We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolpack Shawbirch

Is this your business?
1 Acorn Way, Telford TF5 0LW, England
+44 1952 243562
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“surf and turf” (3 reviews)
“sundae” (4 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Acorn Way, Telford TF5 0LW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have eaten here many times in the past as it offers inexpensive meals and is conveniently located for us. There’s plenty of parking even on the busiest days. There’s a decent choice of drinks from the bar. The meals are pitched at the cheaper...More

Thank DodgetheViper
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the greatest experience with us at The Woolpack, I will be using your review as a training guide in order to iron out any issues raised in regards to food quality. Although as you stated...More

Reviewed 9 April 2018

We often pop in for a meal with family. Always receive a warm welcome. Food is great value and recently they had sold out of the 2 for £10 meal deal fish and chips, but we were upgraded to cod and chips (slightly more expensive...More

Thank Liza_JaneShropshire
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Went with my sister and children. Great food, good vegetarian options, friendly staff. Will be going again.

Thank dark_angel369
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi dark_angel369, thank you for leaving us a brilliant review and im glad we could provide a good selection of vegetarian options for your party. Look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind Regards Josh Kempton GM

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely pub with lovely food. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, toilets are clean and just a good atmosphere all in all. Will be visiting again

Thank Gemma O
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Gemma O, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Woolpack, Telford! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Went to watch the 6 nations with the family followed by tea. Had booked a table near the big screen. We were welcomed by Josh the manager. Service was excellent, Dan and Jack make a great team, both very helpful and friendly. Although it was...More

Thank Debbie L
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hello Debbie L, thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great evening out watching the rugby. I will pass your compliments onto the kitchen team and front of house team. Youll...More

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Called in while waiting for a mate ..and a taxi ..my mate was reluctant to even call in for one beer it was sat afternoon..it was rowdy..to many kids rinning riot ..prob is the families in there are regulars and managment is scared to upset...More

Thank Jhs S
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hello Jhs S, i am sorry to hear about your recent experience here at the Woolpack, i do apologise that we were busy on Easter saturday with plenty of families using their local pub. Rest assured our complaints ratio on food and drink is incredible...More

Reviewed 18 March 2018

Away for few days with husband, son and Daughter in law, we had our meals 3 times here and invited nephew, wife and son one of the evenings, Cannot fault the service , staff or food, we each had different dishes and of course tried...More

Thank sukiesmum
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

We are so happy to read such a great review about The Woolpack, I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team and if you are ever in the area again we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Josh...More

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Recommended to this place from the staff at the trace lodge down the road, had never been to this area before. Lovely pub with amazing food. The staff were very welcoming and chatty, always nice before a big job the next day. I was advised...More

Thank Sam L
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Sam L, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us, we are delighted to hear you we recommened by the local travel lodge and that it did not disappoint. If you ever in the area again wed love to see you. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 16 March 2018

We had our second visit to this pub on an invitation to my Wife's Sister & Brother in law's 50th Wedding celebrations and had pre booked our food a month or so in advance. They had prepared a long table for us with 10 adults...More

Thank johnlang4d
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Hello Johnlang4d,we are very happy to hear you made a return visit to The Woolpack and that the food did not dissappoint, i apologise about the small mistake with the chips/jacket mix up. I will be sure to pass your great comments onto my kitchen...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Food was disgusting service was vile had mixed grill chicken wasn't cooked and the fish and chips the fish was yellow and cold and sloppy the beans were freezing toilets men's and ladies were vile really don't recommend to anyone absolutely disgusted

Thank Will M
General Manager A, Manager at The Woolpack Shawbirch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Will M, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 hotels in Telford
Travelodge Telford Shawbirch
226 reviews
.26 miles away
Lord Nelson Hotel
220 reviews
1.06 miles away
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
102 reviews
1.25 miles away
Swan Hotel
52 reviews
1.86 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Pheasant Inn at Admaston
261 reviews
.53 miles away
Apley Restaurant
7 reviews
.83 miles away
Apley Arms
76 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sunnycroft
335 reviews
1.63 miles away
The Pheasant Pub and Brewhouse
45 reviews
1.24 miles away
Hoo Farm Animal Kingdom
2,096 reviews
2.66 miles away
The Wrekin
542 reviews
3.46 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Woolpack Shawbirch staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:30
Thursday
09:00 - 23:30
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Acorn Way, Telford TF5 0LW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Telford
  • Phone Number: +44 1952 243562
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;