The Railway at Bromley Cross

The Railway at Bromley Cross

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1204 324601+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 20:00
Mon
12:00 - 20:00
Tue
12:00 - 20:00
Wed
12:00 - 20:00
Thu
12:00 - 20:00
Fri
12:00 - 20:00
Sat
12:00 - 20:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£10.00 – £35.00
CUISINES
Bar, British, Grill, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Is this restaurant good for dinner?
About
The Railway is a great British pub at the heart of the Bolton community. With our warm welcome and family friendly atmosphere we offer the perfect place for catching up with friends, family celebrations or just a quiet coffee. Our menu is bursting with traditional pub classics, delicious desserts and award winning kids dishes. Behind the bar, an explorative selection of beer, cider, wine and cocktails as well as a great choice of low or no alcohol options. Don’t forget our fantastic beer garden offers a dog friendly retreat come rain or shine, your dogs are always welcome inside and our Wifi is always free!
PRICE RANGE
£10.00 – £35.00
CUISINES
Bar, British, Grill, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles210 reviews
Excellent
121
Very good
29
Average
18
Poor
18
Terrible
24
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Stephanie C
Manchester6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
Visited here for the first time last night after a friend recommended the place. Decor was nice, choice on the menu was very good and food portions were huge. Food itself was just ok. We had salt and pepper chicken wings, which I really wouldn't recommend, as they didn't taste of salt and pepper at all but I would recommend the pizza as it was one of the nicest I've had. Wasn't too impressed with the staff as about 3/4 of the way through our main meal my daughter needed the toilet. Only me and her were dining and she's 5, so I needed to accompany her. I let the waitress know I was taking her so they'd know we hadn't left the table and 2 minutes later when we returned, our food had disappeared. One of the waitresses serving us also looked like we'd personally offended her any time she came to the table. I didn't mention my complaints as we were there on the 'eat out to help out' night so you don't mind as much when it's cheaper. However had I been paying full price, I really wouldn't have been very happy. All in all, it was just ok. I had higher hopes and would have returned with my husband and son in future but I wasn't bowled over.
Written 26 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sarah D
Manchester2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
I told the manager I would give a positive review just for their pub being super #dogfriendly I wasn’t arsed about the food tbh because we struggle to find a pub/restaurant that is very dog friendly. We had booked in advance because we were going for a walk round entwistle reservoir and I knew I would be hangry by the end of it 🤣 I ordered the mushrooms to start (they were ok) but omg the king prawn linguine. Please never take this off the menu. My husband had the £20 three course Sunday lunch. Defo selling themselves short for £20 because his dessert (had permission to deviate from the set menu) was like a 3 course meal. It was ice cream with a big fat cake in it with rum and Baileys ice cream. They seated us next to a fire. That was me done ✅
Written 12 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
therailwaybx
Hello Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We absolutely love our four legged friends here at The Railway! The next time you visit you should definitely try our Oriental Salmon Ramen! See you again soon,
Written 20 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

G2theK
Bolton4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
Out for lunch and I have to say waiter (Finley) service was really good and attentive nothing too much trouble. Food was a little pricey however the food was good. I had the steak pie, chunky chips and mush peas. My partner had the open chicken gyro and fries; could have done with a plate for fries rather than a bucket as difficult to manage, not enough room on plate. An excellent experience overall.
Written 16 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andrea G
16 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
I went late afternoon with my 2 friends it was a Saturday, ordered drinks fine, the food good, however getting to 5.30pm we wanted more drinks obviously getting busier now and was told they needed the table back by 6pm that’s fine!!! So ordered drinks after chasing our waitress around as it was becoming hectic!! (We’ve had issues with this young lady in the past with her attitude). Our vodka n cokes arrived in big fat tumblers I thought they were taking the ##?? these were glasses u would give your kids. I went back to talk to the Manager who was running around like an headless chicken with attitude behind the bar and told her we wanted proper tumblers for our drinks, her face was like thunder I also told her that they needed more staff on at this time of day (1 guy serving 10 people + and her) she said I will take it on board what you’ve got to say!!! Mmmmmm what a joke!! I’ve got to say we keep giving it another go as we are local, hence not a another good experience especially with the attitudes from female staff to which we’ve experienced many times before!! Would I recommend yes for a drink or 2 no for the service and staff!!
Written 25 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

