and some of your food. Let me assure you we will take all your comments on board and work towards improving our menu. We only took...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Anniversay night out, company good but food poor. We asked for some minor changes to main meal i.e potato fries rather than sweet potato fries but this request was forgotten or not acceptable. Heaps of microwaved peas and bland chicken. Left most of the meal...More

2  Thank Mel U
Caroline_M2012, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Hi Mel U, I'm so sorry you had this experience, we do ask our waiting staff to check back after meals are taken out and I apologise if your issue wasn't rectified at that point. Our food is made fresh to order and we want...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
New Calley Arms
188 reviews
.49 miles away
Helen Browning's Royal Oak
314 reviews
2.06 miles away
The Plough on the Hill
280 reviews
2.23 miles away
The Burj
226 reviews
1.76 miles away
Nearby Attractions
PGL Liddington
61 reviews
1.51 miles away
Upavon Golf Club
8 reviews
2.98 miles away
The Fancott nr. Toddington
9 reviews
1.28 miles away
Coate Water Country Park
484 reviews
2.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Plough Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$39
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street | Wanborough, Swindon SN4 0AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Swindon
  • Phone Number: +44 1793 790523
  • E-mail
Description
Business description
Our traditional thatched pub was built around 1730 and is steeped in history at the heart of the local village community. We are a family run pub and everyone is welcome. Over the years we have built up a reputation for well kept real ales and excellent homemade food. We are famous for our hearty Plough Pies and our ever changing Specials board.

The Plough Inn has a wide ranging menu with a number of beautiful wines and spirits to enjoy for the non beer drinkers. The Plough Inn is relaxed and informal, so come along during our food times and grab a table or contact us to book!

Services:
Local Family Run Pub
Daily Specials
Real Ales
Pub Quiz
Outdoor Events
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing