We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 2/22
20:00

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£20 - £30
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (651)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
413
103
36
32
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
413
103
36
32
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry mutton poppadoms chicken sorbet bread indian restaurant vegan menu take away side dishes attentive service almara masterclass takeaway gatwick
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Where do you want me to start, the starter was just disgusting, the lamb dish was just bones and sauce no meat whatsoever, the desert looked like diarrhea. We had to wait forever for our drink that came with the meal, wait forever for the...dishes and for the table to be cleared, the restaurant wasn't even close to busy. we actually asked for the bill at the same time we asked if they were going to bother clearing the mains and bring desert as people had been waiting ages for the bill and we still had to ask twice, the fruit on the desert was still frozen so couldn't be eaten. Then charged £40 for 3 drinks. It absolutely was not worth the £160 spent and feel like it was a complete waste of money when I could of cooked better at home. Then to add insult to injury I put a comment on Facebook for it to be deleted. It was our first night out since our baby was born and felt like it was spoilt as the food and service were not up to standard. I don't think I would be dining with you again. Show quoted textMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 16 January 2024 via mobile

Official Review - Glasgow Curry Club Although we are based in Glasgow, you’ll see from our reviews that we’ve managed to eat elsewhere - including European and American destinations. This visit to Crawley was a combined business and family / friends event - which transpired...to become TWO NIGHTS at Zari! To be clear, we were told this place was good. Very good. That level of recommendation doesn’t come lightly and so we had to try this place. Here goes…. The location is somewhat deceiving - in a row of shops but with easy parking & easily accessible for those in wheelchairs. The shopfront is pleasant and inviting, and once you enter you’re greeted warmly by smiling and friendly staff. Once seated, drinks arrive quickly with some poppadoms and onions. The range of food here is fantastic, and the staff can explain every choice on the menu. Service was brisk and pleasant - great chat with the waiters and always keen to help. Now the food. Phenomenal chicken tikka starters and accompaniments. Great size of portion and cooked to perfection. A nice timescale to the main course, which arrived like a royal entrance with the next set of drinks. We all (two on one evening and 4 on the next) commented on the extent of spices, the range of choices and the sheer complexity of the taste. This is top quality food which is virtually unmatched - and we don’t say that lightly. The cost was very reasonable and we had coffee to finish. We rarely rate places so highly but this was sublime and the whole experience on both nights was simply phenomenal. Highly recommended - make the journey!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great afternoon at the Zari restaurant having a masterclass in cooking. It was another great Christmas gift from Cherry. She knew that the Zari is my favourite Indian restaurant. The owner and her staff have the class all worked out for the 6...pupils ( max 6). Following a talk about how the philosophy of the Zari we were shown how to use spices and then how to prep. We all had a station each which are numbered so at the end of the session what you cook to get to take it home along with a folder of recipes and the apron. Fully recommend this if you enjoy good Indian food.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

Having had my self catering property fall through, I was looking for somewhere to take the family for Christmas Day. As I love cooking Christmas lunch, it had to be special for me to really enjoy it, especially as we often eat at carveries. My...husband spotted the menu for Zari, who were offering a banquet style meal. We all like Indian food, although I do have an intolerance to some spices. I decided to throw caution to the wind as the Brussels and roast potatoes included helped make it a bit more Christmas's. We moved from the Crawley area 10 years ago, but prior to that frequented Zari and always had a good meal, so we had every confidence in having good Indian cuisine as opposed to a mediocre roast dinner elsewhere. They did not disappoint. In fact, they exceeded all expectations and was incredible value for money. I would have paid the £55 each (on a special occasion) on any day of the year, but to have a meal of such quality and quantity on Christmas Day was amazing. With an amuse bouche, poppadoms and pickles to whet the appetite, our mixed starters (individual plates) were chicken cooked 3 ways, each piece soft, juicy and tasty, a kebab and the most incredible king prawn. Neither of my sons like prawns, so I swapped my kebab with one of them. The other decided to try his. Afterwards, he said, not only could he not believe he'd eaten a whole prawn, but that he'd really enjoyed it. The main courses were placed I'm the middle to help ourselves and we're regularly asked if we'd like any topping up. We each had a beautiful, large leg of chicken in a mild, thick sauce. There were huge chunks of tender beef in another sauce, the chilli Brussels and spiced roast potatoes, naan, peshwari naan and chapati, rice, tender, lightly battered white fish and the most beautiful makhani daal, so good, even though we were full, we managed to get through a second bowl of it. We finished with pears poached in a delicately spiced red wine and ice cream. We washed it all down with Cobra and a rather smooth Chilean Merlot Reserva, the latter only £24 fir the bottle. Again, superb value. The atmosphere was great, the staff friendly and helpful. I don't have enough superlatives for this Christmas lunch, but I'm glad we went for Zari as it is a meal that we will always remember. My only gripe? That we live too far away to come for New Year's Eve!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023

This was a takeaway delivery. We have had this before and it was much better. This time Tandoori King Prawn at £15.95 we feel was too expensive for just 4 prawns! Same with Tandoori King Prawn Masala. The Lamb Rogan Josh did not have the...same depth of flavour as usual. In general disappointing considering our previous much better experience.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Almara Miah, Owner at Zari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2023

Dear JE Chase Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent takeaway order. We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage, and we regret to hear that your experience this time did not meet your expectations. We understand your concerns about the...More

Reviewed 21 November 2023

I recently ordered a takeaway delivery service from this restaurant. The food took, unbelievably, well over 2 1/2 hours to arrive. I telephoned after having waited 90 mins, could not speak to a member of staff, so left an answerphone message requesting an update. I...eventually got through to someone, without any indication as to when I could expect delivery. In mitigation it was claimed delays had been caused by an excess of orders, and traffic related problems. Surely if this had been the case when orders placed, it would have been sensible to let customers know and allow them the option of cancelling. In compensation I received a complimentary popadom!! The food had obviously not been coordinated, as one dish was acceptably hot, the other cold. I have raise two email complaints, only for these both to be ignored. Clearly the restaurant considers appalling service and a lack of communication to be permissible, and justified in charging full price. I would strongly advise not to order a takeaway service from Zari Crawley.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Almara Miah, Owner at Zari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2023

Dear Peter Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns, both on this platform and elsewhere. We appreciate the detailed feedback and would like to address the issues you've raised. First and foremost, we sincerely apologise for the extended delivery time of one...More

Reviewed 17 October 2023

This is the best Indian restaurant I've ever been to! The surroundings are beautiful (screens and artworks from India), the food is delicious, and the service is efficient, polite and friendly.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2023

I have been to many curry restaurants in my time and this rates really average looks great when you walk in I had a king prawn dish the prawns was small and mushy my granddaughter had chicken tikka masala and it was rank spicy and...flavour less be aware do not no where they are getting there reviews from but in my experience not accurateMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Almara Miah, Owner at Zari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Dear Peter Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to our restaurant. We genuinely appreciate your input, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and enhance the overall dining experience for our customers. Firstly, we're delighted to...More

Reviewed 22 September 2023

Food was poor quality, the restaurant try’s to make the food fine dining without the quality or taste, ordered starters - crab and prawns, 2x small prawns for £8 and dry frozen crab with no flavour. Mains were very plain, the lamb was dry and...mushy as if it had been mushed up and very over cooked and wasn’t pleasant. Chicken korma was dry and no sauce. The waiter then argued about paying service charge and would not let us leave until I paid a discretionary service charge and said it was compulsory. Very rude and unnecessary also very strange clientele in the restaurant being waited on? Seemed as if clientele were going repeatedly to the toilet to do drugs which the staff allowed. Will not return unfortunately and a local who would have enjoyed the restaurant.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Almara Miah, Owner at Zari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Dear Jessica Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, even though it is negative. We take all feedback seriously, and we are committed to providing our customers with a positive dining experience. We are very disappointed to hear that you were not...More

Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

We got a take away for 5 people for my son’s birthday, his choice was Zaris. We paid over £70 for a main dish each and a selection of rices and sides. I had the Koria and it was dry with the lamb being over...cooked and very mushy. For the money we paid we were very dissatisfied. I’m sure eating in would be better but if you’re going to Steve take away at the same price at least make it the same quality !More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Almara Miah, Owner at Zari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Dear Neil Thank you for your feedback on your recent Zari takeaway order. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your meal. We take customer satisfaction very seriously, and we will investigate this matter further. We understand that you were disappointed with...More

Reviewed 9 July 2023

It was a great dinner experience in an Indian restaurant. The service and food were truly amazing. I would love to come again to enjoy this different taste.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2023

Came here for dinner after being recommended the place by several others, and from the moment we walked in to the restaurant the staff were at our service. Very attentive, pleasant and friendly, without ever being intrusive. The food we had was very tasty, and...nicely presented. Would definitely return. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2023

I thought that the food was exceptional as was the service I experienced at the Restaurant. Each encounter my dining guest and I had with the staff from the moment we walked in... and throughout the meal until we left was not only to a...high standard of service but also carried out with an attitude that complimented the meal which made the evening a memorable one.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2023

We came here after checking in for an overnight stop-over for an early flight the next morning. It's only ten minutes from Gatwick Airport. My wife had read a few reviews that included the phrase "family run" which always draws us in. Don't let the...location at the end of a strip of small shops put you off. Service was attentive, charming and knowledgeable throughout. The dips and sauces that came with the poppadoms were all home made and it was the best mango chutney that has ever passed my lips. Even the poppaoms were exceptional! I had the Chicken 65 starter, my wife had the Spiced Crab and we shared meat samosas. If anything the spiced crab was a slight disappointment but the samosas and the Chicken 65 were sensational, both boasting really subtle yet piquant spices. For the mains we had tender, richly flavoured Sussex Hill lamb chops, Chicken Chettinad, with mushroom rice and the lightest plain naan bread I've ever eaten. My wife was enjoying her meal so much I had to fight to get even a morsel to taste! We shared home made pistachio ice cream for dessert and that too was wonderful. I've eaten at highly regarded Indian restaurants in Central London and I was born and raised in East London so Brick Lane and it's array of Indian/ Pakistani restaurants was a regular haunt of mine. I have also eaten in some highly regarded restaurants that I visited in Goa. However, I can honestly say that the meal I had here at Zari was the best Indian meal I have ever eaten in the UK.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2023

I was on a business trip and took my wife with me to this restaurant. Found this as I was looking for a good restaurant with good reviews. We could not believe the service and the food quality. they were very expensive but not worth...a penny. The food potions were very small too. Just taste like tomato sauce with added salt and chili powder. Go and try if don't believe.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Da Vinci Manor Guest House
220 reviews
.63 miles away
Trivelles Gatwick Hotel & Airport Parking
130 reviews
.74 miles away
Premier Inn Gatwick Crawley Town West hotel
1,347 reviews
.78 miles away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
1,450 reviews
1.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Dosa Club
133 reviews
.78 miles away
The Plough Inn
129 reviews
.24 miles away
Royal Oak
111 reviews
.30 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ifield Mill Pond and Bewbush Water Gardens
38 reviews
1.10 miles away
Crawley Museum
18 reviews
1.12 miles away
Cherry Lane Adventure Playground
18 reviews
1.07 miles away
Britannia Cars
12 reviews
.82 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JLBurnell
10 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Almara M | Property representative |
Yes you can park on the lay-by or in any of the surrounding streets
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ZARI RESTAURANT, Crawley - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices, & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Zari Restaurant

Yes, Zari Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, Zari Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Zari Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4