pauline610
Euxton7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 none
We had the worst Christmas lunch ever in this pub and paid £65 per head for the privilege. 1 roastie, 1 carrot, 1 slice of parsnip, not a lot of turkey, all topped by enormous Yorkshire pudding, then they had the cheek to charge £22 surcharge. Was the Yorkshire pudding to hide the fact that there wasn't much else? Surely the surcharge should have been included in the £65. When we first went in we were offered a bench with seating so high, I could not even get on it. The pub was noisy and overcrowded. Not a good atmosphere for a special meal We were absolutely disgusted
Written 28 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
therailwaybx
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Firstly i'd like to address the surcharge that was added to your bill this was actually an optional 10% service charge that went directly to the server that looked after you during the visit this would of been removed if you had asked us to. Yes the pub was busy as we were fully booked unfortunately busy pubs are generally noisy places. With regards to the table you were seated at, we allocated tables that best suited the amount of guests per party they were all pre allocated weeks in advance on a first come first serve basis. On our Christmas lunch menu every main dish had 2-3 pieces of each of the vegetable sides as standard we didn't want to over face people when they are eating a 3 course meal I apologise this didn't meet your expectations but we would of happily of given you some extra vegetables on the side had you asked your server. We hope you do return to The Railway BX again. Kind Regards The General Manager.
Written 3 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dale Whittle
Radcliffe8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 none
We booked a table for 2 at 14.30 and were seated immediately which was a good start but that’s where it ended. Given you can only go to pubs outdoors and they had approximately 20 tables service was poor and the maitre’ed was rude. Food and drinks took a while but not too long, the sun was shining on some of the tables so we asked to move to an empty table in the sun as did the table next to us but were both told no as they were booked? I booked my table as did the couple next to us and neither of us were given table numbers so I find it impossible to believe these specific tables were booked. We then requested our bill and had been over charged £9 for something we didn’t have. Upon paying the correct bill we moved to an empty table in the sun to finish our drinks. There were 6 other free tables next to ours in a row but the maitre’ed then insisted he needed our table despite the empty one’s. We used to go here a lot but won’t be going back.
Written 19 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Debbie.T
73 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 couples
We visited here last night June 4th with our friends after telling them we had a fantastic night here August 2020. We did indeed , as you will see from our previous review had a lovely night and commented on the good service and the great food! It was a very different night last night to say the least we were extremely disappointed. 1. I did on my booking which I made a good two weeks before the 4th June requested that we have a table in the main restaurant area to the right when entering, instead we were sat in one of the booths on a run near the loos! I find this area dark and not very inviting. 2. We ordered the chicken wings to start which were ok. We had a pizza which on the menu was described as volcano hot and spicy! It was neither of these and when it arrived it was luke warm and soggy ! Our friends opted for a burger and the homemade cheese pie which didn’t taste homemade and was very plastic with frozen chips! On the positive side my husband loves the blue moon and the wine was very chilled. Overall very disappointed, we certainly won’t be returning to eat will call for a drink and feel we won’t be recommending it to anyone we know.
Written 5 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Manc_Clare
Bury194 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 family
A complete disaster and ruined our Christmas Day meal! We prebooked and paid in advance back in october, when we arrived they attempted to seat us on high barstools, totally inappropriate considering we have a 3 year old child. They moved us to another table, we were then hopeful that we could relax and enjoy our christmas lunch. We waited 1 hour for the starters to be served, which was cold soup and then another hour for a main...which never arrived. We chased up the staff several times who advised a chef had left a couple of days prior. I understand this put the kitchen in a difficult position, however, we could have been advised when we arrived that we were looking at 2 hours before our meal would be served. We had pre ordered the food on 10th December so even with a staff member down, they had 15 days advance notice of knowing exactly what meals needed to be out at what sitting and for how many people. How they could get things so wrong i have no idea. My children were crying because they were so hungry, we had been there 2 hours and and were still waiting for our Christmas Lunch. We were not the only ones affected, other tables were sending cold plates back, many complaining - just a total lack of organisation, decision making, critical thinking or leadership from the Manager. Instead of wandering around with a clip board she should have rolled her sleeves up and got in the kitchen herself to help the service. We decided we were not prepared to wait any longer after 2 hours and 15 minutes with tearful and starving children so we asked for a full refund and left. To add insult to an utterley awful experience, the manager short changed our refund by £20, meaning my partner had to take another 30 min round trip back to get the remainder of the money. We had bo christmas lunch, i had no food in at home and our day was really spoilt. This should have been a special occasion but instead it completley ruined our day.
Written 26 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

worthygirl
15 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
I went for a meal last night with 5 friends, from start to finish the whole experience was very disappointing. Lack of drink choices, couldn't care less attitude of the bar staff, poor waitress service........left alone for ages in-between sitting at the table - getting menus - taking the order etc, and a personal bug bear of mine leaving the finished 'trays' on the table for a long time after we'd finished as the staff all chatted at the bar sipping drinks. Also asking for items, such as water for the table and it not appearing, going to ask another member of staff and it still not appearing. The food was all very 'beige' and not very thrilling but all had a good price tag next to it. One of the party had a £20 burger, he was very unimpressed. This is a shame as as a group we have eaten here many times, but we will be finding a new venue.
Written 22 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

belen12344
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 friends
I'm rating this place with one star because I cant rate with 0 stars. First of all, we booked for a table and when we arrived they made us wait 20 mins because they clearly didn't book it. We went for a dinner and some drinks but I regret now. Can't tell about the other ones food but my burger was literally uneatable. The first time they brought it, I had to give it back because not only the patties were all burnt and overdone, but the brioches bun also. After wait another 15 mins, they brought my food, the patties were again overdone and it was so difficult to chew it. Gave my boyfriend a bit because he thought I was over reacting, and after a bite he was about to puke. Ate literally half of the fries only and had to left all the burger (again) because otherwise I'd hurt my throat. Very disappointed.
Written 17 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Paula W
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 none
The Railway has been a popular local venue to us for a good couple of years but we had not been for a while due to the pandemic - we decided to visit last night as a 'treat' as we saw Pizza O'Clock was back! This event runs during the week and you pay for the pizza equivalent to the time you order your pizza. In the 'old days' this used to run 3 until 7ish I think - it has now changed to 5.30 for 'last orders'. We booked a table for 5.15 and were seated on time. the server took a drinks order for £24 and came back at 5.26pm for our pizza order - we were then told 'they had run out of pizza' and would we like anything else? With a plate of chips at £6 we declined. I have to admit we were really disappointed and left £24 down for drinks that we need not have purchased tbh. We were also sat at a table that backed onto the toilets and each time somebody visited the toilet we got a whiff of the WCs not nice. I have a feeling that the venue is suffering from being closed for so long and maybe has somewhat lost it's way.
Written 16 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

simon k
Bolton4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 family
For starters we had prawns with rosemary sauce! In a jar 🙁 seriously! The rosemary sauce at the bottom in lettuce water, then lots of discoloured lettuce with tiny prawns 🦐 on top, NO LEMON 🍋 two slices of cheap brown bread and frozen butter. We were polite and ate this at £7.50 each Next sirloin roast, oh my god this was inedible, it was like eating caardboard. On our table we ordered the gammon which had no taste 👅 vile. The gravy was watered down with no taste, garlic roast potatoes that would beak teeth, they even can’t cook vegetables? Which were hard! As this was Mother’s Day I feel really bad that I subjected the lady in question to this, the meal inc 3 drinks cost £65 and now I have offered to take us all for a proper nice meal for the same price at Alberts shed. Full respect to the waitresses who are all lovely and the venue has a great appeal, but guys your food is terrible and prices ridiculous. Stop serving food if this is your capability as you will go out of business fast.
Written 27 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Helen L L
Darwen70 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 friends
Met friends here for lunch and it was lovely. I haven't been in since it has been refurbished and was really impressed. Had the lamb kofta gyros which were delicious! My 5 year old daughter loved her lunch that was served in a little metal suitcase and even better that she ate for free! Great value! Would definitely recommend and will be returning soon!
Written 30 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

bengodridge
Bolton7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 couples
Terrible from start to finish, the food was rather bland or missing ingredients. We ordered some nachos that arrived without salsa, guacamole or jalapeno's. We wasnt advised of this until the food come out. The chicken fries just tasted like something you would pick up from farm farmfoods and the cheese was none existstant. The waitresses didnt look like they wanted to be there and were delivering drinks to the wrong table. This is such a shame because I enjoyed it last time I was here.
Written 19 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Crawford D
12 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 family
The food was good, especially the large (hand cut?) chips, but beware the children's menu. At its bottom it says "deserts - various", which we implied that deserts were included as part of the children's menu. When asked what were the choices we were told ice cream, so we asked for two ice creams. When the bill came we were charged £12 for two ice creams, which seems not only excessive but outrageous. Be warned.
Written 10 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 210
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Royal Balti House
££ - £££ · Indian
Henighans Bar & Grill
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Grill, Pub
Earthlings
££ - £££ · Cafe, British, Healthy
Baker's
££ - £££ · British
Bella Italia
££ - £££ · Italian
Tapaz Restaurant & Bar
££ - £££ · Mediterranean
TGI Fridays - Bolton
££ - £££ · American
Sokrates Taverna - Horwich
££ - £££ · Greek
Spice Valley egerton
££ - £££ · Indian
Waggon & Horses
££ - £££ · Grill
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE RAILWAY AT BROMLEY CROSS, Bolton - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Bolton HotelsBolton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bolton
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire